Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last battle, part 1
After twelve books of slow-moving, intricate plotting (and a hefty dose of filler), the Last Battle against the Dark One is here.

So is "Towers of Midnight" good? Oh yeah. Brandon Sanderson and the late Robert Jordan came up with a solid penultimate volume, sprinkled with solid characterization, epic moments, and the occasional discovery that will probably have...
Published on Nov. 2 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book as advertised
The book was in perfect condition. The rating is on the work itself. 13 books for this storyline was wasteful and most of the middle of the series was pointless. But, hey, if you've started a series that catches on why not stretch it and make some money, right? The 1st 3 or so were very enjoyable and full of promise. All that followed were frustratingly empty filler until...
Published 13 months ago by Roland Lytle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last battle, part 1, Nov. 2 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
After twelve books of slow-moving, intricate plotting (and a hefty dose of filler), the Last Battle against the Dark One is here.

So is "Towers of Midnight" good? Oh yeah. Brandon Sanderson and the late Robert Jordan came up with a solid penultimate volume, sprinkled with solid characterization, epic moments, and the occasional discovery that will probably have you bouncing and screaming with joy. It's a rich, fast-moving experience that will leave you on edge for the grand finale.

And yes, thanks for asking -- it IS hard to review this without spoiling too much.

While the previous book was more centered on Rand and his inner turmoil, this one centers on Mat and Perrin -- there are countless intertwined subplots in this one, but the important ones rest on those two. Specifically, Mat has to grapple with the gholam at long last, and Perrin has to work out his issues as well as his wolfish other side.

Tarmon Gai'don is coming, and Jordan and Sanderson really hammer it home that this will not be an easy or quick battle. "Towers of Midnight" has a lot riding on it: not only does it have to build up to an epic grand finale in the next book, but it has to start wrapping up all the important storylines. Does it deliver?

For the most part, yes -- Sanderson doesn't quite capture a few of the characters' personalities (such as Mat), but overall this is a smashing book. Sanderson's vibrant juggernaut prose actually meshes very well with Jordan's intricate, slow-moving storylines. And despite Tarmon Gai'don looming over the characters' heads, there are actually some funny moments (mostly from Mat) and some powerful, riveting ones that seem to leap out from the pages.

Additionally, Jordan/Sanderson deal with some long-running subplots such as "Who killed Asmodean?" And without revealing too much, a favorite character returns after many books, although some unexpected revelations about said character had me scratching my head.

As I said, Perrin and Mat take center stage here -- and while Mat was a bit off in "The Gathering Storm," Sanderson seems to have gotten a grip on his quirky sarcastic personality. And after getting put on the backburner for awhile, Perrin has a strong, action-filled arc in which some kinks are ironed out of his personality.

Actually, pretty much all the characters get at least SOME time, Egwene especially as she keeps grappling with problems in the White Tower. As for Rand, he's a little mixed -- he's finally gotten over his annoying wangst and whining, but he's now a little too mellow. Did someone slip him some pot between books?

With the series back on track and new blood injected into the prose, "The Towers of Midnight" is a powerful mixed experience -- it leaves you craving more, but also dreading the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, Nov. 12 2010
By 
Stephy (Stony Plain, Ab CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
I loved this book. Featured mainly around Perrin and Mat, but pretty much every character gets some page time. One can't say to much with out giving plot lines away. It's good, it's not slow. Actually it moves pretty fast and you will probably find yourself not wanting to put it down, and at the same time wanting to savour every word as the series is coming to an end. Events will happen that will make you say "finally" and new ones that will have you holding your breath and turning the pages faster. Can't wait for the final book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved every page, every chapter, every minute spent reading!, Nov. 24 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
I don't think I need to say much. I love this series and B. Sanderson is doing a great job of writing in Jordan's place. For an avid reader of the series I don't see much difference in the style of writing. Keep up the good work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough, Dec 2 2010
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
Towers of Midnight is the penultimate book in the Wheel of Time and the second to be written by Brandon Sanderson after Robert Jordan's untimely death in 2007. Readers who liked the previous Sanderson-produced WOT volume, The Gathering Storm, will find plenty more of the same to love in ToM.

The action moves along at a good clip and many of the annoying character traits (braid-tugging, skirt-smoothing, sniffing,etc) are toned down or absent. Meanwhile a number of prophecies are resolved, almost at breakneck speed, and there is clearly a sense of momentum gathering in the runup to the final showdown between Rand and the Dark One. Jordan, unfortunately, fell madly love with his work and readers who spent years suffering in between lacklustre installments that hardly moved the plot along should be particularly relieved.

That said, there are some faults which need to be mentioned. From a technical standpoint, Sanderson is hardly the writer Jordan was. His prose drags; it's leaden, repetitive and often downright uninsipired, making for some particularly tedious and awkward passages. Check out the last scene in the prologue and the description of General Ituralde's battle for examples of what I mean.

Also, ToM is extremely Perrin-heavy because his arc was chronologically the farthest behind. Much of it involves dull, Rocky-like training montages set in the World of Dreams and most of the rest sees Perrin and his supporting cast sitting around talking. Some terrific new stuff does happen at the end, but getting there is a slog.

Meanwhile, Sanderson has Mat flirt with hot women - while telling himself that, as a married man, he's only checking them out for his friends - so often that it verges on parody. Equally annoying, the pivotal event depicted on the cover doesn't occur until the very end and is over in a blink. Considering the buildup, I expected more.

The WOT series has never lacked for gaps in logic or myopic characters, but it remains a fun, immersive read. If you're a fan or were a fan who abandoned the series out of frustration, it's definitely time to return - the action is back. If you're a newcomer to the series, now is also the time to jump in. By the time you get through all 14 books, the final entry should be out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Dec 15 2010
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
This is a real improvement from Gathering Storm, at least in my opinion. An extremely enjoyable read which took me a good 10+ hours to finish. It still lacks the feel of Robert Jordan's works but Mr. Brandon has his own style of writing and that gives a different "flavor". The characters in the story seemed to change from what they were in the previous books (in terms of personality). The author shows more of the feelings and ideas of the characters so it is easier for the reader to sympathize with the characters as it is on a more personal level. The main character Rand, however, seems pretty much unchanged as very little was dedicated in this book to him alone (no part of the story was from Rand's "point of view").

Pros
-Good length
-Author reached equilibrium between defining the details in the world and progression of the story, making this book really fun to read and almost never boring

Cons
-Overall story progression was limited
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Style and movement, Nov. 28 2010
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
ToM is written in Sanderson's style, and not Jordan's. This is probably the hardest reality of this book: even after the previous novel, the reader still desperately looks for the original WoT style without ever finding it. Once we acknowledge this change, we are able to appreciate the actual story. "Towers of Midnight" makes things move and Brandon didn't really have a choice on this matter: with only another book to go, he actually has to start ending this story. All in all, once the reader stops looking for Jordan behind each word, he can appreciate the usual WoT book: a slow start followed by a domino effect of events that lead to the usual epic ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Towers of Midnight, Dec 9 2010
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
The book has not lost the creative and literary ability that Robert Jordan possessed. The transition to Sanderson has worked. Interestingly enought I found the structure was slightly different than previous books, but loved the content, the further character development and imagery that came out. I am impressed more and more by the cultures that they have created and the shifts that they show due to the age that they are in. Especially, the references to the age coming to an end and starting to look like our own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A job well done, Dec 6 2010
By 
Book Worm 73 (Guelph, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
I'm not a big Fantasy fan but I love these books. I was a little concerned when Robert Jordan died that it was the end of the series. I'd never heard of Brandon Sanderson but regardless, how could any auther take over such a work from another? It's a herculean task!

Mr. Sanderson has done a brilliant job in honouring the style and story of Robert Jordan. The story reads seamlessly.

Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brandon Sanderson upgrades his writing skills, Nov. 11 2010
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Hardcover)
Brandon's second book in the series is an excellent read and wraps up a great deal of storyline.There is alot of action and impressive scenery evoked in Towers of Midnight.A must read for new and old Wheel of Time fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, to the point., June 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Towers of Midnight (Mass Market Paperback)
I love the way Brandon Sanderson finished off the series. The last three books were great. I look forward to reading more of Brandon Sanderson's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Towers of Midnight
Towers of Midnight by Brandon Sanderson (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 4 2011)
CDN$ 11.99 CDN$ 10.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews