Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python is simply the best!!!
You can't get much better than Monty Python the kings of sketch comedy. Yes some British humor is hard to get as an American but for the most part it is histerical. This set is just as good as the others and I recomend purchasing them all. I love Monty Python so much I named all my pets Eric.
Published on Feb. 13 2002 by Jaha

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous episodes
Although I am a huge Python fan, watching episodes 20-26 felt like a painful excersize in frustration. I waited to be blown away with the brilliant stupid sharp wit of the earlier episodes but instead was presented with -- gasp -- mediocre ideas and canned scripts, many of which went nowhere.
For the best laughs, go for the early stuff. You really can't go wrong...
Published on Feb. 13 2000 by Waleed Abu-Ghazaleh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A sometimes Funny, sometimes Annoying Collection!, Jan. 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
Monty Python's Flying Circus has two sides: one being outrageously funny, and two being some of the most un-funny Skits I've ever seen! On this collection my ABSOLUETE favorites are(in order of Funny): The Killer Cars, The Death of Mary Queen of Scots, An Exploding Penquin on the Telly, and Spam. Don't even look at the others! There so rediculously stupid it almost make me cry! Buy it for the great ones, hate for EVERYTHIN ELSE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python is simply the best!!!, Feb. 13 2002
By 
Jaha (CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
You can't get much better than Monty Python the kings of sketch comedy. Yes some British humor is hard to get as an American but for the most part it is histerical. This set is just as good as the others and I recomend purchasing them all. I love Monty Python so much I named all my pets Eric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best comedy show ever made!, May 23 2001
By 
"madnessmark" (Maple Grove, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
This 2-disc DVD contains some of the best moments in Monty Python (Spam, How Not To Be Seen, Atilla the Hun Show, Hungarian Phrase Book) as well as some that are lesser known (Communist Quiz, Poofy Judges, Crackprot Religions, The Idiot). The menus are very clever. They are a little tough to navigate through, but it's a change from other DVD menus. The extras are enormous! You get Lumberjack Kareoke, BBC sketches, quizes with video rewards, two Hollywood Bowl sketches, image gallery and tons more. However the only part that seems to suffer on this disc is the picture quality. There are tons of noticable fragements and rainbows. The VHS tapes might be a smarter buy in terms of quality, but for everlastingness (is that even a word?) choose the DVDs. So grab this DVD and order in some Egg and Spam, Egg Bacon and Spam, Egg Bacon Sausage and Spam, Spam Eggs Spam Spam and Spam, Spam Spam Spam Spam Spam Spam Spam Spam Baked Beans Spam Spam Spam and Spam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW. . ., Dec 29 2000
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
BUY IT! BUY IT NOW! DON'T THINK! BUY! THIS IS **MONTHY PYTHON** DO YOU REQUIRE MEDICATION TO MAKE DECISIONS?!? YOU'RE STILL READING! WHAT'S THE MATTER WITH YOU?!? STOP READING NOW! TAKE YOUR MEDICATION, HIT "ONE-CLICK" AND GO TO BED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of the Completely Different, June 29 2000
By 
F. Behrens "Frank Behrens" (Keene, NH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
The very first episode of <Monty Python's Flying Circus> was telecast on BBC1 in 1969 and the very last one in 1974. And so it came to pass that the four series of MPFC shows became a legend--and a top money maker for all its spinoffs (LPs, live shows), and future efforts of its 6 lunatics (7, if you count Carol). True Believers can sing every note of the "Lumber Jack Song" and repeat with proper inflections every word of the "Dead Parrot Sketch"--although I doubt if anyone, including Cleese himself, could name all the cheeses in the "Cheese Shop Sketch." Never since "The Honeymooners" has a comedy series gathered such a fanatic following.
Well, by this time in history, A&E has released the first three seasons on tape and DVD. Having already reviewed the first season (which I have on tape), I want to say a few words about the 2nd and 3rd seasons, which I have on DVD. Of course you will find all those classic sketches you love so much (or why else would you be reading this?): Silly Walks, Piranha Brothers, Blackmail, Killer Sheep, Fish License, Travel Agent, Cheese Shop, Lupins, and of course Dirty Vicar. We have yet to have available the fourth, last, series without Cleese (who wanted to quit after the second and get on to other things).
The advantage of the DVD format over the tape is, of course, you can get direct access to almost any sketch you want. Now this is tricky. Each DVD holds three or four episodes. The main menu (which takes forever to set up) leads to a submenu that is quite confusing at first glance. Just keep hitting the select button on your remote and you will eventually see the episode. There is also a choice on the main menu to Play All. It is because of this feature, I am told, that your display will not show the time elapsed or the track you are on during each episode, nor will your on-screen display show the time. If you find how to bring it up, the submenu will give you a list of the major sketches, but you had better take notes.
In fact, I simply kept open my copy of Robert Ross's "Monty Python Encyclopedia" (TV Books, 1997) to keep track of where I was. Still, the format is a lot better than the tapes when it comes to timing but very difficult to fast forward to any desired sketch.
So if you have not yet decided on the format, I would suggest the DVD, especially with the extra bits of information they provide that are not found on the tapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great DVD, May 12 2000
By 
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
There are two kinds of people: those who have seen Mo nty Python and liked it, and those who have seen Monty Python and disliked it, and those who...
There are three kinds of people: those who have seen Monty Python and liked it, those who have seen Monty Python and disliked it, those who haven't seen Monty Python, and those in comas...Four kinds of People
Amongst people, there are those have seen Monty...
Oh never mind, just see the bloody DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python's Flying Circus etc, May 4 2000
By 
jo (Land o' Lincoln) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
Siht si os ynnuf. Ti sekam em tuohs ragluv sginht ot eht nerdlihc! Evig eht ecin elpoep ta nomaza ruoy yenom won! Knaht uoy! Ah ah ah ah ah ah ah (Sorry for that, you may understand it better with aid of a mirror.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Object in the Strongest Possible Terms, Feb. 14 2000
By 
Arthur C. Adams (Laurel, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
Dear Sir,
I wish to protest in thr strongest possible terms your inclusion of this DVD by this Monty Python chap. It is well known that he is considered quite silly and is rumored to have attempted to offend every one on the planet!
And another thing -- why can't you cover the good things on the Internet, like many of the wonderful sites containing the poems of Carlton Vladivostok?
Yours, etc. Brigadier General Sir Charles Uppington Smythe (Mrs.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous episodes, Feb. 13 2000
By 
Waleed Abu-Ghazaleh "tryingtomakesenseofit" (Al-Sharq, Kuwait Kuwait) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
Although I am a huge Python fan, watching episodes 20-26 felt like a painful excersize in frustration. I waited to be blown away with the brilliant stupid sharp wit of the earlier episodes but instead was presented with -- gasp -- mediocre ideas and canned scripts, many of which went nowhere.
For the best laughs, go for the early stuff. You really can't go wrong with Sets 2 and 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "must have" for any Python fan, Jan. 21 2000
By 
S. D. Johnson (La Sierra, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
If you like Python, you need this (and all the other episodes). If you don't know Python, try one of these sets of their episodes, you won't be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 28.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews