Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another sci-fi yarn
If I didn't know Walter Hunt personally, I would wonder what kind of deranged mind could conjure up not just one, but at least two entirely alien races, complete with their own unique mythologies and philosophies. But I do know Mr. Hunt, and I know that these aliens have inhabited his imagination for many, many years, perhaps since his high school days.
Drawing on...
Published on Feb. 26 2003 by M.H.Bloom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great . . . Except for the Ending
For the first 95% of this book, I would have to say it is one of the most entertaining sci-fi books I have ever read, and very well-crafted. The end, however, was a total disappointment. It was as if the author suddenly got tired of writing and had to tie up some loose ends in the last 25 or so pages (King's "The Stand" comes to mind in this regard). Even...
Published on Dec 6 2003 by Gauffroi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another sci-fi yarn, Feb. 26 2003
By 
M.H.Bloom (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dark Path (Hardcover)
If I didn't know Walter Hunt personally, I would wonder what kind of deranged mind could conjure up not just one, but at least two entirely alien races, complete with their own unique mythologies and philosophies. But I do know Mr. Hunt, and I know that these aliens have inhabited his imagination for many, many years, perhaps since his high school days.
Drawing on his expert writing techniques -- he has been writing at least that long -- he draws these aliens for us readers with such meticulous care that we experience them exactly as he sees them, full of foreign emotion and consistent motivation. He has not taken leave of his senses. Rather, he employs them with art and skill. His human characters inhabit a world that rings as true as any that a hard-core science fiction reader can find published today. The depth of detail, the intensity of emotion, and complexity of his plots involve the reader so completely that comparison seems ludicrous. While he might have many influences, the prose that Walter Hunt writes is inimitably his own.
The Zor are winged bipeds whose culture blends hard science with a spirituality as real to them as their daily meals. They communicate not just by words, but by gestures whose very meaning is lost on most humans. Over eighty standard years have passed since the Zor Wars (see Mr. Hunt's first novel THE DARK WING), and they are now staunch allies of the human empire. But even as the two species remain at peace, prejudice and distrust lurk among the human population, while confusion and misunderstanding dwell among the zor. Yet this merely serves as the backdrop for THE DARK PATH. The action comes fast and furious, involving a new, perhaps unbeatable threat. And Mr. Hunt leads us on a journey with a female protagonist who redefines the role women should play in our own future.
This is not just an adventure story; it is a saga, an epic. Mr. Hunt captures the essence of Homer's THE ODYSSEY and places it in the distant future, where Faster-Than-Light travel is possible and humans reach out to explore an unknown (and perhaps unknowable) universe. Like THE ODYSSEY, this is a book fraught with implications for today's very real world of political and military turmoil. That makes THE DARK PATH, in my humble opinion, a classic that will endure.
A superbly written book, THE DARK PATH engages our senses with an undeniable, yet totally foreign mysticism. This is not last we'll hear of Walter Hunt. Quite the contrary. This is only the beginning, and I for one wait helplessly hooked for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delightful military science fiction, Feb. 7 2003
By 
This review is from: The Dark Path (Hardcover)
The war between the birdlike Zor and humanity is over with the two species now at peace. Still not everything is idyllic in the galaxy. Known for their psychic ability, the Zor panic when the High Lord dreams of a nightmarish assault from the feral species residing in the racial memory of his people as demons. Also two human vessels have vanished and a rescue effort to save the missing crew fails.
On the Cicero Naval Base, Commodore Jacqueline Laperriere and her XO Ch'K'te the Zor learn that the "demons"(aliens) have used their powers to change shapes to infiltrate the outpost. The Vulh with their mind control abilities and their talent to phsyically mimic anyone including a commander and an XO have arrived. The only hope for mankind is Jacqueline, but her superior thinks otherwise, while the Zor believes she is the reincarnation of the legendary Zor hero Qu'u, here to defeat the Vulh if she can find the ancient weapon that succeeded once before.
THE DARK WING was an exciting war of the worlds that showcases a new talent in the military science fiction category. THE DARK PATH is a better tale as Walter H. Hunt provides incredible depth to the interspecies relationships yet never loses sight of the action expected by sub-genre readers. The story line is superb because the audience obtains a stronger understanding of the Zor, better insight into how humans relate to this species, and introduces in flaming red terror the Vulh. Obviously the military crowd will enjoy this thriller, but outer space sci fi fans will appreciate the novel too,
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delightful military science fiction, Feb. 7 2003
By 
This review is from: The Dark Path (Hardcover)
The war between the birdlike Zor and humanity is over with the two species now at peace. Still not everything is idyllic in the galaxy. Known for their psychic ability, the Zor panic when the High Lord dreams of a nightmarish assault from the feral species residing in the racial memory of his people as demons. Also two human vessels have vanished and a rescue effort to save the missing crew fails.
On the Cicero Naval Base, Commodore Jacqueline Laperriere and her XO Ch'K'te the Zor learn that the "demons"(aliens) have used their powers to change shapes to infiltrate the outpost. The Vulh with their mind control abilities and their talent to phsyically mimic anyone including a commander and an XO have arrived. The only hope for mankind is Jacqueline, but her superior thinks otherwise, while the Zor believes she is the reincarnation of the legendary Zor hero Qu'u, here to defeat the Vulh if she can find the ancient weapon that succeeded once before.
THE DARK WING was an exciting war of the worlds that showcases a new talent in the military science fiction category. THE DARK PATH is a better tale as Walter H. Hunt provides incredible depth to the interspecies relationships yet never loses sight of the action expected by sub-genre readers. The story line is superb because the audience obtains a stronger understanding of the Zor, better insight into how humans relate to this species, and introduces in flaming red terror the Vulh. Obviously the military crowd will enjoy this thriller, but outer space sci fi fans will appreciate the novel too,
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great . . . Except for the Ending, Dec 6 2003
By 
Gauffroi (Rock Island, Il United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dark Path (Hardcover)
For the first 95% of this book, I would have to say it is one of the most entertaining sci-fi books I have ever read, and very well-crafted. The end, however, was a total disappointment. It was as if the author suddenly got tired of writing and had to tie up some loose ends in the last 25 or so pages (King's "The Stand" comes to mind in this regard). Even assuming that this was not the real ending (i.e. there will be a sequel) it wasn't a customary pre-sequel ending, keeping the reader in suspense on what might happen next -- it just kind of fizzles out. I just found it odd in such an otherwise wonderful piece of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great storytelling!, Feb. 10 2003
By 
This review is from: The Dark Path (Hardcover)
Set in the universe that Hunt introduced in "The Dark Wing", "The Dark Path" is the first book in a larger story (that will take at least a couple more books to complete, I guess), and Hunt has me hooked!
Like "Dark Wing", this is classic space-opera sci-fi of the highest order. The plot is complex and compelling, the characters are well-drawn and sympathetic, and the story is finely crafted and well-paced, combining mystery and action in a way that will keep you in its grip until the final page, and leave you wanting more.
I can't wait to read the next installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Path
The Dark Path by Walter H. Hunt (Hardcover - Feb. 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews