Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOTS OF PICTURES!
What makes a good book about hamsters? Lots of PICTURES. And this book has plenty! Cute little dwarfies smiling, dancing doing back flips, playing basketball and being cuuuute! Photographs, not just drawings. I think the best part of it is that only sick or injured hamsters are drawn. That way you never get to see an actual hamster in bad condition. Photos of...
Published on Jan. 9 2002 by Chispi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Out-dated and General with Some Useful Information
I own four of Sharon Vanderlip's books and this was the first one I read. I soon realized that she often repeats the same information in each of her books which range from the subjects of dwarf hamsters, mice, guinea pigs and chinchillas.This just shows how general she is with a lot of her information. She doesn't seem to have much experience on caring for all of these...
Published 2 months ago by DianaBanana


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOTS OF PICTURES!, Jan. 9 2002
By 
Chispi (from the beach) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dwarf Hamsters (Paperback)
What makes a good book about hamsters? Lots of PICTURES. And this book has plenty! Cute little dwarfies smiling, dancing doing back flips, playing basketball and being cuuuute! Photographs, not just drawings. I think the best part of it is that only sick or injured hamsters are drawn. That way you never get to see an actual hamster in bad condition. Photos of animals that have been injured can be disturbing, especially for dwarf hamster-obsessed people like me. There are like 4 or 5 drawings only, and LOTS of photos. Tons! I love this book!
Even though it's pretty thin, this manual is close to complete. It focuses on the eveyday pet owner, not just on breeders. There are not too many home remedies, it mostly recommends taking your pet to the vet. The section on recuperating a lost hamster is smart. Valuable information. It doesn't go too technical but it tells it just like it is. No kiddie speak. Also, most of the hamsters pictured are gray, just like my own Campbell's dwarf. That has made the book so much more enjoyable. There's a section on how to distinguish between 4 types of dwarf hamsters.
Get this book! You will want to eat it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dwarf Hamster Manual- For Pet Owners and Veterinarians, Dec 2 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dwarf Hamsters (Paperback)
Dwarf Hamsters -A Complete Pet Owner's Manual- by Dr. Sharon Vanderlip, provides all of the essential information required to select, purchase, understand and care for this interesting group of pocket pets. The organization is clean and easy to use as a reference. Well-structured, readable tables present information on their taxonomy, biology, health care, reproduction and genetics. It is filled with good photos and illustrations. Of particular value to hamster owners, and veterinarians alike, is the advice given on how to gather the proper information and observations that will be necessary if a pet owner needs to seek veterinary care for their dwarf hamster. This compact, but information packed, book will be useful not only to pet owners, but for anyone involved with the housing and care of these species. It is an extraordinary value and written to be appreciated by first time hamster caregivers, pet fanciers, and by veterinarians.
Phillip T. Robinson, MS, DVM, DACZM
Director, VeterinaryReview.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of information, Aug. 30 2002
By 
This review is from: Dwarf Hamsters (Paperback)
This has been a very helpful book, explaining a lot of our hamster's behavior and helping us to care for her better. The only reason it doesn't get five stars is that, once in a while, it leaves you hanging. For example, it explains the potential problems with various types of bedding material, but never comes right out and says which is best. Still, it's well worth getting, even if it's not perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Out-dated and General with Some Useful Information, Sept. 28 2014
This review is from: Dwarf Hamsters (Paperback)
I own four of Sharon Vanderlip's books and this was the first one I read. I soon realized that she often repeats the same information in each of her books which range from the subjects of dwarf hamsters, mice, guinea pigs and chinchillas.This just shows how general she is with a lot of her information. She doesn't seem to have much experience on caring for all of these and the knowledge she shares is quite theoretical.
In this book, I found the layout to be a little random. The sequences of information did not go well with my thought-process. There also seemed to be little correlation between the visuals on the page and the information in that section.
On a positive not, however, there is a very valuable section at the beginning of the book where she discusses the different species of dwarf hamsters and their classification under Kingdom Animalia. Other than this, her description of the species characteristics was not completely accurate.
To any buyers out there, I encourage you to do research on a more up-to-date source. A lot of what she says is no longer practiced by hamster enthusiasts and it's up to you to sift through this book, picking out the false bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dwarf Hamster Manual- For Pet Owners and Veterinarians, Dec 2 1999
This review is from: Dwarf Hamsters (Paperback)
Dwarf Hamsters -A Complete Pet Owner's Manual- by Dr. Sharon Vanderlip, provides all of the essential information required to select, purchase, understand and care for this interesting group of pocket pets. The organization is clean and easy to use as a reference. Well-structured, readable tables present information on their taxonomy, biology, health care, reproduction and genetics. It is filled with good photos and illustrations. Of particular value to hamster owners, and veterinarians alike, is the advice given on how to gather the proper information and observations that will be necessary if a pet owner needs to seek veterinary care for their dwarf hamster. This compact, but information packed, book will be useful not only to pet owners, but for anyone involved with the housing and care of these species. It is an extraordinary value and written to be appreciated by first time hamster caregivers, pet fanciers, and by veterinarians.
Phillip T. Robinson, MS, DVM, DACZM
Director, VeterinaryReview.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on Dwarfs, Aug. 6 2002
By 
Christina Yeganeh (Columbus, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dwarf Hamsters (Paperback)
I wanted to hug this book, the pictures of the Dwaf Hamsters are so cute and cuddly. I really enjoyed reading about how to tame you Hammie, breeding, and personality. Its so cool that Dwarfs have their own book all about them, this is the only book you'll need, u have to get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dwarf hamsters, Aug. 20 2001
By 
miss r r hughes (Bristol, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dwarf Hamsters (Paperback)
This book is well written and ideal for new and experienced pet keepers alike. I have kept hamsters for 14 years and I found lots of helpful hints in this book, the section 'understanding your hamster' makes for an enlightened read. I can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hamsters Rule, Sept. 24 2000
By 
This review is from: Dwarf Hamsters (Paperback)
Hamsters are without a shout of a doubt my favorite animal of all time, and this book gives you so much information on this specific breed of hamster. With high-res pictures and easy to comprehend material, this book is very delightful. Get it if you love hamsters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Dwarf Hamster book available!, Oct. 28 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dwarf Hamsters (Paperback)
I've read several dwarf hamster books but this is the one I keep coming back to for a reference, and for fun. The author is knowledgable and offers lots of good info on these little creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK!, Jan. 27 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dwarf Hamsters (Paperback)
Great info and pictures.A really good author and the book was awesome. I would recommend it to anybody. A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ I give it high fives all around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dwarf Hamsters
Dwarf Hamsters by Sharon Vanderlip (Paperback - Sept. 1 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews