Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible--- A must for any animal lover or student.
This book is unbelievable from cover to cover. It's both a spectacular learning tool and a book that you'll keep forever and always refer to. It's been extremely helpful to me already as I continue through school toward a job working with animals and docenting at the zoo, and it would be equally as helpful to anyone of any age who shares this interest. The pictures are...
Published on Feb. 2 2003 by Giana

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Pictures
I ordered this book after reading the other comments about it. After I received the book I was not satisfied with the purchase. It has a lot of beautiful pictures, but it does not give enough information about each animal. Therefore I have returned the book. If you are wanting to know what different animals look like, then this is the book for you.
Published on Jan. 24 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible--- A must for any animal lover or student., Feb. 2 2003
By 
Giana (Maywood, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smithsonian Animal (Hardcover)
This book is unbelievable from cover to cover. It's both a spectacular learning tool and a book that you'll keep forever and always refer to. It's been extremely helpful to me already as I continue through school toward a job working with animals and docenting at the zoo, and it would be equally as helpful to anyone of any age who shares this interest. The pictures are real and breathtakingly beautiful, and the book's organization couldn't be any easier or more perfect. I highly recommend this book as a reference or simply as a good read, because it is just as interesting and helpful either way. Animal is now the most beautiful book I own, and packed with interesting and vital information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, Aug. 29 2002
By 
David J Range (Columbia, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smithsonian Animal (Hardcover)
This book is simpy outstanding. Few books can rival the wide scope offered by Animal on a vast range of organisms which include invertebrates, birds, reptiles, mammals, fish, and amphibians. The book is adorned with magnificent color photos of each organism and a compact description that provides adequate amounts of info on the organism. Although some common species are excluded, it more than makes up for this with the amount of species covered. For every common species excluded, I ran across three new species I had never heard of. This book is an extraordinary guide to the vast array of wildlife in the world. There are few books that I have found as informative and enjoyable to read as Animal. It truly is a definitive guide to the world's wildlife and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Aug. 19 2002
By 
This review is from: Smithsonian Animal (Hardcover)
This book is GREAT!It has lots of beautiful pictures.Many animals that are in here I've neve even heard of!The animals are not in detail though and don't expect to see any regular animals,like just a plain stingray.Very good information about habitats and endangered species.If you love animals, BUY THIS BOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Animal Book Ever, Aug. 19 2002
This review is from: Smithsonian Animal (Hardcover)
This is one of the best books I have ever seen - the photography is amazing - the text well written, the science solid and up to date... It is an outstanding effort in every way and the team that put it together should be awarded. Every library should have it and every school. A great gift for animal lover such as myself. Its on my coffee table and will be read for many months to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Animal: The Definitive Visual Guide to the World's Wildlife, May 20 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Smithsonian Animal (Hardcover)
this book is very informative, excellent pictures and animal descriptions.I'm looking for the same book, but, just on reptiles. Defanatly an A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Photography is Astounding, April 24 2002
By 
P. Zrimsek "zrim" (Northfield, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smithsonian Animal (Hardcover)
The main reason to obtain this book is for the photography. Otherwise the information that is presented is mostly encyclopedic. Lots of info, but nothing too in depth and nothing new or novel. But the photography is the best I have seen! Each page (about 600) is packed with wonderful photos of all sorts of animals from the proud and majestic orangutan to the creepie crawlies of the non-vertebrate phylum. A great coffee table book or maybe a neat birthday present for the budding zoologist. Anyone who loves animals would certainly appreciate having this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, April 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Smithsonian Animal (Hardcover)
This book is fabulous!! It is also typical DK quality, which means the photos are incredible. I bought this book for my 7 year old son for Christmas. He currently wants to be a zoologist and he carries this book with him everywhere! He uses it for reports and has also spent hours just looking through it and reading it. It's beginning to look very tattered due to how much he uses it. It is such a great bargain, weighing in at a little over 600 pages, I'm considering buying another copy for the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic - you want to know animals - get this, April 2 2002
This review is from: Smithsonian Animal (Hardcover)
Can't say enough good things about it.
The quality, the detail, the content are all fantastic.
If you love nature and the animal kingdon this book IS the definitive kind. Kids will love it, adults love it. A fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent piece of work!!, Feb. 5 2002
This review is from: Smithsonian Animal (Hardcover)
A beautiful visual book. The photography is captivating to say the least, the text though short is very informative , the layout is something else and very well designed : easy access to general information. Some have objected to the fact that there is no mention of the human species; to those I say that the book's cover does say: The definitive visual guide to the world's WILDLIFE. I do admit that since invertebrates form 97% of all the known animal species,the chapter concerning them was a bit lacking and too short. One may not find enough research material for any specific animal, but nevertheless it is nothing short of stunning, it's the kind of book the whole family will enjoy and every household should have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth More Than 5 Stars, Feb. 3 2002
This review is from: Smithsonian Animal (Hardcover)
This book is worth more than 5 stars. I purchased this book as a Christmas present, for myself. I have yet to put in down or allow anyone to put there grubby little/big hands on it. Anyone interested or in love with animals, will enjoy this book. The pages and chapters are color coded for easy access, which make it great. Buy this book with the pleasure of knowing that it will help and relax you, everytime you pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animal Paperback
Animal Paperback by Don Wilson (Paperback - Sept. 27 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 12.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews