Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Reunion
IT WAS SO NICE TO READ WHAT ALL THE PEOPLE FROM THE SHUNNING ON UP THRU THE SERIES, HAVE BEEN UP TO. THIS IS A GOOD READ IF YOU HAVE BEEN READING THE BOOKS IN ORDER. I FELL IN LOVE WITH ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE BOOKS AND AM VERY GLAD THAT BEVERLY HAS PUT THEM ALL IN ONE BOOK SO WE CAN KEEP UP WITH THEM. I ESPECIALLY
LIKE KATIE & DAN.
Published on Oct. 25 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars When's the next sequel?
While it's great to find out more about the characters of 6 previous books, none of the 3 sections seem finished. "Hickory Hollow" is about Dan & Katie Fisher's marriage; it sometimes focuses on other characters, but ends without really finishing the story,and the book never returns to those people (i.e., will Katie and Dan be allowed to visit more freely...
Published on Dec 16 2001 by Anna M. Vandenhazel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, May 16 2003
By 
This review is from: October Song:   (Paperback)
This book was great but you need to read her other adult fiction books first. If you read this book first you ruin the plots to the others. I love her style and I now love the Amish. I actually went to Lancaster last summer after reading her books. It was great. I hope she continues writing. I own almost all her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, May 30 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: October Song:   (Paperback)
When I first saw this book in the library, I was overjoyed because I love the previous novels that "October Song" is based on. Yet, as I started reading the novel, much to my disapointment, I found that each story was not very complete. The story of Katie and Dan, for example, ended when the plot was finally developing.
I have read many of Beverly Lewis's books and each has its own originality in its atempt to inform readers about Jesus' message and the Amish people. Yet, this was the first book that didn't accomplish either goal.
I am very disapointed to say that "October Song" had a very simple, predictable, and boring plot. I would only recommend this novel to anyone who has read Beverly Lewis's previous stories and would like to learn what happens next with the hope that a real sequel would soon be written and published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Read!, Jan. 23 2002
This review is from: October Song:   (Paperback)
The book seems to tie loose ends as well as continue the stories begun in the books The Shunning, The Postcard, and The Redeption of Sarah Cain. In Hickory Hollow, the first of these warmhearted tales, Katie Lapp is ready to celebrate her first wedding anniversary with her husband Dan. In the midst of this happiness though, lingers the sorrow and shame of her shunning from the Old Order Amish of Hickory Hollow where she and Dan grew up. They have found salvation in Jesus Christ and are active and content in their new Mennonite church. However, the couple is forbidden to visit with family and friends due to the "Bann"- excommunication-imposed on them for going "fancy". Katie's biggest regret is the loss of her relationship with her "Dat"-her father. Can she ever repair the damage done to her family?
In part two entitled Bird-In-Hand, ex-journalist, Philip Bradley, must learn the ways of his new faith, with the help of his wife Rachel and the community. Being originally from New York, this is no easy task. He finds that simply dressing the part and believing in the Church is not enough. He must obey the unwritten code of conduct-the "Ordnung", to prove himself truly one of "the People". After a thoughtless blunder he is determined to prove to the skeptical Moses Raber that he is not just another soul-searching "Englischer"-outsider-but has truly accepted "Plain" living.
Grasshopper Level is the last story in this collection. Sarah Cain must, with the help of her newfound faith, learn to cope with her career and the care of her late sister's five children. Raising the children Amish in an English household has not been easy. The oldest, Lyddie, is preparing for her wedding to Levi King but her fears about the welfare of her younger siblings after her marriage and the shadow of her mother's death loom over the happy couple.
The book is a delight. Each story holds you to the end and all end happily yet realistically. They give the reader an insight into a fascinating and often misunderstood way of life, It is fast paced and filled with optimism and good Christian wisdom. The characters are well developed and there is a sense of being right there with them in peaceful Lancaster County, riding horse and buggy amidst the changing autumn colors. Although you can read these stories without having read the others in the series (I did), if you plan to read the other novels, save this book for last so as not to spoil the story.
--- reviewed by Rachel for Christian Bookshelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars When's the next sequel?, Dec 16 2001
By 
Anna M. Vandenhazel (West Valley City, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: October Song:   (Paperback)
While it's great to find out more about the characters of 6 previous books, none of the 3 sections seem finished. "Hickory Hollow" is about Dan & Katie Fisher's marriage; it sometimes focuses on other characters, but ends without really finishing the story,and the book never returns to those people (i.e., will Katie and Dan be allowed to visit more freely with their Amish families and friends?). "Bird-in-Hand" centers on Phillip Bradley's attempts to please his Amish neighbors; the man giving him the most trouble has barely become civil to him when the story is over! In "Grasshopper Level," Sarah Cain-Ford asks Katie Fisher to sew new clothes for her Amish charges; I'd really like to see them develop more of an acquaintance. There really should be another book, because all 3 sections pretty much SCREAM for more information!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The continuation of three series/books stuffed in one cover!, Nov. 21 2001
By 
Bonnie McKinzie (Garden Grove, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: October Song:   (Paperback)
I would definitely rethink my rating if Beverly Lewis had made each part another whole book, especially about Katie and Dan. They certainly deserve another sequel to continue the Shunning series. As for Philip and Rachel from Postcard/Crossing fame, another book surely is coming. The last part of this book brings back Sarah Cain. While her story is mostly about her new family of children, the author does manage a nice little twist by showing us the heart of Sarah now and combining characters from more than one past series/book. I think there is more in the offing. At least I can hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Reunion, Oct. 25 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: October Song:   (Paperback)
IT WAS SO NICE TO READ WHAT ALL THE PEOPLE FROM THE SHUNNING ON UP THRU THE SERIES, HAVE BEEN UP TO. THIS IS A GOOD READ IF YOU HAVE BEEN READING THE BOOKS IN ORDER. I FELL IN LOVE WITH ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE BOOKS AND AM VERY GLAD THAT BEVERLY HAS PUT THEM ALL IN ONE BOOK SO WE CAN KEEP UP WITH THEM. I ESPECIALLY
LIKE KATIE & DAN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I could'nt put it down!!!, Oct. 18 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: October Song:   (Paperback)
I read the book in 1 night! It was nice revisiting with Katie, Sara and Lydia. I just wished there was more to Katie's story: like what happened to Benjamin and did Katie's parents welcome her back. There HAS to be a sequel to this. I hope Beverly Lewis is already working on one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb235e804)

This product

October Song:  
October Song:  by Beverly Lewis (Paperback - Oct. 1 2001)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 11.54
Usually ships in 9 to 10 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews