Customer Reviews


313 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (73)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a deep thiller but an entertaining life like read
I'm a true Patterson fan and I find this book really entertaining. To be honest, I feel this book isn't a big thriller but I can actually see this happening in real life. This novel is one of the truely unique compelling stories among Patterson's other works. This book doesn't contain pyshco serial killers on the loose and super sleuths on the heels of his trail. This...
Published on March 21 2004 by Jimi Dracutt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun book of triumphant vigilante justice - nice quick read!
My biggest problem with a book like this is not knowing who really wrote it - did Patterson & De Jonge really co-write the book or did Patterson give De Jonge the idea and did De Jonge in turn write the story. Oh well -there's no denying the commercial aspect of the publishing business I guess!
That being said, this book helped me through some rough times as I...
Published on May 3 2004


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good suspensful thriller!, May 9 2004
By 
"maur072" (Pittsburgh, Pa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beach House (Hardcover)
The Beach House, a summer thriller written by James Patterson and Peter de Jonge. This is an unstoppable story of love and vengeance among superrich and super ruthless. This is one of those books that are great to read at the beach.
Jack Mullen, the main character in this thriller is the law student in New York City, and grandson of a County Clare emigrant. Jack's grandfather moved to the east coast of America to find a better life. The story begins with the drowning of Jack's younger brother, Peter in the ocean off of East Hampton. Not convinced that his brother died due to a drowning accident, because he pretty much grew up in the water. Jack sets out to prove his fears and face the fact that someone wanted his brother dead. This turns out to be the toughest job of his young life. With the police saying that this is a suicide not a murder. This throws Jack for even more of a twist.
This story is wound very firmly with crime and corruption. The rich and the powerful in this novel will do anything to stop Jack from finding out the truth. In the process of discovering the murder, he discovers Peter's secret life and exposes some of the most powerful social groups in the Hamptons as the ruthless killers they are.
This novel is filled with many short chapters to keep your curiosity stirring. For a great summer read and a book that you can't put down The Beach House is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun book of triumphant vigilante justice - nice quick read!, May 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beach House (Hardcover)
My biggest problem with a book like this is not knowing who really wrote it - did Patterson & De Jonge really co-write the book or did Patterson give De Jonge the idea and did De Jonge in turn write the story. Oh well -there's no denying the commercial aspect of the publishing business I guess!
That being said, this book helped me through some rough times as I began it while was in the hospital being fed intravenous antibiotics for a massive infection. It kept me busy without having to worry about complexity of plot while being interrupted often for blood tests and other things that go on in the hospital. It is a fast-paced, easy read about triumphant vigilante justice...and, of course, they all "live happily ever after" (sort of). Having lived my entire life on Long Island, I especially enjoyed the setting. Whoever did actually write the book, spent a great deal of time delving into the Long Island experience - from life out on the South Fork (Montauk/ Amagansett), to places such as Ronkonkoma, Manhattan and the Long Island commuter's experience. Very realistic in that respect.
...And I guess public access TV is more than just for stuff like "Wayne's World" :-)! This would probably make an entertaining movie with the right cast (at least a made-for-tv movie).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a deep thiller but an entertaining life like read, March 21 2004
I'm a true Patterson fan and I find this book really entertaining. To be honest, I feel this book isn't a big thriller but I can actually see this happening in real life. This novel is one of the truely unique compelling stories among Patterson's other works. This book doesn't contain pyshco serial killers on the loose and super sleuths on the heels of his trail. This story is about a death of a young man, Peter who lived among the rich and his brother Paul is trying to find out what really happened to him. Did he really commit suicide or was there foul play involved. When Paul tries to discover the truth it seems like he can't win because the rich are powerful especially in high places and have enough money to make sure Peter's murder was a cover-up. Paul being trained in law himself feels he can't win because of the justice system. He felt that the judicial system had failed him. Previously at an inquest concerning Peter's death. The main suspect named Barry Neubauer who may have been involved mentioned the attorney general's name and the judge declared Peter's death was a suicide. Paul feels he has to goes to drastic measures to have his brother murder's solved. He kidnaps all the people he knows were involved and setup an hodge podge court room and air it live so the whole world can see the truth especially with the evidence that he found. There were parts I may find questionable but hey this is Patterson if you just go along with it. You'll find yourself truely entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A traditional tale, Jan. 16 2004
By 
Louise (Copenhagen V, Denmark) - See all my reviews
The Beach House is a traditional story about good/bad, rich/poor, fair/unfair etc. The chapters are short and the action starts already at page one. I liked that. I also liked the coziness one can find in a traditional thriller, it felt safe, but also somewhat predictable.
Peter Mullen is killed while relaxing on the beach. He is working as a valet, and this particular night, he is parking cars for the wealthy Neubauer-family at their annual May-party. On the very first pages, we also learn, that Peter had other talents, serving the rich and the famous. There is no hint, though, as to why it was necessary to kill him.
Needless to say, the rich and influential people want to call Peter's death and accident or a suicide. His brother, the law-student Jack and his grandfather, the 87 year old paralegal Mack, plus a circle of friends surrounding Jack, decides to take matters in to their own hands, and prove that Peter's death certainly was no accident. Shortly after they make their decision, funny things starts to happen, and soon they realise that perhaps it is not going to be as easy to prove as they first thought. They not only have to fight against the rich (bad) people, but also local authorities, shopkeepers, employers and such, seems to be very reluctant to say anything that could help solving the case. Even the law firm in New York, where Jack works, seems to be involved somehow.
The Beach House is written in a very easy language, it is entertaining, and it holds a few minor surprises as well. Good entertainment value for a vacation or if you have to spend a day or two in bed with a cold, but not a book that makes a lasting impression on you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected..., Jan. 2 2004
By 
Jessica Davis "J.D." (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a new fan of James Patterson, having seen the movie 1st to Die and recently read 2nd Chance. Although I read this book in two days, it was only so that I could move onto something else, not due to an overwhelming interest. Let's just say I was greatly disappointed with this book.
The plot of the book is quite simple...Peter Mullen is murdered, and his new lawyer brother decides that it was not suicide nor accident, but murder. He sets out on a mission to prove who the was involved in the murder, but due to the criminals large income and influences Jack is unable to do so for quite some time.
That part of the story line was OK, but from there on it was all downhill. I don't want to give the ending away to those who haven't read it, so let's just say that the ending was a little unrealistic. Also, the book was quite vulgar to mankind, with Peter being involved in all kinds of sexual relationships. I thought this gave the story a trashy touch that was unnecessary. It helped out in solving the murder, but it could have been written differently.
Don't take my opinion as gold. Read it and find out for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written; occasionally interesting, Dec 31 2003
Summary:
Jack Mullen is a promising law student from a blue collar family that has spent most of its existence catering to the wealthy families in The Hamptons. Jack's brother, Peter, was something of a playboy among the wealthy, often invited to parties, generally to park cars but also for other reasons that are revealed very late in the book. His father was a carpenter and his grandfather, Macklyn, worked in a coal mine until retiring, then took up studying the law and became a legal aide.
Jack is working with a major law firm in New York over the summer as an advocate for a supposedly wrongly imprisoned individual in Texas. But when he heads home for the weekend, he is greeted by his father, grandfather, and girlfriend, who happens to be the daughter of the wealthy Neubauer family and owners of the beach house where Jack's brother, Peter, was found dead. Jack goes to see the body only to realize that his brother didn't drown but was beaten to death. But everyone, including the local police, rule out murder, considering the death an accident or suicide.
Months and even years of follow up investigation, hampered by a mysterious individual hired by the murderers to make everything just go away, reveal that Jack is right - Peter was murdered. But the reason why is very, very complicated and ultimately requires Jack, his new girlfriend, and his grandfather to kidnap the Neubauer's, some of their friends, the Hampton's chief detective, and the Neubauer's lawyer and set them up in a mock courtroom where Jack proceeds to prove Barry Neubauer is guilty, not of murder, but of knowingly infecting others with AIDS.
As it turns out, Peter was a high-priced gigolo for the rich and one of his friends took pictures of Peter with his clients, so they could later use them for blackmail. The blackmail eventually got to Neubauer, who proceeded to kill Peter and have others kill the friend that took the pictures. But Jack, with the help of the rest of his friends was able to put everything together.
Comments:
This book is disappointing on a number of fronts. First, I listened to the CD version and even found it, as an abridgement of the novel, to be far too long. The mock courtroom set up at the end of the book drug on and on and on. It was agonizingly slow to get anywhere; anyone in their right mind that had kidnapped some of the most powerful people in the world wouldn't care to stretch the scenario out any longer than possible as it just gives the authorities more time to find them, which of course never happened.
But where the book really falls apart is in the development of the characters. Jack's father is quickly killed off from a 'freak' heart attack. Why? Because he didn't have a place in the story. But Jack's grandfather, Macklyn, did have a place in the story and was early on touted to be a very powerful legal aide in the Hamptons. But, guess what, Macklyn never actually went to a courtroom during the entire book. Instead, he spent his entire time either in a local bar or at Jack's father's house. Hmm, sounds like a real legal wonder to me. Of course, he has to have this ability because he serves as the judge in the mock courtroom, but it was really pretty unrealistic considering Macklyn didn't actually do anything related to lawyering during the entire book. The farthest he ever went towards illustrating his legal abilities was to suggest to Jack they could solve the case, but then he disappeared for entire chapters at a time.
Macklyn isn't the only character to be neglected only to play a major role in the end. Jack's new girlfriend also experiences this, along with pretty much everyone but Jack. It got so bad that I couldn't even keep straight who did what among Jack's circle of friends, who also seemed to be very important to the story but were incredibly derelict.
As far as the story goes, it was really bordering on just plain silly and definitely wasn't very original. Isn't it always a 'big surprise' when a poor, little guy takes on the evil, rich guy and wins? Well, this book is no different. Except for the porn. Yeah, I guess I have to give the authors credit for created a scenario where they could actually incorporate a male gigolo.
Overall, the book isn't well written, the story isn't compelling or convincing, and the characters are, for the most part, poorly developed. The book is really just like one big coincidence, and an unbelievable one at that. I don't think I'd recommend it to anyone but die hard James Patterson fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars As a beach book, "Beach House" succeeds..., Nov. 26 2003
This review is from: The Beach House (Hardcover)
This isn't one of James Patterson's best, but it's a fun romp of good-vs-evil, havenots-vs-haves in the Hamptons. The plot is thin and sometimes far-fetched, and there's more promise behind the characters than actual development, but the thrill-ride maintains its speed (with only one minor distration in Manhattan's East Village and Chelsea), and the ride is fun, especially if you like to root for the underdog going against the rich.
The chapters are short and,while the story kept my interest and made me want to keep reading, it's not impossible to put the book down, which makes it a great book for the beach or vacation. The settings are well-described, so if you've spent time in the Hamptons or Manhattan, you'll get a kick out of that. There are enough interesting characters that you'll find someone you like... hopefully it will be someone who makes more than a cameo in the story!
Worth a read, for sure... but you'll probably leave it in your own beach house for the next summer vacationer to peruse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Pages Turn....., Nov. 24 2003
By 
Eric (El Sobrante, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beach House (Hardcover)
But 'The Beach House' is a novel that could of have good potential, but some of the things that made me look at this novel when I was finished that, in the end, it didnt make any sense. James Patterson and Peter De Jonge try to make a good legal thriller, (leave that job to John Grisham guys.) but they fail, they kind of crash and burn, but I did wish that this novel had a good ending.
The story revolves around the murder of Peter, and so his brother try to finds out how he died, the police say that he drowned in the ocean, AT NIGHT! Oh come on. What person in their right mind would swin in the ocean at night, and the cops stick to this story? So as the pages turn, it turns out that his brother was a male prostitute with the rich locals.
The novel just did not grab me in the end, it started out good, but I felt it was unrealistic in many ways; one of them being kidnapping the men and women involved in his brothers murder, and setting up a fake court and have them stand before a FAKE TRIAL while they film it and get access to a local independent station in the area!
Does that make any sense? Hell no! The book tries to be so many things, but James Patterson and Peter De Jonge should of done their homework first before they wrote this novel. Ignore this novel, and read a good legal thriller like The Firm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, Nov. 6 2003
By A Customer
The Beach House
By James Patterson
This book was about a man named Jack Mullen, a law student, who is trying to find out how and why his brother was killed. His brother, Peter Mullen, a High School drop out who parks cars for wealthy residents of the Hamptons, was found washed up ashore after a Memorial Day Weekend party he vale-parked for. The police and the residents insisted that he drowned, and left the case as a homicide. But when Jack goes to see his brother's corpse, he knows that there is more to the story when he sees bruises and other signs of beatings on him. Plus, Peter knew how to swim. The Mullen's had grown up on the beaches of the Hamptons, and Jack knew just as well as his grandfather Mack, that Peter could swim through any weather. Mullen is determined to find out what really happened to his brother and why the case was closed so soon. Jack uncovers startling evidence on the case, with the help of his new friend and his grandfather Mack, and discovers shocking details about his brother's secret life. Evidence leads Jack right to where this murder took place, and shows him how differently the wealthy live. Now Jack is more determined then ever to seek revenge for his brother's murder.
I believe that this book would be good for someone who enjoys mysteries and the law, because this book is full of debating, researching, and identifying clues. This book will leave you unable to put it down. Patterson describes the scenes and the tones so precise and so beautifully, your own heart starts to race.
I think this book was an excellent book. I am usually not a reader who would sit down and read a mystery, but Patterson left me in such shock and suspense that I didn't want to put the book down. This is one of my favorite books. I love the way Patterson described the tone of a scene so precisely and so perfectly that I actually felt the suspense and immense intensity of the passage urging me to turn the page. I would definitely recommend this book to readers who enjoy mysteries and the law, because this book involves both very greatly. This book will leave you in utmost suspense until the very end- and will leave you with a shocking chill that will make you want to read it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book!, Sept. 22 2003
I have just started to read the James Patterson books. I liked "1st to Die" and "2nd Chance" alot. I thought "The Jester" was really good as well. I thought "Cradle and All" was alright. But this book is by far my favorite one in his set of books. After writing over twenty books this book is great and engrossing. I finshed the last two hundred pages in one day. Mabye even more, I couldn't count. It wasn't a mystery with a dectective looking for a killer, or a serial killer. Only one murder and the family of the dead person, who are all regular people, go off to avenge his death. With Patterson's trademark two through five page chapters, this book is a swift read at 356 pages. I waited over a year to wait for this to come to paperback and in the end it was worth the wait.
The murder is towards Peter Mullen also known as "Peter Rabbit." He works at the Neubauer family's beach house in the Hamptons. He works there as a valet. When his brother Jack comes home from work over the weekend he finds his father, grandfather, and girlfriend waiting for him at the station. He then learns that his brother was dead. The cops say it was sucicide but Jack knows that he couldn't have killed himself. He was leading a happy life and he wouldn't have gone out for a swim and drowned. It was the end of May and it was too cold that night to swim. Jack tries to deal with the death of his brother, untill he comes home to find his father dead. All that is left is him and his grandfather Macklyn. They decide to avenge Peter's death, because they both know that he was murdered. But with everybody claiming that Peter killed himself, it turns out that whoever killed Peter bought the cops and the judges and whoever can open a case to Peter's murder. Also with all the trouble between Peter's family and Detective Frank Volpi, it's going to be a very hard quest.
"The Beach House" was a great book because it kept you engrossed enough to keep reading on. I find it hard to find books like that because in most books there is always a section where it's a little boring or uninteresting. In this book that only happened in the beginning where you are still trying to get into it. But you get into it very quickly, and when you do, you'll be very glad that you didn't give up on it.
The wording in this book is so simple. It's not hard to understand at all and it pretty much classifed as a page turner. The book does not include a high action packed scene at the end, but an ending where you'll be amazed at when they do indeed find out the killer of Peter Rabbit. The plan to unmask the killer is also unexpected and the scenes leading up to that are so entertaining where you need to keep reading to see what they are going to do. Pick up your paperback copy of "The Beach House" today.
ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beach House
The Beach House by Peter De Jonge (Audio Cassette - April 7 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 34.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews