Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars informative
great for someone who is interested in learning a variety of card games. very comprehensive and detailed information. Anyone should be able to read and play with ease after reading the section that they are interested in
Published 12 months ago by Jacy Walker

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely confusing for beginners
Simply put, this is absolutely one of the worst instructional books I've read. If you know nothing (or next to nothing) about card games -- like I still don't after reading this book twice -- avoid this very confusing book.
Let's look at an example. The following is taken from the first page of the chapter on Hearts:
"The game [Hearts] revolves around...
Published on April 4 2001 by Gadgester


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars order came fast, June 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Card Games For Dummies (Paperback)
was impressed by the quickness of the order and it came with all my other orders of that day cant wait to read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars informative, July 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Card Games For Dummies (Paperback)
great for someone who is interested in learning a variety of card games. very comprehensive and detailed information. Anyone should be able to read and play with ease after reading the section that they are interested in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely confusing for beginners, April 4 2001
This review is from: Card Games for Dummies (Paperback)
Simply put, this is absolutely one of the worst instructional books I've read. If you know nothing (or next to nothing) about card games -- like I still don't after reading this book twice -- avoid this very confusing book.
Let's look at an example. The following is taken from the first page of the chapter on Hearts:
"The game [Hearts] revolves around tricks. In a trick, everyone takes turns playing one card. Whoever plays the highest card in the suit led (the suit of the first card played) picks up all the cards played. The person who wins the trick leads anything he likes from his remaining cards to the next trick, and the process repeats itself until all the cards have been played."
I simply could not understand this paragraph no matter how many times I read it, until I consulted a friend good at Hearts. This is typical of the arcane writing throughout this book. It's simply not easy for a dummies. In fact my friend was totally lost when he read this paragraph. The way he described it to me was just so much clearer.
The book does cover a wide range of card games. Unfortunately it does a very poor job at teaching you how to play these games. Often the author discusses strategies without even explaining what things are and what the rules are, leaving you totally clueless and obfuscated.
I haven't read a book as frustrating as this one in a long time. I highly recommend you stay away from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars omgggg now i actually have a chance to win at crazy eights!! xoxoxo, March 6 2011
This review is from: Card Games For Dummies (Paperback)
omg i read the section about crazy eights like 10 times and finally i think i have a chance to win!!! thank you so much for this book, crazy eights made no sense b4!! i could never get past 8 it was just too too hard!!!! i think i was just playing against someone really really good at it but now i think i have a chance to win!!!! crazy eights for life!!! xoxoxoxoxoxoxo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An overall look at some great games, May 20 2000
By 
Joseph Dewey (Orem, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Card Games for Dummies (Paperback)
This book has some fun games! It has popular games like Hearts, Rummy, and Cribbage. It also has games that I have always wanted to learn how to play, like Euchre and Canasta. In all, the book discusses over twenty games.
The layout of the book is a discussion about games. Even if you have felt confused before in reading through card game rules, this book is an excellent introduction to playing card games. It goes over everything that happens in the game, from the rules, to strategy and tips, to history of the game-a fascinating book.
Because it goes in-depth into each of the games, you will not find one place in the chapter that has a concise list of the rules. The rules are scattered throughout the discussion of the chapter. I found it useful to check a book of rules from the library to read along with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, March 31 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Card Games for Dummies (Paperback)
This book covers the basics for understanding simple to hard card games. Having a baptist upbringing and being an only child I've missed out on learning how to play card games. This book is very easy to understand and now when I play card games on the computer like Hearts, I now know how to win. The rules for card games have been updated to what average people now currently play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool!!!!!!!1, Feb. 7 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Card Games for Dummies (Paperback)
get this book!!!!! it rules!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Card Games For Dummies
Card Games For Dummies by Barry Rigal (Paperback - Oct. 7 2005)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews