Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading!
Searching for God's plan for your life is an integral part of maturing now as it was for the teens in Lauraine Snelling's A Dream to Follow. Norwegian immigrant, Thorliff Bjorklund yearns for college and a writing career, yet his father sees a more practical future for his son. His father's dream is for Thorliff to take over the family farm.
Elizabeth Rogers has...
Published on Feb. 20 2002 by Christian Bookshelf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hurry up with the next book!!!
I'm not sure why this series is called "RETURN to Red River," Thorliff doesn't LEAVE the Red River Valley until the last 10% of the book. The plot jumps back and forth between Thorliff's family/friends in Blessing, and a girl named Elizabeth in Minnesota who wants to be a doctor, despite her social-conscious stepmother's desires. She meets Thorliff at the end...
Published on Oct. 10 2001 by Anna M. Vandenhazel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading!, Feb. 20 2002
This review is from: Dream to Follow, A (Paperback)
Searching for God's plan for your life is an integral part of maturing now as it was for the teens in Lauraine Snelling's A Dream to Follow. Norwegian immigrant, Thorliff Bjorklund yearns for college and a writing career, yet his father sees a more practical future for his son. His father's dream is for Thorliff to take over the family farm.
Elizabeth Rogers has always wanted to be a doctor. But before the turn of the 20th century, woman doctors were not accepted. Elizabeth is determined and knows this is the path she is to take, but why so many obstacles?
Snelling alternates between the comfortable rural family life of Thor and Elizabeth's more sophisticated upper class atmosphere with ease. We are given many insights into Minnesota farm living and rural life as well as the life of a family in a more urban setting in the late 1800's. Snelling's writing is very simplistic and although she may not have intentionally aimed it at young adults, it would certainly appeal to teens who are searching for God's plan for their life.
This book displays how God's will for our lives may not be as clear cut as we would hope and that we must continually seek him and have faith in His plan.
--- reviewed by Robin for Christian Bookshelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dream To Folow, Sept. 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dream to Follow, A (Paperback)
This was a very good book, a great way to continue on the Red River series. It was very easy reading. I had a hard time putting it down and wanted to know if Thorliff would ever be allowed to attend college. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hurry up with the next book!!!, Oct. 10 2001
By 
Anna M. Vandenhazel (West Valley City, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream to Follow, A (Paperback)
I'm not sure why this series is called "RETURN to Red River," Thorliff doesn't LEAVE the Red River Valley until the last 10% of the book. The plot jumps back and forth between Thorliff's family/friends in Blessing, and a girl named Elizabeth in Minnesota who wants to be a doctor, despite her social-conscious stepmother's desires. She meets Thorliff at the end of the book when he gets a job with her father's newspaper.
Info for fans of the other 6 books: there is one death of a long-time character, and 2 of Thorliff's friends get married and go west. The people introduced in "Blessing in Disguise" (book #6) are not mentioned at all, but based on the reviews, maybe they won't be missed much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Continuation!, Oct. 18 2001
This review is from: Dream to Follow, A (Paperback)
I loved this next books about all the wonderful characters of Blessing. I was so excited to be able to read more about the characters and can't wait for the next one to come out. One of the major scenes towards the end of the book was definitely a tear jerker though. I was thrilled with most of the developments, but I would have liked to at least hear from the characters from Blessing in Disguise and hear how Augusta was getting on in South Dakota.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet., Feb. 26 2003
This review is from: Dream to Follow, A (Paperback)
This book is very sweet and makes you think. It is different than what I usually read as far as romancs go, but very good and well-written. For different reasons I liked it as much as my top reads of late--Fantasy Lover by Kenyon and Anything, My Love by Cynthia Simmons. Sweet, fun stories you don't want to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars series, May 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dream to Follow, A (Paperback)
Lauraine is a very good story teller, interesting details of the lives of the early settlers from Norway to North Dakota
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring..., May 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dream to Follow, A (Paperback)
Being of Norwegian descent, I was immediately interested in this series. This series is supposed to depict the lives of the Norwegian settlers, but OMG, it is such a boring read!!! I had to force myself through the first series, but only because I spent good money buying it. It didn't captivate my attention, nor was I engrossed in the characters and their relationships. Lauraine Snelling just isn't my style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love It, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dream to Follow, A (Paperback)
Lauraine Snelling is an excellent writer about early North Dakota and the early
Norwegian emmigrants and their lives. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream to Follow, A
Dream to Follow, A by Lauraine Snelling (Paperback - May 1 2010)
CDN$ 16.99 CDN$ 12.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews