countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout All-New Kindle Music Deals Store Furniture sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
37
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$28.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 19, 2016
Great book series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2016
Excellent box set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
Top 2 favorite Authors :) Great series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
The Mistborn Trilogy is an amazing work of fiction written by an amazing author. I'm on my second reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
It seems this series is a well known classic in Fantasy, but I never heard of it prior from ordering it. It's been a while since I have been this caught in a story. I usually don't have much time to read, but each 600 page book was read in less than a week.

I loved it. The universe, characters and story are equally captivating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
Good series of books, but the resolution involves some hand-wavery to overcome obstacles. Somewhat like the author wrote himself into a corner and couldn`t figure out what to do. The conclusion to the first novel was much more satisfying than the conclusion to the series, so it is worth at least owning Mistborn out of the three. Got to hand it to Sanderson for a unique magic system, and for following the rules he set out for its use, although perhaps the characters were so overpowered by the end that only a malicious deity was strong enough to challenge them.
I always enjoy when characters are true to the way they have been portrayed, even as they grow and develop, and Sanderson has them making bad decisions for the right (or believable) reasons, so their progress is in line with who they have been portrayed to be. That being said, there is perhaps too much apotheosis for a satisfying ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
Fantastic series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 17, 2015
Mistborn is a very good read; the magic system is original and very different from anything I've read elsewhere, and I've read a lot of sci-fi/fantasy. The characters are compelling, and you find yourself wanting them to succeed. I didn't get enough sleep, many nights in a row during both the initial read and the couple of years later re-read.
In the first book, a charismatic leader gathers a group to over throw a god-emperor, who has ruled the world for at least a thousand years... it gets better from there.
The second book details the consequences of the actions taken in the first book. (Trying not to spoil the story here).
The third book has a lot of background information, which once pointed out fits perfectly and explains things that were a mystery earlier in the series; a lot of pleasant eye opening moments as the book is read.

I really liked a lot of the characters, especially Vin (the protagonist).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
Arrived promptly and in perfect condition. Love the books so far, about halfway through the trilogy. Sanderson quickly becoming one of my favorite authors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
Very good read for Teens/Pre-teens
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse