Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars good book
One of the best English/Manadarin books I've seen. Has pictures, shows Mandarin characters and pinyin for how to pronounce it. Organized well, also. First borrowed it from the library and then decided we had to have a copy ourselves, so bought it from Amazon.
Published 7 months ago by David

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The words are too small, adult and aged learners ...
The words are too small, adult and aged learners need glasses to read the book, not convenient .
Published 1 month ago by Kodjo Glakpe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good book, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bilingual Visual Dictionary Mandarin Chinese English (Paperback)
One of the best English/Manadarin books I've seen. Has pictures, shows Mandarin characters and pinyin for how to pronounce it. Organized well, also. First borrowed it from the library and then decided we had to have a copy ourselves, so bought it from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, Oct. 14 2013
This review is from: Bilingual Visual Dictionary Mandarin Chinese English (Paperback)
Size - 14cm x 16.5cm x 2.5cm - not a pocket book, but still compact.

Cover - Traditional fragile paperback.

Pages - Bright white, thick, glossy. Text on the opposing side does not show through at all.

Text and pictures - High-quality full colour. The font is a little too small. I would not travel with this and expect to read it comfortably when distracted or in poor lighting.

This book does not have Traditional Chinese characters.

This is a complex book to describe. It's a visual dictionary which is broken into major themes. Each theme has a number of minor topics. Each topic has one or more pictures. Each picture has one or more items being pointed to. Each pointer gives the Chinese character, pinyin and English translation for what's being pointed-to.

The annoyance is that it's pretty damned random. There's a table of contents for the major themes, each with a thumbnail. Personally I think the thumbnails make it harder to use it. Next there is another table of contents, this time with each major section's minor topics. Here you can clearly see that the minor topics aren't sorted alphabetically.

The actual content itself, and I cannot stress this enough, is spectacular. It's impossible for it to be anywhere near thorough, but it does cover quite a lot of interesting things. Parts of the body, body expressions, animals, plants, parts of a toilet, etc. It has one for asthma and inhaler!

More here:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it is a small book,very good for bring with you anywhere, Sept. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bilingual Visual Dictionary Mandarin Chinese English (Paperback)
it is a small book,very good for bring with you anywhere.
you can use it to learn Chinese or English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The words are too small, adult and aged learners ..., July 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bilingual Visual Dictionary Mandarin Chinese English (Paperback)
The words are too small, adult and aged learners need glasses to read the book, not convenient .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, March 23 2011
This review is from: Bilingual Visual Dictionary Mandarin Chinese English (Paperback)
I bought this for my brother along with the French English Visual Dictionary. This was a great buy! Colourful with lots of content and organized well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bilingual Visual Dictionary Mandarin Chinese English
Bilingual Visual Dictionary Mandarin Chinese English by Dorling Kindersley (Paperback - March 25 2008)
CDN$ 16.95 CDN$ 12.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews