Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm afraid my walk has become rather sillier recently...", Jan. 24 2002
By 
B-MAN "B" (Earth, occasionally. Until I get bored.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 3 (Season 2) (DVD)
And now...another tediously detailed summary of a Monty Python DVD Set from an individual who has too much time on his hands but is by no means as dull as a chartered accountant. Here are the breakdowns (including episode #s () and individual sketch names). Why? Well, because I'm a nerd.
DVD 5 - (14) Face the press/new cooker sketch/prostitute advert/the ministry of SILLY WALKS/The piranha brothers - (15) Man powered flight/the SPANISH INQUISITION/jokes & novelties salesman/tax on thingy/photos of uncle ted/the semaphore version of wuthering heights/julius caesar on an aldis lamp/court charades - (16) A bishop rehearsing/flying lessons/hijacked plane/the poet McTeagle/psychiatrist milkman/complaints/DEJA VU
Loony Bin extras: Meet the chaps, Pythonisms, Gillianimations, Silly Walk (Live!), Naughty bits, pythonshop.com ad
DVD 6 - (17) Architect sketch/how to give up being a mason/insurance sketch/"The BISHOP"/living room on pavement/poets/a choice of viewing/chemist sketch/police constable pan-am - (18) Live from the grill-o-mat/"BLACKMAIL"/society for putting things on top of other things/escape from film/current affairs/accidents/seven brides for seven brothers/the man who is alternately rude and polite/ken clean-air system - (19) It's a living/the time on BBC1/school prize giving/films by Mr. Dibley/the news/free prizes/Timmy williams interview/Raymond LUXURY YACHT/getting married/ELECTION night special
Loony bin: same as DVD 5 except for - A trivial quest, Gilliam's attic, Monty queries, and Tutor manners
That about sums it up. I know there are no episode titles and probably some other little things included but...well, too bad. If you like extremely geeky summaries like this or you are in fact a large geek, check out my "reviews" for DVD set 1 & 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is what TV Shows on DVD should be, March 1 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 3 (Season 2) (DVD)
It's enough to get the Monty Python episodes, which are hilarious in and of themselves (30 years later, very little has become dated). But the extras take it to a whole new level. 3 or 4 eps on each DVD, funny menus that let you jump to a specific skit if you like, bios of all the members, skits from other eps not on the DVD, skits from "Live At The Hollywood Bowl", did-you-know type trivia (ex. each member appears naked at some point in the run, Terry Gilliam first and Terry Jones most often), and games.
This is a great set to start out with (Spanish Inquisition). Sets 1,2 and 4 are also hysterical.
Let the word go out: This is the model for all other TV shows on DVD (are you listening Star Trek? South Park?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for MPFC fans, or anyone that is a bit mental..., May 2 2000
By 
TC (Virginia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 3 (Season 2) (DVD)
If you are a fan of MPFC, or just appreciate off the wall humor, these DVD sets are a must have. Episodes like "Face The Press" are an excellent way to introduce others into the wonderful world of Python. If you are a firm believer in political correctness, skip anything done by Python, as their work will offend you greatly. But then again, the politically correct are devoid of a sense of humor in the first place, so why would they be shopping in the comedy section?
Hardcore fans and newcomers alike will appreciate the digital sound, because it makes hearing the punchlines possible even through heavy audience laughter. Buy them now! You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, Aug. 17 2000
By 
John (San Francisco, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monty Python S2 Set #3 (VHS Tape)
Well, any Monty Python tape is a classic. This set is no exception. I have also purchased from Amazon the scripts for the Python episodes. The set contains some favourite sketches like the "architect's sketch' and the 'Ministry of silly walks'.This does not mean that out of the three tapes only two sketches are worth mentioning. On the contrary. The set guarantees 3 hours of 'silly laughs' -as the Pythons would put it- and-what's also important- at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Avangardists Of Modern Humour, Sept. 26 2000
By 
Bjorn Clasen (Rollengergronn, Luxembourg, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python S2 Set #3 (VHS Tape)
To this day, Monty Python remains THE idol and source of inspiration to humourists all around. »Monty Python's Flying Circus« made the group famous, and it is the best ever to come out, not only from Monty Python, not only from Britain... but humour in general!
Highlights on this tape: »The Ministry Of Silly Walks«, »The Spanish Inquisition«, »Flying Lessons«/»Hijacked Plane (To Luton)«, »'The Bishop'«, »Accidents Sketch« and »Registry Office«.
Own it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Python!, Feb. 23 2000
This review is from: Monty Python S2 Set #3 (VHS Tape)
There are two types of people in this world: those that find Monty Python as the most brilliant comedy that ever was short of the Marx Bros., and those that see Monty Python as just wierd.
Well, if you're the first type, than you must see these videos. They contain many excellent skits like 'Ministry of Silly Walks' and 'Seven Brides for Seven Brothers'. Basically just all around classic Monty Python
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Palin as the Grand Inquisitor?, May 3 2000
By 
R. Moore "Indy bookie" (Indianapolis, where we used to have a big important auto race) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 3 (Season 2) (DVD)
I am sure the Spanish Inquisition sketch was inspiration for Mel Brooks' "History of the World, Part I." The Ministry of Silly Walks sketch, while very silly, is also screamingly funny. The giant hegdehog haunts my dreams. The gas cooker sketch is every single delivery from Sears and Roebuck. The whole video is delightfully ridiculous. I only wish they were still on the air!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, Nov. 20 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Monty Python S2 Set #3 (VHS Tape)
This is an excellent addition to your Monty Python library. It has great skits, which made me laugh most of the time. To enjoy theese movies, you must be a fan of John Cleese and the rest of the group. I advise buying this as soon as you have the time to fill out the order sheet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe you're even reading this. . ., Dec 3 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 3 (Season 2) (DVD)
BUY IT! BUY IT NOW! DON'T THINK! BUY! THIS IS *MONTHY PYTHON*- YOU'RE STILL READING! STOP READING NOW! HIT "ONE-CLICK" AND GO TO BED! BUY! BUY! BYE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some Classic Python!!!!, July 24 2001
By 
C. Duncan "assbandit" (Toms River, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 3 (Season 2) (DVD)
I think this set is my favorite of them all! Episode #14 (Face the Press) is worth it alone! This is class 'A' material!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 3 (Season 2)
Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 3 (Season 2) by Graham Chapman (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 26.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews