Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome... totally awesome
This book is absolutely packed with almost everything a language student could need. As it lists, there are five hundred one verbs, all arranged alphabetically throughout the book. It lists each verb in its seven simple tenses (present indicative, imperfect, past absolute, future, present conditional, present subjunctive, and imperfect subjunctive) and its seven...
Published on Dec 23 2001 by Pike Athens

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO ACCENTS!
Although this book covers in a thorough manner the various tenses and moods of most Italian verbs, it suffers from a serious flaw. Unlike Spanish, which has definite rules for marking the accent when it doesn't fall on the penult (the second to the last syllable), Italian has no such rules. In the case of the antipenult (third from the last) or the fourth from the last...
Published on Nov. 30 2001 by J. K. Bonner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO ACCENTS!, Nov. 30 2001
By 
J. K. Bonner "book addict" (Tujunga, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 501 Italian Verbs (Paperback)
Although this book covers in a thorough manner the various tenses and moods of most Italian verbs, it suffers from a serious flaw. Unlike Spanish, which has definite rules for marking the accent when it doesn't fall on the penult (the second to the last syllable), Italian has no such rules. In the case of the antipenult (third from the last) or the fourth from the last syllable, there is no way for the user of this book to know if these syllables are stressed. I recommend that in the next edition of this work that the authors indicate the stressed vowel using a bolded vowel. Consider the indicative present tense of the verb: abitare (to live, to dwell).
abito abitiamo
abiti abitate
abita abitano
Since I don't have the capability to bold the vowels for this review, I can only point out that for the following three forms, abito, abiti, and abita, the accent is found on the antipenult. In the case of the form, abitano, the accent is found on the fourth from the last syllable.
This accent distribution holds for several other verbs as well, e.g., desiderare, indicare, etc.
There is absolutely no way for the user of this book to have a clue where the accent falls.
P.S. If anyone is interested in this, I just completed a grammar of the Sicilian language entitled Introduction to Sicilian Grammar. Since Sicilian verbs also share the problem of determining on which syllable the accent falls, I bolded the accented vowel to indicate proper pronunciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome... totally awesome, Dec 23 2001
By 
Pike Athens (the coast of California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 501 Italian Verbs (Paperback)
This book is absolutely packed with almost everything a language student could need. As it lists, there are five hundred one verbs, all arranged alphabetically throughout the book. It lists each verb in its seven simple tenses (present indicative, imperfect, past absolute, future, present conditional, present subjunctive, and imperfect subjunctive) and its seven compound tenses (present perfect, past perfect, past anterior, future perfect, past conditional, past subjunctive, and past perfect subjunctive). It has a page on pronunciation of Italian vowels and consonants, and then it goes into talking about how to conjugate the verbs. It begins with showing how to conjugate regular verbs, following this with the Italian translations of each tense's and mood's name. An example conjugation of an English verb is then shown to help illustrate what each tense means. After this comes further explanation of the verbs' tenses and moods, in which it deals with each of the fourteen given tenses. It simplifies the regular conjugation endings after this by showing what is taken away and added to each infinitive for each tense. Then finally come the five hundred one verbs, each one with at least two example sentences to help the reader understand its usage. Afterward comes a section on verbs which take a preposition, a list of phrases in Italian for dealing with everyday situation, days, months, how to count to 100, currency, weights, measures, temperatures, and clothing measurements. Lastly come two indices dealing with the verbs: first the index about irregular forms commonly found in the language, matching them with the verb from which they are inflected; then comes the index of English-Italian verbs as a cross-reference. This is an awesome choice to not be overlooked. Glancing through the book every so often will help to increase your vocabulary, and if you stick to a plan of learning so many verbs a day/week, you'll be learning them even more quickly. It's a simple and awesome book that any student or teacher would enjoy and appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars There are better alternatives, Oct. 29 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 501 Italian Verbs (Paperback)
This book contains 501 verbs + 1000 which are conjugated in the same way. It doesn't indicate if a verb is regular or irregular and you don't know in which tenses an irregular verb is irregular. If you think that these limitations are OK, I think that Harrap Italian Verbs is a better choise than this book, it is pocket-sized and contains 2800 entries (> 200 is fully conjugated). The best book I have seen for verbs is "Bescherelle Les Verbes Italiens", it is written in simple french, it contains 8000 verbs and all irregular forms are indicated in red, it also contains useful grammatical notes. A normal dictionary is much more useful for verbs than 501 Italian verbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best for Beginners, May 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 501 Italian Verbs (Paperback)
This guide got me through my first year of Italian studies, with almost all of the verbs (and definitely all the tenses) I needed for basic composition and conversation. Certain verbs are missing, and the names of the tenses are in English (all students I know learn the names of the tenses in Italian; I had to read the guide in the beginning of the book to figure out what I wanted). This book worked through Beginning Italian I & II, but a more comprehensive guide is needed for Intermediate levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable tool, Nov. 17 2001
By 
curiosity (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 501 Italian Verbs (Paperback)
Beginners will find this book constantly useful. More advanced students will refer to those pesky irregular verbs which they seem not to use quite often enough to memorize. The content, layout and fonts are well designed for fast reference. A wealth of indices is provided to extend the book's reach, and these should be consulted before concluding that the book does not have your verb, particularly the index "One Thousand Italian Verbs Conjugated like the 501 Model Verbs."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute essencial, March 26 2002
By 
Leopoldo Farias (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 501 Italian Verbs (Paperback)
This is absolutely a must-have tool for anyone learning Italian. It is well organized, clear, comprehensive and much easier to use than a conventional dictionary. It quickly became an everyday helper for my homework. I recommend it to everybody studying Italian, besides it the price is very low. Considering this, the value of the book is amazingly high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Completo, June 20 2002
By 
Wallace V. French III (Boston MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 501 Italian Verbs (Paperback)
The definitive guide to Italian verbs. If you are taking Italian lessons and need a book on Italian verbs I don't think you can find another as comprehensive as this. It's like the old TV commercial "verbs-this is all we do and we do it well." Keep in mind this is a reference book for Italian verbs and not a reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 501 Italian Verbs review, March 13 2001
By 
Cristina Tiberi (Niagara Falls, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 501 Italian Verbs (Paperback)
I have the first edition but either way this book is AWSOME!! Very useful and handy whenever you're in doubt about any verb conjugation in Itlaian. I recommend this refernce book for anyone across the line from professionals to students or to anyone who wants to brush up on grammar skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, Jan. 13 2012
This review is from: 501 Italian Verbs: with CD-ROM (Paperback)
This book outlines in easily understood language the fundamentals of Italian verb structure and gives hundred of examples. It is a well thought through handbook for the ITalian language learner and very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

501 Italian Verbs: with CD-ROM
501 Italian Verbs: with CD-ROM by Vincent Luciani (Paperback - Jan. 1 2007)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 15.87
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews