Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Could someone please explaine
Ok, not to give anything away, but I've got to have this figured out for me. I've missed something. In the first book The Meeting Place Louise's name is Louise Belleveau, daughter of Jacques Belleveau, with two brothers Eli and Philippi. Now it the last book Nicole delares her mothers name to be Celeste Louise Evangeline Brassard, before marrying Henri Robichaud, and...
Published on March 22 2003 by BonnieJean Wiebe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars confused
I have thoroughly enjoyed this series. It has been totally captivating, but one thing I can't understand. How can John Price's older half-sister (Louise Robichaud), be the same age as his daughter, Catherine?! Can someone halp me on this one? Other than that, it was a wonderful book. I can't help but feel somewhat let down that something like this slipped by the proof...
Published on Dec 30 2002 by C. Jurjevich


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Could someone please explaine, March 22 2003
This review is from: Beloved Land, The (Paperback)
Ok, not to give anything away, but I've got to have this figured out for me. I've missed something. In the first book The Meeting Place Louise's name is Louise Belleveau, daughter of Jacques Belleveau, with two brothers Eli and Philippi. Now it the last book Nicole delares her mothers name to be Celeste Louise Evangeline Brassard, before marrying Henri Robichaud, and the letter from Charles states that (Celeste) Louise's mother had three children and only one lived to adulthood being Louise herself. Did I miss something? Information on her mother dieing seems to be know before the deportment of the Acadians according to the Charles' investigation, though her mother was on the boat with her which is when the investigator says there is thereafter no further information.
The other thing I can't figure is where Uncle Guy comes from. He is Guy Robichaud in TBL, appearing to be Henri's brother, but then it seemed in TMP Henri was an only child, though not stated. And in The Sacred Shore it says: "He (Henri) slowed and waited for Louise's brother to hurry over. Henri had always liked Guy."
Although another reviewer missunderstood that Celeste was actually the name of two different characters, first the name of John's father's first wife but also the part of Louise's name. They missed the fact that she was named after her Grandmother, thus confirming her decent from John's half-sister.
All this said I found the entire Acadia series gripping, inspirational, challenging and it sparked a desire for a closer walk with God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I hope there will be more..., Nov. 9 2002
By 
J. Peterson "jenpeterson" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beloved Land, The (Paperback)
I have enjoyed this series since the beginning. This was a wonderful book. Finally, everyone is back together. Andrew has been sick, so both girls make journeys to see their parents. Anne comes from England with her husband, and Nicole comes from Massachusetts with her fiance.
Nicole is still looking for somewhere to call home, since she doesn't feel like she belongs anywhere. Anne has found a home, but is looking for something to do to help people.
The book is well written and moving. You can't help but feel for these families who mean sooo much to eachother. The mystery that is solved at the end brings it all together.
Hopefully, there is another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 5th book...still want more, Oct. 30 2006
This review is from: The Beloved Land #5 (Hardcover)
This is a great series and this 5th book does answer some questions and then creates more at the same time. I want to know more, what happens to "little John", where do they all live, the birth of the new baby, do they make it back to England? what happens to the family? I really hope that there is another book in the series that will answer all of these. I do not want to create my own ending in this very well written and inviting series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars confused, Dec 30 2002
By 
C. Jurjevich "cp-68" (atmore, alabama United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beloved Land, The (Paperback)
I have thoroughly enjoyed this series. It has been totally captivating, but one thing I can't understand. How can John Price's older half-sister (Louise Robichaud), be the same age as his daughter, Catherine?! Can someone halp me on this one? Other than that, it was a wonderful book. I can't help but feel somewhat let down that something like this slipped by the proof readers and editors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Historically Inaccurate, but a good book., May 10 2004
By 
Meg "Livin la vida loca in Maine!" (Presque Isle, ME, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beloved Land #5 (Hardcover)
I probably notice the history content more then I should due to my schooling, but other then that, the book was pretty good. I felt this book was meant to tie up all the loose ends that had come about in the other books from the series. At times this book can come across preachy, but that's just my opinion. I liked this book, but enjoyed the others more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His niece, not his half-sister, Jan. 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Beloved Land, The (Paperback)
Please read more carefully. John Price's half-sister was the mother of Louise Robichaud. Louise therefore is his niece, making her first cousin to Catherine.
I've very much enjoyed this series. They have portrayed great faith without being preachy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His niece, not his half-sister, Jan. 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Beloved Land, The (Paperback)
Please read more carefully. John Price's half-sister was the mother of Louise Robichaud. Louise therefore is his niece, making her first cousin to Catherine.
I've very much enjoyed this series. They have portrayed great faith without being preachy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beloved Land, Oct. 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Beloved Land, The (Paperback)
Janette Oke is an incredible writer. She seems to just pull you into the world she creates in her books. I have read everything she has ever written and sit on pins and needles waiting on the newest of her works. Thank you Janette
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beloved Land, The
Beloved Land, The by Baker Publishing (Paperback - Oct. 1 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews