Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, The Traveler's Bible
As a high school teacher I am inclined to make "1000 Places.." required reading for every high school senior who is poised to venture forth into the world - at the very least, a must-read for all geography classes! The degree of painstaking research and organization that went into this 1000-page tome is beyond remarkable, and what wonderful prose where the...
Published on Oct. 26 2003 by Star Langlitz

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is there life beyond USA
You can tell that the author is Americian. An extraordinary number of the places to see are in the US. I'd rather a more balanced book that took me beyond places to eat in USA. Give me some substance.
Published on Nov. 23 2004 by Jennifer Hunchak


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is there life beyond USA, Nov. 23 2004
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List (Paperback)
You can tell that the author is Americian. An extraordinary number of the places to see are in the US. I'd rather a more balanced book that took me beyond places to eat in USA. Give me some substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars American heavy in content - skip this, Nov. 6 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List (Paperback)
When I first came across this book, I immediately bought it. Went through it, until I came across the uS/Canada section, when I noticed how probably 1/3 of the book's places were located in the US and that among the '1000 places to see' included some ski resort in Idaho. Save your money, unless you want to learn more about the US (all 183 pages!) The average country had 2- 4 pages, even England/Scotland/Ireland only amounted to 90 pages! garbage. wasted money. one star for all the other content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hello, there is a life outside US too!, Nov. 25 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List (Paperback)
As usual when something is produced in US, then the best aiplane ever is American, American won all the wars or played the desicive role there. I found it condescending that 30% of places to see are in North America. Do kids study history here? Do they know most of the world has older recorded history than States?
Extra minus fo me - book is too heavy on hotels, spas and resorts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, The Traveler's Bible, Oct. 26 2003
By 
Star Langlitz (upstate New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List (Paperback)
As a high school teacher I am inclined to make "1000 Places.." required reading for every high school senior who is poised to venture forth into the world - at the very least, a must-read for all geography classes! The degree of painstaking research and organization that went into this 1000-page tome is beyond remarkable, and what wonderful prose where the author's enthusiasm for each entry of her wide spectrum of choices is both engaging and palpable.
"1000 Places..." is balanced in a way that offers countless possibilities for travelers of all shapes and sizes - and most importantly, for every budget. Yes, there are high priced hotels, but who doesn't dream of these once-in-a-lifetime experiences for special occasions, or when splurging for splurging's sake? Traveling off-season and internet discounts now make these landmark hotels suddenly affordable - and who can't afford dropping into these historical grande-dame hotels for a cup of tea and unparalleled people watching?
From high tea at The Ritz in London, to Montreux's vibrant Jazz Festival, to the unconventional choice of a visit to Calcutta to experience that country's human condition, I praise Ms Schultz for having compiled a Lifelist unlike any other I have ever stumbled upon before, and with all the factual info to get you there.
Perhaps it would make as much sense to suggest "1000 Places" as required reading for my fellow teachers as well as the students we send off with our blessing.
This book is for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1000 Places to See Before you Die, Oct. 22 2003
By 
Edward Vross (Middletown, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List (Paperback)
This is the most comprehensive and interesting travel book I've ever read.The shear number of exciting destinations is overwhelming.I love the fact that contact info is included for every location.It's great that the author has places of interest every style of travel.I recommend it to all who travel or dream of visiting interesting destinations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Jan. 13 2007
By 
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List (Paperback)
What a great idea for a book! Too bad the author hadn't done a little more research. Since I'm Canadian, I can tell you that that section is particularly thin -- Toronto (a cosmopolitan city of 4.5 million people described by the United Nations as the most multicultural city in the world) rates just two mentions, one of which is a hotel apparently chosen at random. Which, of course, makes me wonder about the depth of research for all the other non-American countries she mentions. Abysmal. Unless you're looking for info on the U.S., save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth it, May 3 2004
By 
fungfucius (Lagrangeville, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List (Paperback)
i agree with the reviewer 'tldoran': one star out of 5.
i read about 120 pages of the book, concentrating on the u.s. and hong kong, the two locations i know the most about. and almost everything in these 120 pages are predestrian. one can't help but wonders if the author actually had spent quality time in the places that she wrote about.
again 'tldoran' hit it on the head: so much about restaurants and so little about places that one would love to see before dying.
in all, the title is the best part of the book. it goes downhill from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, but a big disappointment..., Feb. 18 2008
By 
Office Girl (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List (Paperback)
I was initially really excited to check this book out because I love travelling and have done quite a bit in my time.

The first problem? The book is misnamed. It's not really a list of places -- its a list of events, things to try, hotels, restaurants and sites. To me, only those last 3 fit my description of places and even then, I was a little bored by the hotels & restaurants. I mean, fine, some of them are truly noteworthy, but honestly some of the ones listed are pretty pedestrian or should be limited to a city guide. Old Cataract Hotel in Egypt (Agatha Christie fame)? Yes, probably. Four Seasons in Toronto? No.

Also, I really expected to see a list of PLACES. If for some reason you can't come up with a fabulous list of 1000 must-see items I would have been happy with a high quality 100 places, rather than having to bother with the with a boring list of hotels, restaurants, festivals which seem to take up about half of the book.

So it might be ok as a general guide book, but as "1000 Places To See Before You Die"? Ho hum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, July 18 2007
By 
D. Lalonde - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List (Paperback)
As the other reviews have said this leaves much to be desired in countries other than the United States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept but lackluster execution., March 16 2004
By 
David J. Gannon (San Antonio, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List (Paperback)
The problem with publishing a travel guide to the 1000 Places You Must see Before You Die is establishing a fundamental criteria as to what constitutes a "must see" sight. Is it historical relevance? Natural wonder? Intrinsic beauty? World renown? You get the idea.
How you answer that question goes a long way to determining what sort of book you will have. The problem with Schultz's book is that she never clearly addresses that question and, therefore, has aggregated a series of recommendations that, in trying to fit all audiences, never succeeds in fitting any particular audience.
There has been much criticism in previous reviews of her focus on hotels/resorts, restaurants and "obvious" tourist attractions. Obviously, these folks have a very much narrower view of what constitutes a "must see" venue than does Schultz.
This is the factor that drastically limits the utility of this book-in trying to be all things to all people it serves the interests of very few people.
Frankly, it seems obvious to me what is needed is a series of "must see" books based on narrow criteria, such as "The 1000 Natural Wonders You Must See Before You Die" or "The 1000 Architectural Marvels....." or the "1000 Best BBQ Places You Must eat At....", and so on.
Having said all that, this tome does indeed provide, for certain geographical areas (primarily North America and western Europe) a decent generic guide to key attractions along a very wide continuum of choices. That is to say, this would be a good starting point to plan out a trip, but should not be considered a good 'sole source" as a travel guide. If nothing else, it can help you narrow down how you view what constitutes a "must see' venue when traveling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5dced2c)

This product

1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List
1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List by Patricia Schultz (Paperback - May 22 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews