Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars valuable information
I always have this book on hand for quick references. It addresses many situations that I have encountered with my now, two year old son and helped both his father and I get through them effectivly. The only complaints that I have, is like another reviewer, the recipes are lacking and also some things that are highly debatable. For example; the breastfeeding not being...
Published on March 15 2006

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad advice on discipline, tantrums and behavior
This book does an ok job of covering the medical and developmental topics, but let's face it: most questions we all have about toddlers involve behavior! I followed their advice for 6 months, and in retrospect feel that they too frequently make parents feel that we risk harming our toddlers self esteem by setting firm boundaries. In general, I feel their philosophy is...
Published on Feb. 29 2004


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad advice on discipline, tantrums and behavior, Feb. 29 2004
By A Customer
This book does an ok job of covering the medical and developmental topics, but let's face it: most questions we all have about toddlers involve behavior! I followed their advice for 6 months, and in retrospect feel that they too frequently make parents feel that we risk harming our toddlers self esteem by setting firm boundaries. In general, I feel their philosophy is too wimpy. They even say that some kids are just unhappy/grumpy by nature and that you can't do anything about it. I strongly disagree, and after purchasing a few more parenting books, feel that my son is so much happier, communicates with me better, and I enjoy being a mother so much more! There are no right/wrong answers to parenting toddlers, but this book is way too wimpy and submissive when addressing very little people with big opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars valuable information, March 15 2006
By A Customer
I always have this book on hand for quick references. It addresses many situations that I have encountered with my now, two year old son and helped both his father and I get through them effectivly. The only complaints that I have, is like another reviewer, the recipes are lacking and also some things that are highly debatable. For example; the breastfeeding not being usefull after a year. However, I do believe that they mean if your toddler is breastfeeding very frequently, they are not getting enough of the esstential calories and high fats that toddlers need for growth until age two.
I would recommend this book to smart parents who can take advice and have an open mind, and use the information alongside their own instincts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Comprehensive---but Lacks an Easy Access Topic Format, March 9 2004
By A Customer
My wife and I feel that the WHAT TO EXPECT TODDLER YEARS belongs in every new parent's library along with the other 2 books in the series. They have truly been our "parenting bibles." There is a great deal of useful information in this comprehensive reference guide about 1's, 2's and 3's, and we especially like the medical advice offered. However, we are sometimes disappointed when we attempt to quickly look up insight and answers to specific behavioral questions that continue to pop up with our 2 and 3 year-old daughters. Since the chapter format is organized by months of age instead of topics, we sometimes become frustrated searching for the guidance we need at the moment scattered under different months of age. Additionally, when we do find the information, we often want more depth and more tips to try for each misbehavior. However, we do realize that no one book can have it all-even one with over 900 pages! Recently, my wife found a very helpful pocket-guide in her OB's waiting room, called appropriately- THE POCKET PARENT. It is filled with hundreds of sensible quick-read bulleted suggestions to many of the behavior concerns that we have with our children. "The Pocket Parent" is published by the same publisher (Workman) and is exclusively written for parents of 2's, 3's, 4's, and 5's. The many topics are in an A-Z format, sprinkled with a good dose of compassion and humor that we find helpful and comforting. This totally up-beat book does not preach (no should's or dont's) and is a great little companion for the more encyclopedic "What to Expect Toddlers". "The Pocket Parent" recognizes that the parents are the real experts with their children. The authors suggest that each parent filter the advice through their own personalities and parenting styles and select those strategies that seem to be a good fit for their family. It addresses such common concerns as Bad Words, Bedtime, Biting, Fears at night, Gimmes, Lying, Morning "Crazies", Separation Anxiety, Sibling Rivalry, Tantrums, and Whining . I found myself chuckling as a read some of the brief anecdotes (many specifically about dads) that I coincidently just encountered with my own kids. Both of these reference guides continue to ease our anxieties and frustrations while building the confidence necessary to make good choices as parents. We highly recommend both of these books for your home library to refer to again and again especially when you're in need of some sensible information or just a caring verbal hug that everything is going to be OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Info, May 11 2004
By A Customer
These books are nice for first time parents. Nice to have general information to use. Great for a baby shower gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent advice, poorly organized, Jan. 20 2004
By A Customer
The advice in this book is helpful, but it is very poorly organized. The month-by-month approach works for pregnancy and the first year, but not for the toddler years. In almost every answer there is at least one "(see page xxx)" - I find myself flipping all over the place looking for the answer to a specific question. And the book seems very repetitive. But they do cover a lot of topics fairly thoroughly, so I do use it, I just feel a bit frustruated doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yet another great book in this series, Sept. 18 2003
Although what to expect when your expecting is my favorite of this series. I thought this book was wonderful. It help you understand ages and stages and isn't OPINIONATED like some others. It has more than one doctors point of view so you don't feel like it has to0 be one way or the other. I am not a fan of the Dr.Sears way of parenting and this book is a good alternative to that. I think this book is more open minded and less do it this way and that's it.
I highly recommend this book. I understand it doesn't cover EVERYTHING but no book will. Not unless it's the size of an un abriged dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought It For My Wife, Aug. 12 2003
By 
D. Hansen "crichton007" (Riverton, UT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book for my wife and she loves it. We don't own a bunch of these type of books but have found it to be full of very useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good reference book, May 14 2003
By A Customer
The advice is paranoid and overly cautious at times, but in general it helps to answer most questions while validating the feelings of what it's like to be inexperienced at parenting. The dietary advice is completely unrealistic however - although scientifically correct, it's extremely idealized and strict. Everyone knows toddlers don't eat that way so you shouldn't feel guilty when they don't follow the Best Odds Diet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Help For Those Of Us Who Need It, Dec 27 2002
By 
Aileen (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
I really like this book. It starts at 13 months and goes all the way up to a little over 3 years old. From 13 months to 3 years old, it tells what your toddler should be doing, and when they most commonly start doing it. Whatever questions you may have about raising your toddler (and I know that a lot of you, like me--a first time mother, have a lot of questions about raising your toddler that neighbors, friends or relatives don't have the answers to!). There are also other topics such as toilet training, first aid do's and don'ts, discipline techniques, and special sections for parents who adopted their kids and for fathers, too! If you are the parent of a toddler, and would like some answers to your questions, this is the book to buy. I liked it so much, I gave a copy to my mother (yes I know she has some expertise in that area, but I just wanted to be on the safe side--raising kids in the 2000s is a lot different than raising kids in the 1970s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have a toddler, you need this book!, Dec 14 2002
By 
M. Nicholas "colin_and_aidans_mama" (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I own all the books in this series ("What to Expect While You Are Expecting," "What to Expect the First Year" and this one), and they are a life-saver! They cover any and all topics for having and raising children and I don't know how I would survive without them! I have owned several other types of these books in each of these categories, but none of them are as good. I would highly recommend them to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What to Expect the Toddler Years, 2nd edition
What to Expect the Toddler Years, 2nd edition by Heidi Murkoff (Paperback - Nov. 22 2009)
Used & New from: CDN$ 5.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews