Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Beginnings
After reading so many of these book reviews and wondering if they were accurate, it's time to contribute, help others and affirm that reviews regarding this book are indeed accurate.
While I resented buying anything that says ..."for dummies" on it and have absolutely avoided doing so in the past, I must say that when I got my hands on this particular...
Published on July 5 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for a quick tutorial
This book is fine for the casual user of Crystal Reports. It has good examples and directs the reader firsthand through some of the really tough topics, like drilldown and cross-tab reporting. While it is an excellent introductory book for the novice, I really can't recommend the book for a more professional user. The book lacks the depth of content required for such a...
Published on Oct. 3 2001 by nonickjeff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Beginnings, July 5 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Crystal Reports 8 For Dummies (Paperback)
After reading so many of these book reviews and wondering if they were accurate, it's time to contribute, help others and affirm that reviews regarding this book are indeed accurate.
While I resented buying anything that says ..."for dummies" on it and have absolutely avoided doing so in the past, I must say that when I got my hands on this particular dummies book I was pleasantly surprised. While the others are mindlessly verbose for filler, this one is not. The writer sticks to what you really need to get started using this powerful application.
It's was a classic situation: I needed a fast start and had to produce something useful in an unreasonably short timeframe. It worked. I've used this book as the starter and also purchased "a very heavy" book for the advanced work I yet need to do. It's a useful two-pronged approach that works. Thanks to Doug Wolf for some very nice, concise work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tutorial - Goes way beyond the Manual's Tutorial, March 12 2002
This review is from: Crystal Reports 8 For Dummies (Paperback)
If you want a great Tutorial on how to use Crystal Reports 8.0 or 8.5 this is the book for you. Once you get a good feel for the product and you need to delve into more complex reporting needs and scenarios the product manual would be your next step... or other reference books such as CRYSTAL REPORTS 8.5 - The Complete Reference, published by McGraw Hill/Osborne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what it sounds like...a good beginner book, Jan. 27 2002
By 
G. Harris "tekiegreg" (Loveland, CO, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crystal Reports 8 For Dummies (Paperback)
Well this book is just what it professes to be, a book for the people who said "I've got this big program, now what?" It'll get you going on creating your first reports and getting productive on Crystal reports rather nicely and quickly. Especially if you already have reporting tool experience (just as simple as knowing how to use MS Access reporting tool or something else) you'll find it so easy to follow along!
However if you're a power user, such as an Enterprise administrator or developer looking to add Crystal Reports data to your apps this book won't completely satisfy your needs, be prepared to step up to one of the more complete references after you're done with this book. Still though you'll want to start here.
(Just as a side note: the price for Crystal Reports 8.5 the Complete Reference is cheaper here at Amazon.com than anywhere else including shipping).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great for a quick tutorial, Oct. 3 2001
By 
"nonickjeff" (Douglasville, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crystal Reports 8 For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is fine for the casual user of Crystal Reports. It has good examples and directs the reader firsthand through some of the really tough topics, like drilldown and cross-tab reporting. While it is an excellent introductory book for the novice, I really can't recommend the book for a more professional user. The book lacks the depth of content required for such a complex tool as Crystal. The book for that is Peck's "The Complete Guide to Crystal Reports 8". The thing this book really lacks for the casual user is possibly a section on conversion of earlier versions of CR to version 8. Otherwise, it is an outstanding way to dive right in to report building the Crystal Reports way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Update to Crystal Rpts 7, Sept. 20 2000
By 
Rebecca Everett "Manager's Coach" (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crystal Reports 8 For Dummies (Paperback)
Continuing the high standards set in "Crystal Reports 6," Wolf makes fast work of learning and using Crystal Reports. The updates in the books clearly coincide with updates to the software while giving beginners immediately useful tips and tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabb36420)

This product

Crystal Reports 8 For Dummies
Crystal Reports 8 For Dummies by Douglas J. Wolf (Paperback - Aug. 9 2000)
CDN$ 43.99 CDN$ 21.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews