Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Professional Cooking
A great resource. Do not buy for the recipes. They are there but is a more of a very good reference for cooking. I refer to it often. I see how they make a soup and compare to a recipe I might be using.
Published 19 months ago by Sean Murray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I bought this book because Michael Ruhlman, in The Elements of Cooking: Translating the Chef's Craft for Every Kitchen, recommends it, as have other reviewers, as a must-have chef's bible. Personally, after having purchased the book, I was unimpressed. The book is indeed a hefty tome at 1230 pages and 8 pounds but, unfortunately, all that weight doesn't translate into a...
Published on May 23 2011 by C. J. Thompson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Professional Cooking, Jan. 28 2013
By 
Sean Murray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Professional Chef (Hardcover)
A great resource. Do not buy for the recipes. They are there but is a more of a very good reference for cooking. I refer to it often. I see how they make a soup and compare to a recipe I might be using.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great rescource, Aug. 25 2011
This review is from: The Professional Chef (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful resource. One of the best cookbooks. It is not just recipes it is a food education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, May 23 2011
By 
C. J. Thompson "Arctic John" (Pond Inlet, Nunavut Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Professional Chef (Hardcover)
I bought this book because Michael Ruhlman, in The Elements of Cooking: Translating the Chef's Craft for Every Kitchen, recommends it, as have other reviewers, as a must-have chef's bible. Personally, after having purchased the book, I was unimpressed. The book is indeed a hefty tome at 1230 pages and 8 pounds but, unfortunately, all that weight doesn't translate into a lot of substance. Part two of the book is a 110 section entitled 'World cuisines' that purports to discuss the essential characteristics of different national and regional cuisines. In reality, though, this is a topic that can, and does, fill thousands of books and in trying to cover it in 100 odd pages is to inevitably doom the coverage to nothing more than a few brief generalizations. Likewise, in a book that is so clearly founded in classical French cookery, one would have thought that sauces would be extensively covered in some depth. As it is, however, they are accorded the same sort of superficial treatment as was given to world cuisines and, in the end analysis, I would have to say that the old standby, Joy of Cooking, does just as good if not better job for a cheaper price. Sadly, aside from the fact that 'The Professional Chef' is nicely illustrated, this comparison largely holds true for much of the book. When all is said and done, I would have to acknowledge that this is a pretty decent comprehensive book for the novice home cook but to tout it as a bible for professional chefs is to over-hype the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great value, March 31 2011
This review is from: The Professional Chef (Hardcover)
Great value, loads of info on culinary basics. The only drawback is the recipe ingredients are difficult to measure e.g. 362 mls.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, March 23 2011
This review is from: The Professional Chef (Hardcover)
This book makes it feel as if you are in a professional chef course it breasks everything done to hone your skills and gives a bunch of recipes. It helps someone become and avid chef from a basic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A culinary delight !, Aug. 11 2009
By 
This review is from: The Professional Chef (Hardcover)
A fantastic reference. It's not so much a cookbook but rather a book on technique. Excellent for any inspiring chef.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommend, April 21 2009
By 
Dr. Keith W. Wilson (New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Professional Chef (Hardcover)
This is a superb reference for all the 'foodies' out there. It is clearly for those interested in the 'why' and 'how' of cooking.

The basics of food and cooking are clearly explained. Readers are shown how to build on the basics and are presented with a number of creative recipes. This is a significant update to the previous edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must-have, Sept. 12 2008
By 
Nicolas Ky "Battlerager" (Montreal,QC,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Professional Chef (Hardcover)
this is my culinary bible, can't live without it! It can turn any noobs to a pro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent for reference., Aug. 31 2007
By 
S. Hrabok (Calgary, AB CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Professional Chef (Hardcover)
This is a great book, I always use it when I'm looking for some inspiration of new flavors and also to brush up on some techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Professional Chef
The Professional Chef by The Culinary Institute of America (CIA) (Hardcover - Aug. 28 2006)
Used & New from: CDN$ 24.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews