Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars S-f but still Prattchet
This book throws up a lot of funny and intresting ideas. I especially liked the First Syrian Bank, a Planet/Computer/ Sentient Being, who is the main character's Godfather. As in most Prattchet books there are wordplays and unexplored directions, but here we see Prattchet in a different light. This is definitley a s-f book, so some of his Fantasy readers won't want to...
Published on Dec 3 2000 by Bevan R

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Primordeal Pratchett
One of Pterry's earliest books, The Dark Side of the Sun is a forerunner of his Discworld series, and is unrealated.
Not quite as good as the Discworld books, reading this book shows the evolution of his writing style as it progressed towards the best-selling greatness of today.
Published on Jan. 22 2004 by Captain Video


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, May 4 2011
This review is from: Dark Side of the Sun (Paperback)
Being a major Terry Pratchett fan, I was excited to find a book by him that I had never heard of in my public library. I wondered what sort of story it might be. Discworld? An imaginary group of people living in our world like the Bromeliad trilogy or the Carpet People? More like Johnny and the Bomb?

Well, it turns out it's nothing like any of those. This is Pratchett as an early writer, who's trying out serious science fiction. When I didn't care after 4 pages, and I hadn't laughed (or started to care) by chapter 3, I realized that no, it wasn't going to get any better. But I didn't give up hope, I slogged on to chapter 6, where I have stopped and don't intend to read further.

If you would like to do a study on his writing style and how it has changed over the years, go ahead and read this book. It's interesting to see ideas from future books coming through in this one. But don't do it just for fun, because fun is not what you'll get. If you like that sort of thing, I'd instead recommend you read the first 2 or 3 books of the Discworld series to see how much richer and more detailed it became as he wrote more and more about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars boring standard seventies SF, June 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dark Side of the Sun (Paperback)
This was first published long before the Discworld books, and has very little in common with them. Not bad at all if you're looking for that style, but a terrible disappointment if you're into Discworld, Truckers, and other recent stuff by Pratchett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Primordeal Pratchett, Jan. 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Dark Side of the Sun (Paperback)
One of Pterry's earliest books, The Dark Side of the Sun is a forerunner of his Discworld series, and is unrealated.
Not quite as good as the Discworld books, reading this book shows the evolution of his writing style as it progressed towards the best-selling greatness of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pratchett in space, Nov. 25 2003
By 
Robert Holm (at home behind my keyboard) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Side of the Sun (Paperback)
What do you get when you combine Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Dune and the Foundation trilogy? The answer is an interesting book by Terry Pratchett, entitled The Dark Side of the Sun. It was written in 1976, long before the first Discworld novels. On occasion it is evident that this was an early effort by Pratchett - it's not as funny or thoughtful as any of his later works, and it's very brief and hurried in places. But there's a lot of interesting ideas and concepts, show-casing the inventive mind of Pratchett in his early days. There are a number of ideas here (mostly just names) that will later turn up in the Discworld novels (for example, Hogswatchnight, Small Gods, etc.).
The story is about Dom Salabos, a member of the wealthy Salabos family in charge of the world of Widdershins. Dom should have the perfect life, but there is one problem: he keeps getting assassinated all the time. The story revolves around the concept of probability math, with Dom setting off on a quest to find the mysterious Jokers World, accompanied by his robot Isaac and his alien mentor Hrsh-Hgn. One thing to note is that there is no heroine or "love interest" in this book, refreshingly enough. However, just before the ending, it's as if Pratchett has noticed this short-coming, and a "female lead" type of character is introduced. The ensuing scenes jars violently with the preceding story, both in style and content, and it's as if you suddenly find yourself reading an entirely different story. The ending itself is very abrupt and hurried, and not very satisfying.
This book does show that Pratchett could be one of the sci-fi greats if he wanted to. However, much more could have been made with the universe and the ideas Pratchett developed in Dark Side, and it's to be hoped that he will return to the realm of sci-fi some day. Recommended for fans of Pratchett (and of sci-fi in general).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., May 2 2002
By 
This review is from: Dark Side of the Sun (Paperback)
In a universe where probability math rules, Dom knows he's going to die on the day he becomes Chairman of the Board. However, he eventually manages to avoid numerous attempts on his life.
Accompanied by Isaac, a Class Five robot, and Hrsh-Hgn, a phnobe, he goes on a quest to find the legendary Jokers' World, supposedly situated on the dark side of the sun.
This early novel (1976, seven year before the first Discworld book) struck me as extremely messy. Indeed, I found the plethora of characters, races, robots and planets very confusing. Furthermore, since I'm not a Sci-Fi reader, the book failed to ring any bells and I guess I missed the puns and allusions. And even though Pratchett's famous style is already well recognisable, and premises of many later Discworldisms such as Hogswatchnight, Soul Cake Friday or Small Gods, are mentioned, they're not enough for me to recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty standard SF stuff, July 15 2001
By 
Lynn S. Hendricks "Wordmama" (Carson City, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Side of the Sun (Paperback)
A nice little sci fi outing, and quite enjoyable. If you aren't familiar with Terry Pratchett's Discworld books and you like sci-fi with a faint fantasy tinge (or fantasy with a sci-fi tinge), this will probably fit your needs quite nicely. It's got his endless invention and gift with words -- just don't expect the manic satire of his other work or you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars S-f but still Prattchet, Dec 3 2000
By 
Bevan R (Chi, Southern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Side of the Sun (Paperback)
This book throws up a lot of funny and intresting ideas. I especially liked the First Syrian Bank, a Planet/Computer/ Sentient Being, who is the main character's Godfather. As in most Prattchet books there are wordplays and unexplored directions, but here we see Prattchet in a different light. This is definitley a s-f book, so some of his Fantasy readers won't want to read it.But anyone who realy enjoys Prattchet's style should feel right at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the Pratchett standard, Feb. 22 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dark Side of the Sun (Paperback)
This work was firt published in 1976, and lacks the polish and sly wit that make Pratchett's later works so entertaining. After reading numerous Discworld books I was astonished at the effort required to wade through this early effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Side of the Sun
The Dark Side of the Sun by Terry Pratchett (Audio CD - March 1 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 117.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews