Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Showcase Of Learning Visual Basic...
This book is the showcase for learning Visual Basic. Comes with Blow to Blow action to give the reader a better understanding to writing code.The topics are designed to give you a heads up view, and have fun learning about Visual Basic. After reading this book, I'm convinced it's ranked in the top 5 for learning this subject.The author relays great tips for starting out,...
Published on Oct. 8 2002 by Neil W. Fisk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Introductory Knowledge Only
This book is very good if you have -ZERO- experience with programming in Visual Basic. Keep one thing in mind, though - Do not think that this book alone will get you where you need to be to be able to program effectively. This book does a great job of introducing the program, but it lacks the ability to get you up and running like many other books I purchased for...
Published on July 7 2000 by dantan98


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Starter Book, July 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Visual Basic 6 For Dummies (Paperback)
I used this book, and found it very helpful to begin writing vb code. The only drawback is that it is of course covers only the basic stuff with very little background info. If you want to get started in VB, I would suggest this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First Visual Basic book, Oct. 22 2002
By 
Darrell Nungester (Floyds Knobs, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Visual Basic 6 For Dummies (Paperback)
When I was trying to make the upgrade from Visual Basic 4.0 to Visual Basic 6.0, this was the first book that I bought. This book is very easy to read and there are ample examples to illustrate each principle that the author is trying to teach you. I combined this books with the 4 "Learn to Program Visual Basic" books by John Smiley to give me a solid foundation in Visual Basic 6.0. The cartoons in this book will reduce down the stress of trying to learn something new.
Now that I am moving into .Net technology, I really appreciate how good this book was for people who have little or no experience with Visual Basic. This should be your first Visual Basic 6 book. By the way, Visual Basic 6 and the legacy source code that goes with it will be around for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Showcase Of Learning Visual Basic..., Oct. 8 2002
This review is from: Visual Basic 6 For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is the showcase for learning Visual Basic. Comes with Blow to Blow action to give the reader a better understanding to writing code.The topics are designed to give you a heads up view, and have fun learning about Visual Basic. After reading this book, I'm convinced it's ranked in the top 5 for learning this subject.The author relays great tips for starting out, and sets the stage for more advanced topics in other books to "leap frog" your way into developing your own applications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, some parts in wrong order., Jan. 15 2002
By 
Kha (Hilliard, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Visual Basic 6 For Dummies (Paperback)
I own the VB 6 version of this book. I thought that overall it was great; the book offers excellent examples, esp. with the CD enclosed, it's kind of funny, in a corny sort of way, and it does a good job of explaining things in easy-to-understand english. This book is divided into two sections; the first explains how to make interfaces, and the second explains how to write the code that make the interfaces work.
Unfortunately, at the end of the first section, the author gradually slides into using a lot of BASIC code. Granted, BASIC is the only way to make some of the user interfaces, and he uses good examples. However, the author seems to have forgotten an important detail, that almost by default, the reader does not have much previous experience in BASIC. Thus, it can make things somewhat confusing when attempting to understand the construction of the menus AND deciphering the code.
In many examples later on, the author simply says something like, "In order to make so-and-so type of box, you'll need to use this..." and follows the screenshot up with several or more lines of code, without really explaining what any of the code does. Except for this apparent lapse in logical order, the book is otherwise great. Chapter 14 begins with "the basics of code", which is odd, since a lot of code had already been covered in Chapter 13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Starting Point, May 31 2001
By 
"cm364smg" (Greenville, SC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Visual Basic 6 For Dummies (Paperback)
For any beginner, this book is great. If you have no clue what BASIC is and don't know the difference between a module and a procedure, this book is great.
Although this probably won't get you at the expert level, it is a great beginning for anyone. It is much simpler than Microsoft's documentation and will definitely get you off on the right foot if you want something easy to start you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars mediocre book don't buy it until you have VB 6.0 installed, April 27 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Visual Basic 6 For Dummies (Paperback)
The book is below average as far as instruction andlay-out. Worst of all you still need to shell out for the EDUCATIONALVERSION of VB 6.0. SAVE YOUR MONEY -skip this one and get a book, atthe local community college.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.. not bad at all., March 19 2001
This review is from: Visual Basic 6 For Dummies (Paperback)
I picked up this book with only a minimal amount of self-taught QBasic education from around 10 years ago. I've just finished it, and only have a couple quirks:
It makes mention a few times to "More Visual Basic for Dummies", a book that doesn't exist for VB6.
I ripped through the first 28 chapters or so, breezing through it thanks to the nice, plain english, sometimes funny, or at least mildly humerous writing (the variable name examples are great)... then it started to bog down. Classes, Modules, Procedures, Objects.. all kinda mish-mashed together.. it looks like he was writing till the day after his deadline and needed to finish his outline.
Other than these two half-issues.... The book is great... now I have a great understanding of the very basics of VB, and can start with one of the more advanced books, like SAMs, or MS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Foundation, Feb. 17 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Visual Basic 6 For Dummies (Paperback)
I'm actually learning how to program with this book as we speak (i'm working on a program) and this book has been of great help, but for specific reference this book is not for you. As mentioned before, if you are an ABSOLUTE beginner (never touched or designed anything on the computer and have absolutely no taste in design whatsoever) this book is outstanding, personally i've designed interfaces before using HTML and such so that part of the book prooved useless to me, but the rest of it (its all about the code!) is great, buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Total Beginner, Dec 28 2000
By 
Glenn (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Visual Basic 6 For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a great book for the total beginner to Visual Basic. It assumes you know nothing. To the people that wrote stuff like "this book was ok, but it only had the basics" - then buy a book that wasn't intended for beginners! This was written for the TOTAL beginner, it starts at the bottom and explains things in a very simplistic fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best book for beginning, Oct. 25 2000
This review is from: Visual Basic 6 For Dummies (Paperback)
this is the excellent, the excellent book for a person who have never touched programming, although after reading it you can not design a perfect program, but it provides strong basis for you, this book may be of little help to those who are already familiar with programming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visual Basic 6 For Dummies
Visual Basic 6 For Dummies by Wallace Wang (Paperback - Sept. 4 1998)
CDN$ 32.99 CDN$ 20.68
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews