summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars7
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 9, 1999
Out of all the 4 books in the Seasons of the heart Series by Janette Oke, I can guarantee that Spring's Gentle Promise holds the PROMISE of an awesome book. I have traveled along with Joshua Jones, the main character of the story, throughout his whole life. Through tragedy and disappointment to happiness and joy. In this last book Josh goes through some really hard times. From the love of his life falling for his best friend, to the death of his best friend. But with the bad comes the good and Josh finds himself a beautiful wife, a loving family and a future as a prosperous farmer. I guess it is like they always say, life is never boring for some because just when his dreams are developing Josh and his new family are struck with a devastating blow, a drought that nearly puts them on the streets. All they can do is trust in God to get them through. In conclusion, I would just like to say that you must read this book! Heck! Read the whole series, they are all fantastic books! Get ready to laugh and cry and pick up this heart warming adventure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 1999
Spring's Gentle Promise. When I hear that phrase I immediatley think of an awesome book that I read. The book is the final book in a series of four books about a boy named Joshua Jones growing into a young man. I loved this book so much because I got to experience the many trials he goes through and the important decisions he makes throughout his life keep me in the can't-put-it-down-mode until the end of the story. Josh finally finds out his purpose in life and even gets a wife. However, when a huge drought comesto stay for years his dreams slip from his fingers. All he can do is to look for odd jobs, ways to sell his things, and pray. I also loved the authors very dexcriptive writing. It painted very vivid pictures in my mind of Josh's life. I loved to see how he courted his wife. I am obviously very romantic. So if you love excitement and romance, pick up this book and enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 1999
I was amazed by the simplicity of this book, yet truly warmed by the sincerity. Oke writes about everyday life without too much nonsense in her story. I enjoyed the characters from page one and could not let go of the book until I was finished. If there is a fifth book to Seasons of the Heart, I would buy it in an instant. Kudos to Janette Oke for capturing everyday life in its complexities and simplicities all at once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 1999
I am 12 and totally in love with all of Janette Oke's books!As we speak I am reading "Spring's Gentle Promise" and I've cried for joy and sadness throughout this whole book! I can't do anything to make you read it but I would recommend it in a second!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2002
If you are a fan of Janette Oke, then you need this book and the others in the series. I have only read this one of the 4 and it ruined it. :) This book is so very powerful, however about the need for family and God. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 1999
I love all of the Seasons of the Heart, but this one is my favorite.Springs Gentle Promise is funny,filled with information, and very touching.I laughed and cried and fell in love with the great story that was so beautifully written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2015
Liked all the books in this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse