march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 14, 2016
enjoyed this very much . . . . . just as I did her set of early books many years ago. Looking forward to the next one in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
a sweet, easy read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
The name of this book rightly describes this beautiful story - The Tender Years - for many teens 'back in my day' would be very much like this story. It took me back to my tender years, the ages between 12 and 16 when it is so, so very important to have friends, to be part of a group, to have the love and support of family and, yet, to be obedient to the rules. Virginia knew what was right, she knew what was good, she knew what was expected of her, but then there was Jenny. Jenny made life look like so much fun - she was daring, she was lively, she was popular and she had no rules. It just didn't seem fair to Virginia.

This story delightfully covers the many trials and temptations of young teens, and will help the Virginia's of this world value their close knit family even more, and will guide the Jenny's into building a relationship with a family who cares about them.

A well done, poignant story which might bring a few tears and a few smiles, and lots of memories of days gone by from passing notes in school to playing in the brooks or rivers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2016
I enjoyed the characters and the storyline. This is another good historical novel this author has written and will be enjoyed by all who like the genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2002
So far, I like every books I have read that was written by Janet Oke.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2002
The tender years by Janet Oke is a very good book. Janet Oke is a very good author, I can relate to this book because just like virgina I am to a teenager. There is so much you learn from this book and is a wonderful experiance. Virgina and her family is a big family like the brady bunch. Almost every one wants a big family. I think every one should read this book it can teach you alot. Happy reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2001
As someone who enjoyed Oke's Love Comes Softly series and read all the books in it twice, despite their tendency to get a bit less well-developed and padded after the first few titles, I was very interested when the Prairie Legacy books came out. I was glad to see that a break from writing about the Davis family and their children seems to have revived Oke's ability to make up new, detailed incidents in the lives of Marty and Clark's daughter, Belinda, the man she was about to marry at the end of _Love Finds a Home_ and their five children, esp. teenage Virginia. Despite quibbles--like that the story seems to take place in a vacuum, as far as the outside world is concerned (no radio, no mention of the Depression or whatever period the book is supposed to be taking place in), or that Belinda would have been summoned to nursing duties by way of the phone at the time the book occurs, instead of by someone running to her house to tell her about an amergency (someone must have mentioned this to Oke, because they definitely have a phone by the next book), or that Clark and Marty *must* be at least six or eight years older than they are supposed to be in the otherwise wonderful where-are-they-now? prologue--I enjoyed the book and devoured it in one evening. Virginia's friend, Jenny, is very manipulative, but Virginia's conflict between pleasing her parents and satisfying her own ideals on the one hand and wanting to fit in on the other was something that anyone who remembers their growing up will identify with, and Virginia's conflicts after her own conversion, as she desires to see Jenny saved and worries about alienating her or being a horrible Christian example but also wants to avoid moral compromises and gives in to all-too-human emotions, as we all surely do, made the story compelling. I was not one hundred percent content with the way the mystery thread of the book was resolved, but I was pleased enough in other ways that my pleasure outweighed my quibbles, and I wanted to read the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2001
Belinda's daughter Virginia is the subject of this story, as she
passes through the teen years. Sometimes she falls under the bad influence of her friend Jenny, whose father is too busy to keep an eye on her comings and goings. After Jenny is injured in a boat accident, she starts spending more time with Virginia's family and going to church. Sparks fly when a young man Jenny is interested in shows more interest in Virginia, and when a retarded man is falsely accused of theft, it's up to Virginia's father to find out the truth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2001
Looks like this could be her best series yet. So be prepared to read, or if your like me, to listen to all four. Have written to authur a letter asking her to continue the series. So lets hope that four are not all there will be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2000
to put it in blunt words.... i loved it! at first i thought it was kind of corny by looking at the cover, but since my mother bought it for me i thought i ought to read it for her sake. I ended up liking the book so much i wanted to read it again and again. I thought it was pretty realistic. I mean, the everyday teenager goes through pretty much everything Virginia did. The only thing i thought was a little awkward was how calm Virginia stayed. If i were her i would i have been so stressed out. It's a great book. READ IT! =)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse