Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porn for Females!
To call this a romance is definitely stretching it, since there really is no courting involved. In fact, the way they meet Seth, the hero of the book, is sort of a pervy stalker/peeper, which is kinda creepy. But wow! are the sex scenes really steamy!
The book is really pretty much built around the multiple sex interludes. And there are a lot, as Seth and Raine do it...
Published on July 19 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Potential...
There was potential in this book for a decent beach or plane ride read. But the sex scenes just got boring after a while. Raine is trying to find out if her uncle that she hasn't seen in 17 yrs killed her father. She works at his company under one of her assumed names as mommy has been dragging her around europe most her life changing her name. Enter Seth, a PI trying to...
Published on March 8 2004 by JKI


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Potential..., March 8 2004
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
There was potential in this book for a decent beach or plane ride read. But the sex scenes just got boring after a while. Raine is trying to find out if her uncle that she hasn't seen in 17 yrs killed her father. She works at his company under one of her assumed names as mommy has been dragging her around europe most her life changing her name. Enter Seth, a PI trying to get revenge for the murder of his younger half brother at the hands of Novak, an associate of Raine's uncle, Lazar. To get to Novak - he wil use Lazar (who he is certain is involved).
Not a bad begining except Raine is living in a house previously occupied by her uncle's exmistress and so it's rigged with cameras and Seth is spending quite a lot of time spying on her getting changed.
Raine is a push over and is perfect for Seth's macho territorial boss role. Novak is not really explored but psychotic about covers it and Lazar is practical (perhaps the most complex role in the entire book).
It's a little obsessive and weird that Seth latches on to Raine immeadiately, but that can be forgiven. Even Raine's stupidity and blind trust in the men around her can be forgiven. What can't be forgiven is the fact that if you take out the sex scenes, the scenes setting up sex, the scenes that just repeat - there is maybe a 100 pages of plot out of 400 some. Some of it doesn't even make sense.
In one scene Raine actually just gets an urge to go jogging at 230 in the morning. Why? She's restless and aggitated. What 26-yr-old does that?! Seth is also sitting outside in his truck watching her house at the time. Just creepy. Another scene has him breaking into her house and waiting for her to get home. It begs the question who this girl should have been scared of...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porn for Females!, July 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
To call this a romance is definitely stretching it, since there really is no courting involved. In fact, the way they meet Seth, the hero of the book, is sort of a pervy stalker/peeper, which is kinda creepy. But wow! are the sex scenes really steamy!
The book is really pretty much built around the multiple sex interludes. And there are a lot, as Seth and Raine do it like rabbits. There's a ridiculous intrigue plot with guns and big bad guys sorta tossed in, but that part is really just stupid. The meat of the book, and McKenna's writing forte, is the sex! Not too dirty, but definitely not tame, she really delivers the sizzle! Lots of positions, but no bondage or kink (other than a little role-playing.) And one indication that this is fiction for women? Seth, the hero, loves giving oral sex, but never asks for any himself. Hah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the most perfect main characters, July 15 2004
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
It was a nice change not having the same stereotypical main characters you find in most romance novels... The rogue, the virgin.... But it was a little hard for me to really like these two. After 400+ pages, I really wanted to. They seemed real enough for the most part, and I could even buy the whole power/dominance struggle between the two and how it played out in the sex scenes. But Seth was such a jerk at times and not charming enough to make up for it. Raine let him off the hook way too easy in my point of view. I understand that her character was a wall flower to begin with, but when I thought she was finally getting a backbone I was disappointed. I also agree with another reviewer that there sure was a whole lot of sex going on, on almost every page. I enjoy these scenes, but towards the end it was a little much and unrealistic. I mean, didn't they ever get sore? And who wants to do it with a fresh knife wound or sore nose? I liked it overall, except for those things, mainly because it was a nice change from the norm, even though I ended up not liking the main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of my seat,, June 28 2004
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
Behind Closed Doors had me on the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading the story. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Erotic, Suspensful, Engrossing, June 11 2004
By 
Amanda Hunt "romance addict" (OK, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
This book is deeply engrossing! It is the first Shannon McKenna book I read, and I can't wait to read more of them! This book is suspenseful and interesting. The relationship, it's growth and progression, between the main characters is complex, deep, and sexy. Seth is hot, wild, troubled and irrestistible. Definitely read this book! I hope we hear more about the characters we meet in this book! (I know she writes about Connor, but Sean and Davy are fabulous and compelling too!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic, fun, and exciting to boot,, June 7 2004
By 
Peg Dubeck (Cincinnati, Ohio, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
I enjoy stories like this fun story. Romantic, fun, and exciting too. What else could a reader ask for in this fun genre?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More of a Romantica than a romance, April 26 2004
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
The book was very uneven in a lot of respects, and as I can tell from the reviews, a lot of readers did not think they were getting Romantica. Romantica is romantic erotica, and it is one couple with lots of heated erotic situations.
I totally agree that the characters are inconsistent. I also think the villains were too. The whole romantic suspense genre seems to be predicated on the most unlikely people with nothing in common falling into bed together. Or in this case the wall, shower and so on.
It also includes several detailed scenes of the villain having sex which were very offputting, as was his voyeurism with the various camersa dotted around his house, and the explicit nature of said activities in various multiples and gender combinations.
Kensington should make it clear that the Brava line is going to contain material like this. A reader who forked out good money expect Nora Roberts would well be peeved, not to mention goggled-eyed or even offended.
Having said that, the one thing the book does having going for it is an interesting if totally Neanderthal hero, though I can' tbelieve he had not had a girl for five years since his brother was killed, he is so rampant. The drought becomes a flood, and Raine is swept away, but I would have liked to see her exercise a bit ore common sense and spine. The games they play are not always healthy or safe, and Seth not trusting her toward the end is pretty unforgiveable even if their sex life is stupendous.
The book is way too long, with lashings of detail on every movement of his body (where are HER feelings in all of this) and even the hero says himself they are like a pair of minks. Subtlty, nuance, romance, even foreplay, vanish in a haze of power pwoer games on Seth's part. This novel could have been cut to half its length and toned down and not suffered, and still got commitment and the happily ever after.
Readers who like Susan Johnson, Robin Schone and Thea Devine will enjoy these books, but anyone else should exercise caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book by a great author, April 12 2004
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
I've never read anything by Shannon McKenna before, but I am going out to find as many other of her books as there are available. I loved this story and felt that the characters were developed as they should have been. There was suspicion and fear, but what a great ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better Than I Expected, April 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
This book was my second attempt with a Romance novel. My first attempt, was totally botched; but I figured I'd give the genre a second change. I was pleasantly surprised.
Behind Closed Doors had a well balanced diet of plot and sex. The story was about a man (Seth) and a woman (Raine) who were brought together in the midst of their investigations of a career criminal whose actions had adversely affected their own lives. Seth was a chauvinistic brute, so I did not care for him much; but his motivation was clear and upheld throughout the entire book. Raine, on the other hand, was just this side of ambiguous. Her place in the story was clear enough; however, her motivation was not. Once she discovered the answers to her questions, what then? McKenna made it clear that Seth ultimately wanted revenge, but what exactly did Raine want? That answer was lost in the mix, so I'm not entirely sure. The villains could have been more intimidating. There were two substantial villains in this book - Lazar and Novak. I did not feel intimidated by either of them. Seth's cohorts, The McCloud Brothers, were a good addition; I liked them the most.
McKenna's writing style was fluent and kept me turning pages. My only gripe is that she used several adjectives too many times. I found myself wondering if she ever thought to consult a thesaurus. But that may be an arguably trivial factor.
All elements considered, I was entertained with Behind Closed Doors. And I am no longer allergic to Romance novels as I was before Behind Closed Doors. I recommend this book if you want to read mystery and sex. But do not read it if you think that you'll be offended by reading very detailed sexual encounters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thought..., March 31 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
This book was great, the story line, and the sex...ofcourse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind Closed Doors
Behind Closed Doors by Shannon Mckenna (Paperback - Sept. 1 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews