Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last battle, part 1
After twelve books of slow-moving, intricate plotting (and a hefty dose of filler), the Last Battle against the Dark One is here.

So is "Towers of Midnight" good? Oh yeah. Brandon Sanderson and the late Robert Jordan came up with a solid penultimate volume, sprinkled with solid characterization, epic moments, and the occasional discovery that will probably have...
Published on Nov. 2 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book as advertised
The book was in perfect condition. The rating is on the work itself. 13 books for this storyline was wasteful and most of the middle of the series was pointless. But, hey, if you've started a series that catches on why not stretch it and make some money, right? The 1st 3 or so were very enjoyable and full of promise. All that followed were frustratingly empty filler until...
Published 13 months ago by Roland Lytle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last battle, part 1, Nov. 2 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
After twelve books of slow-moving, intricate plotting (and a hefty dose of filler), the Last Battle against the Dark One is here.

So is "Towers of Midnight" good? Oh yeah. Brandon Sanderson and the late Robert Jordan came up with a solid penultimate volume, sprinkled with solid characterization, epic moments, and the occasional discovery that will probably have you bouncing and screaming with joy. It's a rich, fast-moving experience that will leave you on edge for the grand finale.

And yes, thanks for asking -- it IS hard to review this without spoiling too much.

While the previous book was more centered on Rand and his inner turmoil, this one centers on Mat and Perrin -- there are countless intertwined subplots in this one, but the important ones rest on those two. Specifically, Mat has to grapple with the gholam at long last, and Perrin has to work out his issues as well as his wolfish other side.

Tarmon Gai'don is coming, and Jordan and Sanderson really hammer it home that this will not be an easy or quick battle. "Towers of Midnight" has a lot riding on it: not only does it have to build up to an epic grand finale in the next book, but it has to start wrapping up all the important storylines. Does it deliver?

For the most part, yes -- Sanderson doesn't quite capture a few of the characters' personalities (such as Mat), but overall this is a smashing book. Sanderson's vibrant juggernaut prose actually meshes very well with Jordan's intricate, slow-moving storylines. And despite Tarmon Gai'don looming over the characters' heads, there are actually some funny moments (mostly from Mat) and some powerful, riveting ones that seem to leap out from the pages.

Additionally, Jordan/Sanderson deal with some long-running subplots such as "Who killed Asmodean?" And without revealing too much, a favorite character returns after many books, although some unexpected revelations about said character had me scratching my head.

As I said, Perrin and Mat take center stage here -- and while Mat was a bit off in "The Gathering Storm," Sanderson seems to have gotten a grip on his quirky sarcastic personality. And after getting put on the backburner for awhile, Perrin has a strong, action-filled arc in which some kinks are ironed out of his personality.

Actually, pretty much all the characters get at least SOME time, Egwene especially as she keeps grappling with problems in the White Tower. As for Rand, he's a little mixed -- he's finally gotten over his annoying wangst and whining, but he's now a little too mellow. Did someone slip him some pot between books?

With the series back on track and new blood injected into the prose, "The Towers of Midnight" is a powerful mixed experience -- it leaves you craving more, but also dreading the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough, Dec 2 2010
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
Towers of Midnight is the penultimate book in the Wheel of Time and the second to be written by Brandon Sanderson after Robert Jordan's untimely death in 2007. Readers who liked the previous Sanderson-produced WOT volume, The Gathering Storm, will find plenty more of the same to love in ToM.

The action moves along at a good clip and many of the annoying character traits (braid-tugging, skirt-smoothing, sniffing,etc) are toned down or absent. Meanwhile a number of prophecies are resolved, almost at breakneck speed, and there is clearly a sense of momentum gathering in the runup to the final showdown between Rand and the Dark One. Jordan, unfortunately, fell madly love with his work and readers who spent years suffering in between lacklustre installments that hardly moved the plot along should be particularly relieved.

That said, there are some faults which need to be mentioned. From a technical standpoint, Sanderson is hardly the writer Jordan was. His prose drags; it's leaden, repetitive and often downright uninsipired, making for some particularly tedious and awkward passages. Check out the last scene in the prologue and the description of General Ituralde's battle for examples of what I mean.

Also, ToM is extremely Perrin-heavy because his arc was chronologically the farthest behind. Much of it involves dull, Rocky-like training montages set in the World of Dreams and most of the rest sees Perrin and his supporting cast sitting around talking. Some terrific new stuff does happen at the end, but getting there is a slog.

Meanwhile, Sanderson has Mat flirt with hot women - while telling himself that, as a married man, he's only checking them out for his friends - so often that it verges on parody. Equally annoying, the pivotal event depicted on the cover doesn't occur until the very end and is over in a blink. Considering the buildup, I expected more.

The WOT series has never lacked for gaps in logic or myopic characters, but it remains a fun, immersive read. If you're a fan or were a fan who abandoned the series out of frustration, it's definitely time to return - the action is back. If you're a newcomer to the series, now is also the time to jump in. By the time you get through all 14 books, the final entry should be out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, to the point., June 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the way Brandon Sanderson finished off the series. The last three books were great. I look forward to reading more of Brandon Sanderson's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Towers of Midnight, May 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this book for my son who has read the whole series. He really enjoys them and is saddened by Robert Jordan's death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Many epic moments, lots of plot movement., April 24 2014
By 
L. Gilbertson (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can feel the momentum building towards the end, and characters that seemed slightly off in the last book (i.e. Mat) are back in full form. Highly recommended. If you started giving the series a pass, you owe it to yourself to get back in and see it to the end. Quite worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, good series., March 19 2014
By 
Kathi (Calgary, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed the book and enjoyed the series. It was a big time commitment with the length and number of books, but worth it. I felt like I'd left an old friend behind when I finished them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was really good, March 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
been awhile since I picked up this series...but I'm glad I did. Sanderson has done a good job bringing the story to a finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable series finale, Feb. 22 2014
I have read the entire series through the years and I am very glad that Brandon Sanderson was able to complete it with Robert Jordan's ideas and notes.
I enjoyed the final book and it did a good job of concluding many of the sub-plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars felt true to the autheur, Jan. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
the book tie-up the plot lines in a satisfying way. The character where true to their personalities,and the action was believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars finally a well written chapter, Dec 29 2013
By 
Decano (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After struggling mightily against sheer boredom across this saga, I am rewarded with some decent writing. The late Mr. Jordan had a fine eye for plot but a pedestrian pen. Mr Sanderson is a well anointed successor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Towers of Midnight
Towers of Midnight by Brandon Sanderson (Hardcover - Nov. 2 2010)
CDN$ 34.50 CDN$ 21.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews