Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good introduction and more...
After completing another introductory chess book I started to read chess for dummies and find it very explanatory. I especially like the fact that the reader is presented the essential chess terms one by one
Published on March 7 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners, but that's it.
This book is good for the absolute beginner. Someone who doesn't even know how the pieces move. There are several chapters dedicated to how the pieces are allowed to move. There are no good chapters on Chess strategy. If you want the basics AND strategy, check out the book "The Complete Idiots Guide to Chess". It's much better overall. One great thing about this book: you...
Published on Dec 14 2000 by Smaug


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good introduction and more..., March 7 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Chess For Dummies (Paperback)
After completing another introductory chess book I started to read chess for dummies and find it very explanatory. I especially like the fact that the reader is presented the essential chess terms one by one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best Chess book., May 30 2003
By 
Gaetan Lion - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Chess For Dummies (Paperback)
A few years ago, I took up Chess. I was looking for a book to upgrade my skill level. I browsed for hours if not days in bookstores in the hope of finding a Chess book I could actually read. You will note that Chess books are written in a strange cryptic language that make the Greek used in PhD level math look like kindergarden blocks by comparison. Finally, after a lot of research I came accross Chess for Dummies.
This is the Chess book you can actually understand, and quickly learn from. You improve your skills by learning a key set of strategies that apply at all levels of the game. Unlike other books, you don't need to memorize the 100 most famous Russian Chess matches before you can play descent Chess.
This book took me as far as I cared to go. I found myself playing descent Chess in rather competitive environments such as the most advanced rooms of online Chess websites, and playing blitzkrieg Chess in public plazas reserved almost exclusively for Chess geeks.
I have since quit Chess. But, I am sure I will pick up the game again. When I do, I will certainly review the Chess for Dummies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners, but that's it., Dec 14 2000
By 
Smaug "Jeremy" (Round Lake Beach, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Chess For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is good for the absolute beginner. Someone who doesn't even know how the pieces move. There are several chapters dedicated to how the pieces are allowed to move. There are no good chapters on Chess strategy. If you want the basics AND strategy, check out the book "The Complete Idiots Guide to Chess". It's much better overall. One great thing about this book: you don't need a chess set to follow along, nor do you need to know any sort of chess notation. Every lesson has diagrams so you can follow the lessons with JUST THE BOOK! I'm at the point in my chess career where I'm reading higher-level books, but I still reread this one in spare time occasionally. I also lend it to people who *might* be interested, or people who know the moves, but don't know how to implement them. This book is good because you can get through it in a few days, and be better off for it. Just realize that it is aimed at beginners and you won't go wrong with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chess For Dummies helps me a lot!, Aug. 7 2007
Ce commentaire est de: Chess For Dummies (Paperback)
This is, by far, one of the most comprehensive Chess Manual books I've ever read! All the basic and advanced moves are shown in here, as well as some very good strategies and tactics. On top of that, it also shows great websites and matches about chess!

I'd definitely love to recommend it to all the chess players around the world, because it helps me a lot in improvement!

Thanks, bye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the FIRST TIME Player: But Not the Best, May 18 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Chess For Dummies (Paperback)
James Eade is a very solid chess player and a great teacher. I have played him three times in the US Open, and I have kibitzed with him a few times. Eade has a great knowledge of the game of chess, and that was why I was suprised that his beginners book on chess was far less than great.
This book, although acceptable for beginners, is inferior to the Complete Idiot's series on the game. Eade only touches extremely basic principles, and neglects important subjects such as tactics.
Do not buy this book if you have the option of buying Wolff's book- and definentely do not waste your money buying both of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but there are better choices, Aug. 30 2001
By 
Paul Martin (Albuquerque, NM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Chess For Dummies (Paperback)
This isn't a bad book. It's just that there are so many books in this category which are so much better. The most obvious comparison is to The Complete Idiot's Guide to Chess, by Patrick Wolff. Wolff's book, like so many others, is so much better than this one that one wonders why this one is still in print.
The book is well written and entertaining. I enjoyed the cartoons, which begin every chapter, a fixture of the Dummies series. The material is accessible to the beginner. On the other hand, this book only takes you so far, and I was left very unsatisfied.
Eade's biggest mistake is to delay presentation of chess notation until Appendix B, at the very end. This means that the notation is not available anywhere in the book as a means of presenting more material in the pages available to him. The result is a book with lots of pictures, and the reader doesn't have to spend a lot of time visualizing the moves or taking out a chess set. On the other hand, it really limits the amount of material Eade can present. Other authors have managed to surmount this challenge in books without notation. Bobby Fischer's book certainly comes to mind. Unfortunately, Eade never overcomes the limitation he has placed on himself. As a consequence, he presents the material very well but runs out of space before he can move to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best introductory book to the royal game., June 3 1998
By 
David Dathe (Milwaukee, WI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Chess For Dummies (Paperback)
James Eade's Chess for Dummies is a book I wish had been written 30 years ago when I started playing chess. Packed with valuable information, you can save literally years in your chess development by studying the topics contained here. Even seasoned tournament players can use the text as a refresher in chess basics. Eade shows master-level understanding of the royal game as he explains not just the movement of the pieces and the basic rules, but also the importance and uniqueness of the three parts of the game--opening, middlegame and endgame. Other topics explained in easy to understand language include: tactics, sacrifices, mates and strategy. Eade also explains how chess players think in chapters such as Pattern Recognition and in subsections such as Planning. Anyone who studies this text and practices at a local chess club will soon be out of the beginner class and ready for tournament play. The reader will have a firm foundation for further study into that game that puzzles, challenges and fascinates players of chess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a doorstop ..., Dec 13 1999
By 
A.J. Goldsby I "A.J.G." (Pensacola, FL (U.S.A.)) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Chess For Dummies (Paperback)
What is your goal from chess? Do you want to have fun? Do you want to beat the club pro? Or would you just like to beat that loud-mouthed, bragging neighbor? What you want out of the game should largely determine what you buy. If you really want to get better, then buy a specific book on the the phase of the game that you want to improve on. The material in this book is fair to good. A rank beginner could learn something from this book, but that person would probably have to work hard to do so. I have a slight problem with the way this book is laid out. For instance, the Chapter on the openings entitled, "The Opening: First Things First," is chapter 10 and starts on page 155! Some positive things about this book is it has lots of explanations and pictures. (Diagrams.)If you are familiar with IDG books, and like their work, (XXXX for Dummies)you will probably be satisfied with this book. If not, then don't pin all your hopes on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for aspiring tournament players, too., April 8 1997
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Chess For Dummies (Paperback)
You can't ask for much more from an introductory book on chess. Mr. Eade combines informative but lighthearted instruction with the easy-to-read format of the Dummies books. I recommend Chess for Dummies as the first stop for any novice who wants to play with a friend or who wants to beat the local "know-it-all" who relies on tricks instead of on principles. Because of its high quality, however, Chess for Dummies is also good for players with U.S. Chess Federation ratings up to 1600, because Mr. Eade constantly repeats the ideas that lead to victory. The only addition I would like to see--and it may have been left out to avoid scaring off beginners--is a bibliographical essay or bibliography broken down by category (openings, middlegames, collections, etc.) of books for different levels of chess players. Jeremy Silman provides such a list in his How to Reassess Your Chess, 3rd ed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Well Written Book With Limited Information On Chess, Aug. 23 1998
By 
Craig A. Perkins (Chantilly, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Chess For Dummies (Paperback)
I had not picked up a chess piece for more than ten (10) years so I was looking forward to reading this book as a "refresher course" in chess. I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED.
While a very well written book (a rarity in chess literature) the information is confusingly presented and not nearly has helpful as "The Idiot's Complete Guide To Chess."
My wife is a complete novice and she began reading this work so we could play chess together. She became so confused that she gave up reading this text in frustration. Therefore, I warn chess beginners that this book may not be the expected panacea.
This work does have an excellant discussion of chess terms and a history of the top chess players with a list of these players best games.
My apologies to you people who loved this book, but unfortunately I was very underwhelmed by this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chess For Dummies
Chess For Dummies by James Eade (Paperback - Sept. 2 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews