Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porn for Females!
To call this a romance is definitely stretching it, since there really is no courting involved. In fact, the way they meet Seth, the hero of the book, is sort of a pervy stalker/peeper, which is kinda creepy. But wow! are the sex scenes really steamy!
The book is really pretty much built around the multiple sex interludes. And there are a lot, as Seth and Raine do it...
Published on July 19 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Potential...
There was potential in this book for a decent beach or plane ride read. But the sex scenes just got boring after a while. Raine is trying to find out if her uncle that she hasn't seen in 17 yrs killed her father. She works at his company under one of her assumed names as mommy has been dragging her around europe most her life changing her name. Enter Seth, a PI trying to...
Published on March 8 2004 by JKI


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porn for Females!, July 19 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
To call this a romance is definitely stretching it, since there really is no courting involved. In fact, the way they meet Seth, the hero of the book, is sort of a pervy stalker/peeper, which is kinda creepy. But wow! are the sex scenes really steamy!
The book is really pretty much built around the multiple sex interludes. And there are a lot, as Seth and Raine do it like rabbits. There's a ridiculous intrigue plot with guns and big bad guys sorta tossed in, but that part is really just stupid. The meat of the book, and McKenna's writing forte, is the sex! Not too dirty, but definitely not tame, she really delivers the sizzle! Lots of positions, but no bondage or kink (other than a little role-playing.) And one indication that this is fiction for women? Seth, the hero, loves giving oral sex, but never asks for any himself. Hah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Potential..., March 8 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
There was potential in this book for a decent beach or plane ride read. But the sex scenes just got boring after a while. Raine is trying to find out if her uncle that she hasn't seen in 17 yrs killed her father. She works at his company under one of her assumed names as mommy has been dragging her around europe most her life changing her name. Enter Seth, a PI trying to get revenge for the murder of his younger half brother at the hands of Novak, an associate of Raine's uncle, Lazar. To get to Novak - he wil use Lazar (who he is certain is involved).
Not a bad begining except Raine is living in a house previously occupied by her uncle's exmistress and so it's rigged with cameras and Seth is spending quite a lot of time spying on her getting changed.
Raine is a push over and is perfect for Seth's macho territorial boss role. Novak is not really explored but psychotic about covers it and Lazar is practical (perhaps the most complex role in the entire book).
It's a little obsessive and weird that Seth latches on to Raine immeadiately, but that can be forgiven. Even Raine's stupidity and blind trust in the men around her can be forgiven. What can't be forgiven is the fact that if you take out the sex scenes, the scenes setting up sex, the scenes that just repeat - there is maybe a 100 pages of plot out of 400 some. Some of it doesn't even make sense.
In one scene Raine actually just gets an urge to go jogging at 230 in the morning. Why? She's restless and aggitated. What 26-yr-old does that?! Seth is also sitting outside in his truck watching her house at the time. Just creepy. Another scene has him breaking into her house and waiting for her to get home. It begs the question who this girl should have been scared of...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the most perfect main characters, July 14 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
It was a nice change not having the same stereotypical main characters you find in most romance novels... The rogue, the virgin.... But it was a little hard for me to really like these two. After 400+ pages, I really wanted to. They seemed real enough for the most part, and I could even buy the whole power/dominance struggle between the two and how it played out in the sex scenes. But Seth was such a jerk at times and not charming enough to make up for it. Raine let him off the hook way too easy in my point of view. I understand that her character was a wall flower to begin with, but when I thought she was finally getting a backbone I was disappointed. I also agree with another reviewer that there sure was a whole lot of sex going on, on almost every page. I enjoy these scenes, but towards the end it was a little much and unrealistic. I mean, didn't they ever get sore? And who wants to do it with a fresh knife wound or sore nose? I liked it overall, except for those things, mainly because it was a nice change from the norm, even though I ended up not liking the main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More of a Romantica than a romance, April 26 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
The book was very uneven in a lot of respects, and as I can tell from the reviews, a lot of readers did not think they were getting Romantica. Romantica is romantic erotica, and it is one couple with lots of heated erotic situations.
I totally agree that the characters are inconsistent. I also think the villains were too. The whole romantic suspense genre seems to be predicated on the most unlikely people with nothing in common falling into bed together. Or in this case the wall, shower and so on.
It also includes several detailed scenes of the villain having sex which were very offputting, as was his voyeurism with the various camersa dotted around his house, and the explicit nature of said activities in various multiples and gender combinations.
Kensington should make it clear that the Brava line is going to contain material like this. A reader who forked out good money expect Nora Roberts would well be peeved, not to mention goggled-eyed or even offended.
Having said that, the one thing the book does having going for it is an interesting if totally Neanderthal hero, though I can' tbelieve he had not had a girl for five years since his brother was killed, he is so rampant. The drought becomes a flood, and Raine is swept away, but I would have liked to see her exercise a bit ore common sense and spine. The games they play are not always healthy or safe, and Seth not trusting her toward the end is pretty unforgiveable even if their sex life is stupendous.
The book is way too long, with lashings of detail on every movement of his body (where are HER feelings in all of this) and even the hero says himself they are like a pair of minks. Subtlty, nuance, romance, even foreplay, vanish in a haze of power pwoer games on Seth's part. This novel could have been cut to half its length and toned down and not suffered, and still got commitment and the happily ever after.
Readers who like Susan Johnson, Robin Schone and Thea Devine will enjoy these books, but anyone else should exercise caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better Than I Expected, April 12 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
This book was my second attempt with a Romance novel. My first attempt, was totally botched; but I figured I'd give the genre a second change. I was pleasantly surprised.
Behind Closed Doors had a well balanced diet of plot and sex. The story was about a man (Seth) and a woman (Raine) who were brought together in the midst of their investigations of a career criminal whose actions had adversely affected their own lives. Seth was a chauvinistic brute, so I did not care for him much; but his motivation was clear and upheld throughout the entire book. Raine, on the other hand, was just this side of ambiguous. Her place in the story was clear enough; however, her motivation was not. Once she discovered the answers to her questions, what then? McKenna made it clear that Seth ultimately wanted revenge, but what exactly did Raine want? That answer was lost in the mix, so I'm not entirely sure. The villains could have been more intimidating. There were two substantial villains in this book - Lazar and Novak. I did not feel intimidated by either of them. Seth's cohorts, The McCloud Brothers, were a good addition; I liked them the most.
McKenna's writing style was fluent and kept me turning pages. My only gripe is that she used several adjectives too many times. I found myself wondering if she ever thought to consult a thesaurus. But that may be an arguably trivial factor.
All elements considered, I was entertained with Behind Closed Doors. And I am no longer allergic to Romance novels as I was before Behind Closed Doors. I recommend this book if you want to read mystery and sex. But do not read it if you think that you'll be offended by reading very detailed sexual encounters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5+ - Can I give more stars???, March 11 2004
By 
Elizabeth "lking173" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
I discovered Shannon McKenna quite by accident and immediately fell in love. So far she has only two novels, but I would highly recommend both of them. She is an amazing writer. Her writing is not just straight erotica, but actually has a great plot, and great characters. She is an exceptional writer. You will not be disappointed.
Raine Cameron is trying to find out what happened to her father. She knows he was murdered and she is determined to find the killer. She obtains a job as a secretary working for Victor Lazar who is a very powerful man. She believes Victor had her father murdered. Seth Mackey has his own reasons for following Victor. He knows that Victor had his baby brother Jessie killed, and he will do anything to even the score. Seth is also a wire specialist and can plant bugs and cameras in almost any business or home. He can also break into just about any system. Seth bugs Victor's mistress' house, and after Victor's mistress is murdered, a new person moves in. This is Seth's first vision of Raine. Even though Seth believes Raine is working and sleeping with Victor he is attracted to her. Can Seth and Raine learn to trust each other and maybe even learn to love each other while trying to catch a killer? I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not what I expected, Oct. 9 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
I read the reviews here, and picked up the book expecting something along the lines of a steamier Nora Roberts or Linda Howard. Umm, not quite. Rather than a good suspense with lots of love scenes, I got the equivalent of a porn movie with lots of suspense scenes. I did enjoy the plot (the main one, that is), but I didn't like the main characters. Seth was too much of a bully to be a good alpha-male hero, and Raine had about as much spine as a jellyfish. Also, the first sex scene was a little too close to date rape, in my opinion. And maybe I've been reading the wrong kinds of romances, but geez, there was a sex scene on practically every other page! I enjoy passionate love scenes as much as the next person, but by the second half of the book, I was actually skimming over those parts.
Obviously this particular writer isn't quite what I'm looking for, so I don't think I'll be reading Connor's story. (Oh, there's another bone to pick - Connor McCloud? Has the author ever heard of Highlander? Every time I read his name I was picturing Christopher Lambert.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, hot and perceptive, Aug. 18 2003
By 
K. Newman "krazykmcd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
A good combination of thriller and very erotic romance. There's a lot of sex in this book, so if you object to such, then this is not a tale for you. However sex is used here as much to show how the two central characters change in the course of events, from power plays to tenderness, touching on punishment and eventually even forgiveness. In this, as well as the quality of writing, McKenna makes this about more than sex, and brings in something of the human condition, as well as drawing in other themes and subtexts of the novel. Thus, although plentiful, the erotic nature of the book actually adds meaning to the relationship and thus integrates into the story as a whole.
As for the thriller side, there is certainly no 'mystery' here - we know whodunnit and why the various characters are taking the actions that they are. The two central characters are Raine Cameron, who has recently begun working for identified baddie Victor Lazar, and Seth Mackey, whose brother had been killed 10 months prior to the opening of the book. All that drives Seth now is the need for vengeance. He likens himself to a cyborg - focused, emotionless and with a single purpose. To this end he has extensively bugged the house of Lazar's mistress (Lazar being involved in his brothers death), which is now Raine's house. Raine is actually related to Lazar, and blames him (rightly) for the death of her father. She has been on the run from Lazar for 13 years, and considers herself to be a bit of a coward - the shy, retiring, unnoticeable type. Now convinced that she needs to find out more of her fathers death, she has 'infiltrated' Lazars firm, supposedly anonymously - almost a joke as Lazar knows exactly who she is. Seth, for his part, has been watching Raine with fascination, becoming more and more attracted to her. And now the plan moves along, as he seeks to make contact with Lazar, and through him with Lazar's new assistant. Both of them seeking knowledge and retribution, neither sure of who they can trust, both unable to deny the attraction they feel for the other. An attraction watched with interest by many...
It's a very well thought out story, containing many elements. Revenge, hate, manipulation, rage, and the seamer side of life are definitely a part of it, but so too is a great deal of warmth and 'family' feeling. Seth on his side has the memories of his brother, and his developing relationship with the McCloud brothers (who I hope will have their own stories in the future). Raine brings her historical relationship with her parents, and her ongoing complex feelings about Lazar. There are others very central to the book too - Novak and Riggs whose roles become important in the telling of the story. There is no 'mystery', but a great deal of human nature, as characters change and develop as they deal with very real danger and cope with the shifting nature of reality. I particularly liked the triangle of Raine, Seth and Lazar's roles as they played against each other.
Overall I enjoyed the book very much, particularly as a study of human characteristics and relationships, and indeed and how we as individuals affect each other and touch each others lives, for better or worse. I liked very much that this 'erotic thriller' was deeper than a surface story, and that the characters within were constantly evolving not only as they grew and changed within themselves, but also in their dealings each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, suspenseful, erotic & riveting. Great new author!, Aug. 7 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
Definitely R-rated (maybe even NC-17!) for adult content, adult language, sex and violence. A darkly intense story that started out a bit slow, but then drew me in to the point that many, many things I should have done did not get done because I could not tear myself away from this book!
If you prefer sensitive, sweet obvious heroes don't even bother with this book, 'cause there are none to be found within these pages! Bruised, battered, hard, tough, yet inherently good guys, yes - but no softies here. Seth Mackey and his friends the McCloud brothers (Connor, Sean & Davy) are looking for some serious revenge against the men responsible for the death of their friend Jesse (Seth's brother and Connor's FBI partner). They've set the trap for their two victims and have surveillance equipment everywhere - including the townhouse of Victor Lazar's mistress, which is currently occupied by the luscious Raine Cameron.
Victor Lazar is a wealthy man who is easily bored and so occasionally flirts with the illegal and the darkside. He amuses himself by manipulating others and his latest subject is psycho thug, murderer and sometime co-conspirator Kurt Novak (the man who killed Jesse). His own niece, Raine is not even immune from his machinations when he purposely throws her into the path of the sexy, predatory Seth just to see what she's made of. Little does she know that Seth has become obsessed with her after weeks of watching her via the surveillance video.
He assumes she is Victor's latest mistress (he figures she's a sex toy so he doesn't have to treat her real nice), and she thinks he is a security consultant working for Victor (a partial truth/cover to get into Lazar's offices to plant bugs, etc) and the kind of bad boy she's never had the nerve to go after - until now. When they meet, it's combustible! And while a sexual relationship begins, they're both keeping secrets about who they are and what they're working toward. He's dedicated to bringing Lazar and Novak down to avenge Jesse. She's trying to find evidence that Victor, her own uncle, murdered her father. Of course they're all on a collision course toward disaster when things slip out of Victor's control and into Novak's. Several factors come into play including blackmail, murder attempts, the corruption of Connor's FBI boss and Raine's memories and the ripples her "investigation" into her father's death create. And then there's the romance that develops from the initially rocky sexual relationship between Raine and Seth - two people who've experienced little affection or security in their lives. It was great to see Raine evolve from polite doormat to a woman who could stand up to both the surly, overbearing Seth and the enigmatic and manipulative Victor. And in the process she touches the deeply hidden and wounded heart of Seth who reluctantly begins to trust her just knowing it's probably a mistake. Is he right?
I loved this book, but be warned, the language is rough and so is the sex on occasion. I also loved Seth though many may not, as he is capable of being a real Jerk with a capital J. And Victor's character is not your cookie-cutter bad guy - he's interesting and complicated (though Novak is definitely creepy!). And the McCloud brothers are lots of fun secondary characters that we'll see more of in future books. Sequel STANDING IN THE SHADOWS is Connor's story (also a great read!). Definitely dark, intense and complex with compelling characters - this author is one to watch! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Mix!, Feb. 5 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Behind Closed Doors (Paperback)
This book was the perfect mix of mystery and romance - which is usually a hard combination to get right. Many times authors try too hard to make a mystery plot twist and turn, but this one was great - it kepy your interest without being overworked. There was great character development of all characters individually and also good development of relationships and interactions. The romance between Raine and Seth was also well done - sometimes in a mystery the development of feelings is minimized, but not in this case. Lots and lots of hot, sizzling scenes!! OK, so that's an understatement.
Some might think the language in the book is a bit crude, but I find it realistic. How accurate is it when a tough guy says "Gosh darn it, what in the heck are you doing?" Nah-uh, it's not!
It's been a long time since I've considered a book to be 5 stars, especially for a romantic suspense/mysters. So BRAVO to McKenna for her amazing and perfect debut! I am definitely a fan. I wonder if we will see future books about the McCloud boys?? Either way, I can't wait to get more from McKenna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind Closed Doors
Behind Closed Doors by Shannon Mckenna (Paperback - Sept. 1 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews