Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars stretchin' out ridin' on
The worldwide popularity of choppers, be they powered by Harley-Davidson V-twins of imported multi-cylinderv engines, is not to be denied. And lucky for us we've got "Choppers" a fantastic, insightful guide to the stretch bike movement. Unbeknownst to most American bikers, the chopper was kept alive for decades in Europe and of all places, Japan, where dutiful...
Published on March 26 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars absolute dreck
This book is god-awful, plain and simple. Anyone who knows anything about seate's alleged "journalism career" understands how much he knows about motorcycles, and would avoid it like the ebola virus. sadly, you can actually learn more about choppers from watching the discovery channel--and that's not saying much.
there's nothing new in the book. It's a...
Published on Dec 3 2003 by mark mcdonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars stretchin' out ridin' on, March 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Choppers (Hardcover)
The worldwide popularity of choppers, be they powered by Harley-Davidson V-twins of imported multi-cylinderv engines, is not to be denied. And lucky for us we've got "Choppers" a fantastic, insightful guide to the stretch bike movement. Unbeknownst to most American bikers, the chopper was kept alive for decades in Europe and of all places, Japan, where dutiful gearheads emulated the longbikes they'd seen in magazines like Easyriders and Supercycle. In time, "Choppers" explains, that these imported choppers have come to nearly supercede home-grown versions for their mechanical ingenuity and just plain cool styling. Author Mike Seate, a favorite of mine from his articles in Motorcyclist and IronWorks magazines, lays out the goods on the chopper movement, tracing its origisn back to the immediate post WWII period of the bobbers and hack-jobs and follows it on a fascinating, well-illustrated journey through the psychedelic 1960s and beyond. There's even some boffo shots from behind the scenes at Jesse James' Discovery Channel special "Motorcycle Mania" to round out the complete chopper experience. Cool and full of enough eye-cendy to keep anybody in the garage for weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chop Everything!, Dec 22 2003
By 
This review is from: Choppers (Hardcover)
I had been searching for a book about the complete history of choppers for years and none had been published - until now, that is. Mike Seate, an experienced and talented writer for many respected motorsports magazines including Cycle World, Motorcyclist and Super Streetbikes put together what has to be THE BEST book on custom motorcycles ever published. I've heard rumor this book is so cool, many other writers in the industry are angry because there's nothing left to say on the subject. That could be because we found page after page of fun historical facts about choppers, irreverent and often funny writing and in-depth interviews with all the major players who've made the custom motorcycle scene pop over the past 50 years.
A brilliant foreward from Easyriders Magazine editor Dave Nichols who also provided tons ofn source materials is followed by loads of inside information on building choppers, rare behind-the-scenes photos from the Discovery Channel's "Motorcycle Mania" with Jesse "Monster Garage" James and some absolutely mind-blowing, full-color spreads of choppers that could make your mouth water (and bank account shrink!) Hats off to whomever decided to inclide reprints of old 1960s chopper parts ads - the clothes are very funny! Not only the best book on choppers but THE ONLY comprehensive chronicle of this uniquely American art form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars absolute dreck, Dec 3 2003
By 
mark mcdonald (Connecticut, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Choppers (Hardcover)
This book is god-awful, plain and simple. Anyone who knows anything about seate's alleged "journalism career" understands how much he knows about motorcycles, and would avoid it like the ebola virus. sadly, you can actually learn more about choppers from watching the discovery channel--and that's not saying much.
there's nothing new in the book. It's a marginalized version of stuff that's already been done, and done much better. it's a cheap attempt to cash in on the recent mainstream popularity of choppers and is chock full of historical inaccuracies, lame generalizations and overall weak writing. off hand, I can name 10 people who could have written a better version of this book...some of them could have done so in a coma.
this is a great book fr groupthink moron's who need to be convinced that their softail is a chopper, or that they're 'hardcore' or 'old skool', and all the 'bro'-mosexuals who use these terms in regular conversation, get all leathered up on weekends and pretend they're one-percenters at the dairy queen. it's the perfect holiday stocking stuffer fr the "bikerless biker" in yr life...you know the guy, 20 harley tee shirts, chain wallet...but no motorcycle. trust me, he'll love it, and swallow every word as truth. he might even high-five you with his fingerless gloves on. yee freaking ha!
it's really a terrible book, and I'm actually ashamed to have taken the time to read it.
mcd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killer old school and new cutting edge choppers, April 15 2003
By 
"tbear160" (Elizaville, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Choppers (Hardcover)
...Recognized by their long forks and chopped frames, choppers have found new appeal among today's motorcycle enthusiasts and continue to inspire motorcycle customizers around the globe. Choppers takes a unique look at these classic pieces of twentieth century Americana.
Written by experienced motorcycle writer Mike Seate, CHOPPERS provides a comprehensive look at how choppers originated and evolved and what has fueled the current resurgence of interest in building and riding custom motorcycles. Early chapters explore the post-World War II bob job Harleys that predated the chopper. Interviews and historical photos detail the development of the chopper from its earliest days, through the outlaw longbike period of the 1960s and 1970s, to the twenty-first century chopper renaissance.
There are a plethora of vintage photos from the 60's through today by renowned photographers Guiseppe Roncen and Dain Gingerelli as well as a forward by Easy Riders Magazine Editor Dave Nichols. Also features on today's top builders such as Billy Lane, Indian Larry, Jesse James, and "Chopper" Dave Freston amoung others...This book is a treasure for those who love vintage old school and new cutting edge custom motorcycle creations.
TB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old school and new cutting edge choppers inside this bo, April 15 2003
By 
"tbear160" (Elizaville, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Choppers (Hardcover)
CHOPPERS
BY
MIKE SEATE
Recognized by their long forks and chopped frames, choppers have found new appeal among today's motorcycle enthusiasts and continue to inspire motorcycle customizers around the globe. Choppers takes a unique look at these classic pieces of twentieth century Americana.
Written by experienced motorcycle writer Mike Seate, Choppers provides a comprehensive look at how choppers originated and evolved and what has fueled the current resurgence of interest in building and riding custom motorcycles. Early chapters explore the post-World War II bob job Harleys that predated the chopper. Interviews and historical photos detail the development of the chopper from its earliest days, through the outlaw longbike period of the 1960s and 1970s, to the twenty-first century chopper renaissance.
There are a plethora of vintage photos from the 60's through today by renowned photographers Guiseppe Roncen and Dain Gingerelli as well as a forward by Easy Riders Magazine Editor Dave Nichols. Also features on today's top builders such as Jesse James, Billy Lane, Indian Larry and "Chopper" Dave Freston.
This book is a treasure for those who love vintage old school and new cutting edge custom motorcycle creations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unfactual attrocity, Dec 30 2003
By 
"kmp666" (Tool City, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Choppers (Hardcover)
I recieved this book as a Christmas gift, which is the only way it would have made it into my house. It is full of historical inaccuracies, poor commentary, and even poorer analogies by the said author. How this person is even able to get anything published, especially something this awful, is quite beyond me. How about doing some actual research, Seate? I actually felt somewhat insulted by the blatantly piss-poor information this book has to offer. Topical errors and inaccurately placed photoghraphs are the norm for this publication. Now obviously, this is a great book for newbies and yuppies who have no idea how the chopper "subculture" came about, or who think that Jesse James invented the chopper for the sake of Discovery programs, as other reviews of this book have led us to believe. But for us few who know how it really goes down, this book is a heap and a joke, save for a few nicely detailed photos, hence my 1-star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars socio-cultural origins of this strange art form..., Oct. 27 2003
By 
Ryan McNabb (Ooltewah, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Choppers (Hardcover)
This is a really fun and interesting book. Well written, highly literate, very informative, it gives you the skinny on the real origins of these bikes, their place in motorcyle history, and their place in American history (grudging acceptance, in both cases.) Not just for bike lovers, this book would be appreciated by anyone interested in popular culture after WW2, especially the beat/hippy generations: what really happened at Hollister, CA? What's the story behind "Easy Rider" and its influence? Also, for the riders in the audience, you get lots of interesting insights into the mechanics of these bikes: what is the origin of the Wide Glide fork? How did bobbers get their name? Why did these bikes take on the unique look they did? It ends with a look at custom bikes today, which is sort of mandatory, but not as interesting as what led up to them, in my opinion. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars inaccurate, god-awful waste of paper, Jan. 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Choppers (Hardcover)
words cannot describe the utter distain and disgust I felt after thumbing through this piece of garbage. I recieved this attrocity as a christmas present, and only out of pure obligation, removed the plastic wrapping while a well-meaning relative looked on. This embarassment to motorcyclists everywhere, was chock-full of complete inaccuracies and half-truths. I suppose it would be a good addition to your library if you like the idea of people thinking that you're into bikes, even though you've never even sat on a chopper. Let alone, build or ride one. If you're the type of imbecile who would like this book, and then write a positive review about it, then my warning is most likely falling upon deaf ears. I wish more than anything that a negative score was possible with this review, because one star is far too much praise. So thank you Mike Seate, you ruined christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Choppers" a cultural history, April 11 2003
By 
Lobotomy Boy (Crystal, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Choppers (Hardcover)
All too often motorcycle books devolve into long, boring lists of part numbers and degrees of valve timing. "Choppers" avoids this trap. Instead, it provides as much cultural history as it provides mechanical history, if not more. The evolution of this uniquely American form of motorcycle is presented, of course, tracing the American custom from its bobber roots through the elaborate showbikes popular today. But this terrific book also follows the evolution of the culture that spawned these oddly beautiful machines, from the dry-lakes racers who built the original bobbers to the "Easyrider" era long bikes that defined the hippie generation to the celebrity builders of today, people like Jesse James and Billy Lane. The book has great photos, too. This is the most entertaining motorcycle book I have read in years. Way to go Mike Seate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Book About Cool Bikes, Jan. 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Choppers (Hardcover)
I was hoping to find a suitable Christmas present for the two motorcycle maniacs in my life and both my husband and son loved "Choppers1" Packed full of interesting factoids about custom motorcycles and the peopel who build them, this book has become a prominent and permanent part of our coffee table collection. The research is excellent as the author, a respected journalist who has written for Cycle World, Motorcyclist and other enthusiast magazines, unearthed hundreds of rare old chopper photos, some dating back to WWII. A must have for anyone interested in learning about the legendary chopper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Choppers
Choppers by Mike Seate (Hardcover - May 4 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews