Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of the Completely Different
The very first episode of <Monty Python's Flying Circus> was telecast on BBC1 in 1969 and the very last one in 1974. And so it came to pass that the four series of MPFC shows became a legend--and a top money maker for all its spinoffs (LPs, live shows), and future efforts of its 6 lunatics (7, if you count Carol). True Believers can sing every note of the...
Published on June 29 2000 by F. Behrens

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A Warning for Those Who Have Bought Such Sets in Stores
I preface my remarks by stating that the one-star rating I have given this video is not a reflection of the quality of the video itself. Rather, it reflects the quality of the descriptive information provided by Amazon in regard to what the set contains.
Those who have bought boxed sets of Monty Python in stores know that stores sell them with three VHS tapes to a...
Published on Dec 18 2003 by George E Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars A Warning for Those Who Have Bought Such Sets in Stores, Dec 18 2003
By 
George E Harrison (Dillsburg, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monty Python S2 Set #4 (VHS Tape)
I preface my remarks by stating that the one-star rating I have given this video is not a reflection of the quality of the video itself. Rather, it reflects the quality of the descriptive information provided by Amazon in regard to what the set contains.
Those who have bought boxed sets of Monty Python in stores know that stores sell them with three VHS tapes to a box and that such sets are generally displayed on the shelves with the open side of the box facing out. So that the customer can easily tell which tapes are contained in the box, each tape is identified by a Volume number. When you look at the box on the shelf, all you see is the Volume numbers.
The description provided here on Amazon's website indicates that this particular boxed set contains Episodes 20 through 26. Note carefully that nowhere in the description does it mention what Volume numbers the set contains.
I knew that I had previously bought Volumes 1-15 in stores, but I made the critical mistake of assuming that Episode number was the same as Volume number. Therefore, I expected that this set would contain material that I didn't already have.
Unfortunately, when I received the set, I was very disappointed to discover that it contains Volumes 10-12, which I do already have.
Therefore, I give this warning to people who have bought boxed sets in stores in the past and are now trying Amazon for the first time. Make sure you know what you're getting, and be very careful not to assume that Episode numbers are the same as Volume numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of the Completely Different, June 29 2000
By 
F. Behrens "Frank Behrens" (Keene, NH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
The very first episode of <Monty Python's Flying Circus> was telecast on BBC1 in 1969 and the very last one in 1974. And so it came to pass that the four series of MPFC shows became a legend--and a top money maker for all its spinoffs (LPs, live shows), and future efforts of its 6 lunatics (7, if you count Carol). True Believers can sing every note of the "Lumber Jack Song" and repeat with proper inflections every word of the "Dead Parrot Sketch"--although I doubt if anyone, including Cleese himself, could name all the cheeses in the "Cheese Shop Sketch." Never since "The Honeymooners" has a comedy series gathered such a fanatic following.
Well, by this time in history, A&E has released the first three seasons on tape and DVD. Having already reviewed the first season (which I have on tape), I want to say a few words about the 2nd and 3rd seasons, which I have on DVD. Of course you will find all those classic sketches you love so much (or why else would you be reading this?): Silly Walks, Piranha Brothers, Blackmail, Killer Sheep, Fish License, Travel Agent, Cheese Shop, Lupins, and of course Dirty Vicar. We have yet to have available the fourth, last, series without Cleese (who wanted to quit after the second and get on to other things).
The advantage of the DVD format over the tape is, of course, you can get direct access to almost any sketch you want. Now this is tricky. Each DVD holds three or four episodes. The main menu (which takes forever to set up) leads to a submenu that is quite confusing at first glance. Just keep hitting the select button on your remote and you will eventually see the episode. There is also a choice on the main menu to Play All. It is because of this feature, I am told, that your display will not show the time elapsed or the track you are on during each episode, nor will your on-screen display show the time. If you find how to bring it up, the submenu will give you a list of the major sketches, but you had better take notes.
In fact, I simply kept open my copy of Robert Ross's "Monty Python Encyclopedia" (TV Books, 1997) to keep track of where I was. Still, the format is a lot better than the tapes when it comes to timing but very difficult to fast forward to any desired sketch.
So if you have not yet decided on the format, I would suggest the DVD, especially with the extra bits of information they provide that are not found on the tapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best comedy show ever made!, May 23 2001
By 
"madnessmark" (Maple Grove, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
This 2-disc DVD contains some of the best moments in Monty Python (Spam, How Not To Be Seen, Atilla the Hun Show, Hungarian Phrase Book) as well as some that are lesser known (Communist Quiz, Poofy Judges, Crackprot Religions, The Idiot). The menus are very clever. They are a little tough to navigate through, but it's a change from other DVD menus. The extras are enormous! You get Lumberjack Kareoke, BBC sketches, quizes with video rewards, two Hollywood Bowl sketches, image gallery and tons more. However the only part that seems to suffer on this disc is the picture quality. There are tons of noticable fragements and rainbows. The VHS tapes might be a smarter buy in terms of quality, but for everlastingness (is that even a word?) choose the DVDs. So grab this DVD and order in some Egg and Spam, Egg Bacon and Spam, Egg Bacon Sausage and Spam, Spam Eggs Spam Spam and Spam, Spam Spam Spam Spam Spam Spam Spam Spam Baked Beans Spam Spam Spam and Spam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Avangardists Of Modern Humour, Sept. 26 2000
By 
Bjorn Clasen (Rollengergronn, Luxembourg, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python S2 Set #4 (VHS Tape)
To this day, Monty Python remains THE idol and source of inspiration to humourists all around. »Monty Python's Flying Circus« made the group famous, and it is the best ever to come out, not only from Monty Python, not only from Britain... but humour in general!
This particular box set contains some of the best Python ever!
Highlights in this set: all of Episode Twenty (one of the best episodes ever), »Beethoven's Mynah Bird«, »Exploding Penguin On TV Set«, »Fish Licence« (one of my all-time favourites!), »'How Not To Be Seen'«, »Dirty Hungarian Phrasebook« and »Spam« (the two last ones are from another brilliant episode, Episode Twenty-Five).
Own it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Object in the Strongest Possible Terms, Feb. 14 2000
By 
Arthur C. Adams (Laurel, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
Dear Sir,
I wish to protest in thr strongest possible terms your inclusion of this DVD by this Monty Python chap. It is well known that he is considered quite silly and is rumored to have attempted to offend every one on the planet!
And another thing -- why can't you cover the good things on the Internet, like many of the wonderful sites containing the poems of Carlton Vladivostok?
Yours, etc. Brigadier General Sir Charles Uppington Smythe (Mrs.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great DVD, May 12 2000
By 
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
There are two kinds of people: those who have seen Mo nty Python and liked it, and those who have seen Monty Python and disliked it, and those who...
There are three kinds of people: those who have seen Monty Python and liked it, those who have seen Monty Python and disliked it, those who haven't seen Monty Python, and those in comas...Four kinds of People
Amongst people, there are those have seen Monty...
Oh never mind, just see the bloody DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A sometimes Funny, sometimes Annoying Collection!, Jan. 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
Monty Python's Flying Circus has two sides: one being outrageously funny, and two being some of the most un-funny Skits I've ever seen! On this collection my ABSOLUETE favorites are(in order of Funny): The Killer Cars, The Death of Mary Queen of Scots, An Exploding Penquin on the Telly, and Spam. Don't even look at the others! There so rediculously stupid it almost make me cry! Buy it for the great ones, hate for EVERYTHIN ELSE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous episodes, Feb. 13 2000
By 
Waleed Abu-Ghazaleh "tryingtomakesenseofit" (Al-Sharq, Kuwait Kuwait) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) (DVD)
Although I am a huge Python fan, watching episodes 20-26 felt like a painful excersize in frustration. I waited to be blown away with the brilliant stupid sharp wit of the earlier episodes but instead was presented with -- gasp -- mediocre ideas and canned scripts, many of which went nowhere.
For the best laughs, go for the early stuff. You really can't go wrong with Sets 2 and 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Palin's Gumby & Crackpot Religions Ltd., Jan. 11 2003
This review is from: Monty Python S2 Set #4 (VHS Tape)
Palin's Gumby is the best (if not the only) character with a head injury. I love it anytime he shows up in a skit. These guys are fabulous! Crackpot Religions Ltd. is my favorite of Python's skits and is the reason I bought this set. If you grew up with a strict religious background, you'll appreciate it as well. Sarcasm at it's best! I love these guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python- That's all I need to say., Dec 1 1999
By 
This review is from: Monty Python S2 Set #4 (VHS Tape)
Okay, this is a great gift item. You get three 90-minute videos packed with some classic python sketches. Most of these episodes come from the epic third season, where the exploits of the python clan leaked into america and poisoned an entire generation's minds with skits regarding dead parrots, cheese, and a strange man by the name of 'Gumby'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2)
Monty Python's Flying Circus: Set 4 (Season 2) by Graham Chapman (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 28.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews