Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it is
If you already know a lot about management and/or business in general, don't bother. Little specific to photography is in here. I am a majager and have a degree from ASU's business college, so this wasn't all that helpful. If your background isn't like mine, or you need a refresher though, this may be an excellent title for you.
Published on April 29 2002 by B. Summer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too general for a starter like me
It's a good read but one might not get much out of the whole book. With a little research on the internet, this book renders useless; besides, the advices are very dated. Try E R Lilley's book better.
Published on Nov. 6 2003 by Thomas J. Wu


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it is, April 29 2002
By 
B. Summer "gandalfstormcrow" (Phoenix, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you already know a lot about management and/or business in general, don't bother. Little specific to photography is in here. I am a majager and have a degree from ASU's business college, so this wasn't all that helpful. If your background isn't like mine, or you need a refresher though, this may be an excellent title for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too general for a starter like me, Nov. 6 2003
By 
Thomas J. Wu "TJ Wu" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Start a Home-Based Photography Business, 4th (Paperback)
It's a good read but one might not get much out of the whole book. With a little research on the internet, this book renders useless; besides, the advices are very dated. Try E R Lilley's book better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars don't bother, Sept. 18 2002
By A Customer
This book has little in specifics for a photography business. It does have lots of basic common sense advice about home businesses in general. For example, he tells you to check in the yellow pages to see who your competition will be. Also, you can get some of his information for free, such as the tax regulations from the IRS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well Organized & Written, Nov. 25 2001
By 
Nancy Corliss (Williamsburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This book is well organized and written. It was a quick read and he covered everything in simple terms that even the budding pro could follow. My only complaint is that he spent a lot of time detailing bookkeeping & resource systems that are all done by hand and there was little advice on computer assistance. Also, he focused mostly on freelance stock photography (which is what most home-based photographers would be doing) but more info on studio work would have been helpful for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Photography Business Guide, June 1 2001
By A Customer
In my opinion, being a photographer is easy but being a professional business photographer is difficult because I don't have enough experience in this type of field. But after reading this book, a lot of questions that I had in mind have been answered clearly and concisely. The book is packed with information that I need to know for setting up a photography business at home. The topics about Business Planning, Financial Management, Legal Aspects, Taxes, Business Development, Marketing and Promotion, etc. are very informative. This book is recommendable to all beginners and professionals in business photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3aa6978)

This product

How to Start a Home-Based Photography Business, 4th
How to Start a Home-Based Photography Business, 4th by Kenn Oberrecht (Paperback - Dec 1 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews