Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars love the guards
Terry Pratchet is always a good read, I love the guard series and happily recommend them to everyone to read.
Published 1 month ago by mercphoto

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so humor
When Pratchett is on, he's hilarious. Often though he goes pages without forcing as much as a chuckle, and this book is no exception. While I've heard him compared to Douglas Adams, I don't find him to measure up - still, I have yet to see anyone mix fantasy and humor as well (plus some mystery thrown in in this story). His understanding of theology seems limited,...
Published on Jan. 19 1999


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars love the guards, June 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Terry Pratchet is always a good read, I love the guard series and happily recommend them to everyone to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, Jan. 5 2014
By 
Donald N. Philip (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those unfamiliar with Terry Pratchett's canon of disc world novels, it is a place of wonder in which humans, dwarves, vampires, troops and now gollems, live in harmony. It is in fact a metaphor for modern England, especially London. Within this canon, Feet of Clay takes up the story of a downtrodden minority (gollems) and their rise to full citizenship in the fabled city of Anhk-Morpork. Pratchett's trenchant and witty literary style, his wry observations of the human condition, and marvellous flights of fancy all weave fascinating novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excretus Est Ex Altitudine, June 2 2007
This review is from: Feet Of Clay (Paperback)
"Feet of Clay" is the nineteenth novel in Terry Pratchett's hugely popular Discworld series, was first published in 1996 and is the third to focus on Sam Vimes and Ankh-Morpork's City Guard.

Sam is the now the Commander of the City Guard, and - having married Lady Ramkin - a member of the nobility. It's fair to say he's not your typical hero : he doesn't like the Undead (particularly vampires), Assassins (they keep trying to kill him) and - in keeping with an old family tradition - Kings (not an ideal musketeer then). Sam has quit drinking - though it's still something of a struggle - and smokes the occasional cigar to ease the blow.

Although numbers among the ranks are rising, Sam tends to rely on those he knows best. His most capable officer is Captain Carrot - who was born human, although raised as a dwarf. Carrot is an incredibly innocent and very honest character and is widely believed to be Ankh-Morpork's rightful King. (Sam has - to date - refrained from beheading him). Carrot's girlfriend, Angua, is also a member of the City Guard though - being a werewolf - she isn't quite so popular. Sergeant Detritus, a troll who deals roughly with troll drug-dealers, seems a natural - not to mention likeable - cop, though Sergeant Colon and Corporal Nobbs (a confirmed slacker and probably human) are the most experienced officers. The one newcomer is Cheery Littlebottom, an ex-alchimist dwarf who becomes quite useful in the City Guard's newly established forensics department. (Cheery left the Guild of Alchemists after, accidentally, blowing up the Guild Council. Alchemy is an unusual profession for a dwarf, though Cheery - as it turns out - isn't your usual dwarf).

"Feet of Clay" gives Sam a good, old-fashioned mystery to solve - a mystery that includes a couple of rather unusual murders. One of the victims is Father Tubelcek, who Sam considers to be one of the neatest corpses he's ever seen : eyes closed, arms neatly folded across his chest...and a slip of paper with some strange writing on it in his mouth. The other victim was Mr Hopkinson, curator at the Dwarf Bread Museum. Dwarf bread is much more useful on the battlefield than on the breakfast table, and Hopkinson had unfortunately been beaten to death with a loaf. There is a little white clay and a suspicion of Golems hanging around, but the murders are puzzling...however, it's difficult to focus on a puzzle, when you've also got to investigate the poisoning of the Patrician. (He's surviving, but only barely). The difficulties aren't confined to professional matters - there's even bad news for both Sam and Nobby at a personal level. Following a visit to the Royal College of Heralds, Sam learns he is ineligible for a Coat of Arms. (An ancestor, Old Stoneface, killed Ankh-Morpork's last king). To make matters even worse, news of his rejection is delivered by a vampire called Dragon King of Arms. Nobby, on the other hand, is devastated to learn he is Earl of Ankh.

Another very funny book from Pratchett, with a storyline 'underneath' it all that your standard murder-mystery writer would love to tell. Excellent stuff, highly recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding reader-actor on audio. Highly entertaining., Oct. 2 2003
By 
lost_gecko (Santa Fe, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feet of Clay (Audio CD)
Thoroughly enjoyable, laugh-out-loud funny. One of Pratchett's best novels. The CD audio version read by Nigel Planer is wonderful! Nigel Planer does an excellent job of giving zany voices to the zany characters. The reading is closer to acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Murder mystery, Discworld style, June 15 2003
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
The Watch is made of the weirdest bunch of cops you can imagine, including werewolves, dwarves, trolls, gargoyles -- and those are the ordinary ones. If you like mysteries in general, and murder mysteries in particular, then "Feet of Clay" is an offbeat story that you might just enjoy.
First a priest is murdered, and found with a slip of paper in his mouth. Then a curator. And Vimes has no idea how this is happening, or why anyone would kill a couple of harmless old men. To make things worse, he learns that the extremely un-royal Corporal Nobby Nobbs may be the rightful king of Ankh-Morpork (if that doesn't warp your view of reality, nothing will), and that the Patrician is being slowly poisoned -- but no one knows just how the poison is being administered.
The answer to the mysteries may lie in the golems: Not-living-but-not-dead creatures made out of clay, who don't speak and always follow orders. Theoretically they can't kill . But they come under suspicion when, inexplicably, they start destroying themselves as the evidence starts to point toward a golem murderer. However, Vimes soon learns that the conspiracy is far more extensive -- and sinister -- than the golems...
"Feet of Clay" is not merely a murder mystery (although it has one of the coolest ways of murdering a person that I've ever heard of). Pratchett also offers some commentary on society, on what makes a person a person. His handling of the golems is remarkably thought-provoking. And their connection to the attempted murder is also very hard to unravel -- you won't guess who or how or why.
This is, in some ways, more serious at times than his other books; one scene has Vimes exploding over the death of a little child and a cleaning lady. But don't think he's abandond his skewed brand of Discworld humor: the rebelling dwarf, the unsuccessful assassination at the beginning, Nobby's outrageous behavior and seven grandmothes, and especially a vampire with self-destructive tendencies (sunglasses tester, garlic stacker, pencil factory worker, holy water supplier). Not to mention the organizer with the little imp inside.
As always, Vimes is the hard-boiled scrap of sanity among the weirder characters. Angua is, unfortunately, much flatter than the weirder characters; Carrot is his usual likable self, while Nobby gets to act more bizarrely than usual as he is accepted into the upper crust as an aristocrat (a thieving, unsanitary one). Detritus is a likable clod, and we get a new character in Cheery Littlebottom, a dwarf female who wants to start looking like one. And Pratchett outdoes himself with Dorfl, a secretive golem who never speaks or changes expression.
While not Pratchett's best, "Feet of Clay" is a solid mystery/fantasy/commentary with plenty of humor and suspense. Definitely worth looking at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Watch returns, May 9 2002
First, I'll give a brief synopsis, then what I liked and disliked about the book.
Okay, the great mystery is who killed two old men, and where is this mysterious clay found at the scene of the crime coming from. Vimes and the watch struggle to solve this, and suddenly, Nobby Nobbses royalty is brought to attention, Cherry Littlebottom joins the watch, and the Angua Carrot relationship is heightened a few more steps. In the midst of all this, Lord Vetinari (a FANTASTIC character) is being poisoned. All these come together in one of the most satisfying climaxes I've witnessed in a Pratchett Book yet.
There, that's out of the way.
The Guard are among the best characters Pratchett has introduced, standing next only to... Death. And even though you don't get to see the Grim Reaper, you'll have to settle for the Grim Squeaker (the death of rats). Anyways, Pratchett, as always, delights the reader with the two most vivid main characters. I'd be speaking of Sir Samuel Vimes, and Nobby Nobbs. Vimes has so much of a Dirty Harry-esque feel to him, and he... ahem... prods buttock so thoroughly that you have to cheer him on. The cigar smoking, teetotaling commander is best portrayed in the opening pages in which a VERY foolish assassin tries to end Vimes's life. Bad move.
Onto Nobbs. Nobbs is such a fantastic character, Pratchett gives him great scenes, the best in my mind being the scene in which a few Puppetmasters are trying to get Nobby to assume his royal position. Through most of this, he is saying, "Vimes would go spare! I can't do that! He'd go spare!"
Okay, here is what I disliked about the book.
Angua is a very weak POV, personally. I understand the need for a strong anchoring character to counterbalance the nuttiness of Nobbs, Vimes, and Carrot, but Angua comes off as too whiny, and her chapters take away from the irreverance that Pratchett infuses his book with. I also felt that Vetinari should have been giving a larger role in the scheme of things, particularly around the mystery involving him. He and Vimes have an excellent scene together at the end, but that is all that really stands out.
My biggest problem, would have to be with the Dragon character. I don't want to spoil any of the plot twists revolving around him, but he is too much of a cut out, with no real idiosyncracies other than his "Ah-ha" in every sentence.
There, thats the review.
On the whole, Feet of Clay really does a great job of keeping you occupied. Its 4 stars is definitely warranted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story a better mystery, April 4 2002
By 
Jennifer Garcia (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love the discworld books. I also love a good mystery. Here I received both and Terry Pratchett dumps Vimes, Carrot and the rest of the watch into a good old fashion who dunit. The victims are a priest, a museum curator, an old woman, a small child, and the partition of the city (well almost). The watch is portrayed less like English bobbies and more like New York cops with a cynical attitude towards the clues and the higher up. There where times when if felt like Tarry was channeling the ghost of Dashal Hammet to write this book. Definitely a favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Part 3 of the City Watch series of Discworld, Jan. 7 2002
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
I just finished the third book in the City Watch series, Feet of Clay. It is another home run for Pratchett. The book is not quite as funny as the first two, but it says even more about the human condition. No human institution is left unscathed as he hits politics, religion, social class, and racism. All in one book, while still filling it full of parody, jokes, and slapstick comedy. What more could you ask for?
The plight of the golem in this book is very well-staged. Pratchett presents some very biting commentary on life in general and our attitudes toward different people, using the golems as a focal point. Are golems really alive? Do they constitute a race, and thus they can be discriminated against? Some of the arguments parallel the Star Trek: The Next Generation Episode "Measure of a Man," where Picard asks some of these same questions. Once you create a group of "beings," at what point do these beings become a race? Do they have a soul? Pratchett doesn't go that far, but he does present some very good points about all of this.
The character development of Carrot and Vimes continues as well. Carrott is now a captain in the Watch, and thus has authority (authority which he's always really had, due to his charisma). Vimes continues his determination to have the Watch be a respected institution as Carrot's devotion to duty continues to rub off on him. He has grown from a character wallowing in drink to forget about the Watch and his problems, to a well-rounded person who's determined to make the best of himself and watch out for his people.
The Watch has grown in size as well, with many more members. They now have a forensic alchemist (a female dwarf who has decided to start actually showing she's female), along with a gargoyle and a man who likes to distribute religious literature. Of course, there are also many more unnamed ones. Pratchett does a wonderful job of giving each of these characters three dimensions.
I didn't find this book quite as funny as the first two, but it still does have many great moments. The lessening of the humour is off-set by some great social commentary. Don't be fooled, though. This isn't a social treatise. It's a funny book that makes some good social points. And isn't that what good social commentary is all about? Read this book, but read the first two before this one. I think you'll get more enjoyment out of this one if you have the basis of the first two books. It's certainly not mandatory to understand what's going on, but it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Rocks, Dec 24 2001
By 
Ben Schapiro (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
THis is one of the funniest pieces of literature I have ever read. The charaters of Terry Prachett are pure genius and just a little unbelieveabal. Buy This book. It is very funny and Should Be Read By All. Any book of his set in Ankh-Morpork are wonderful and this is the best one. I don't want to give anything away but one of the best scenes involves a "loaded wolf" and another a hold up of a policemen's bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, entertaining and well, enjoyable..., Dec 22 2001
By 
S. Hameed "shire-reader" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I liked this book. When I first picked it up, I knew pretty much what I wanted. I was looking for a nice Vimes episode, something to fill up the boring hours in between an otherwise pretty dull life(in otherwords, holiday time). The first couple of pages didn`t seem so engrossing, but as the story progresses, it becomes more and more addictive. On top of that cunning old Pratchett seems to have a dislike of chapters, and when you see only four small and insignifigant asterisks seperating you from the next scene, it`s like a heroine addict sitting and staring at a loaded syringe(no I have had no such experience). The plot is intriguing, with a murderer walking (or stomping) free on the streets of Ankh Morpork, Vetinari on the verge of death(amazing, huh?) and Commander Samuel Vimes on the loose, trying to find the questions to answers which he knows are floating around soomewhere. For Terry Pratchett(especially Vimes)fans, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feet of Clay
Feet of Clay by Terry Pratchett (Audio CD - Sept. 1 2008)
CDN$ 85.80 CDN$ 85.27
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews