Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars I Like Van Damme!
So there! My favorites are Time Cop and Sudden Death. It appears that the negative customer reviews are coming from people who viewed this one on VHS. If you don't like action films, so be it. I gave up on going to theaters with the prices they charge, the people who like to gab a lot and make candy and popcorn noises. Watching films like this on DVD, letterboxed, on...
Published on Oct. 10 2000 by JT

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lukewarm Action Flick
Jean-Claude Van Damme isn't exactly known for his superb acting skills, and when NBA player Dennis Rodman enters the cast, one can safely assume that this movie will not be carrying home any accolades based on its actors' performance. Instead of talking about the plot first as reviews usually do, it's perhaps wiser to focus on the positive: the action. The fights in the...
Published on Aug. 24 2001 by Xiao Zhu


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Lukewarm Action Flick, Aug. 24 2001
By 
Xiao Zhu (Halifax, NS Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Team (VHS Tape)
Jean-Claude Van Damme isn't exactly known for his superb acting skills, and when NBA player Dennis Rodman enters the cast, one can safely assume that this movie will not be carrying home any accolades based on its actors' performance. Instead of talking about the plot first as reviews usually do, it's perhaps wiser to focus on the positive: the action. The fights in the movie--and there are a lot of them--are of Van Damme's past caliber. Rodman also pitches in now and then and throws a good punch or lashes out with a massive foot. The choreography is of course no match for the recent action hits like The Matrix and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, and is 'okay' at best. Rodman's character, a shady special arms dealer, does add some brightness with his 007-esque cadre of tech gadgets. Now, the plot. It's almost non-existent, and what little of it the movie has actually bogs it down. The idea of the island is not quite so platitudinous, but still looks lame. As the story goes on it quickly becomes trite and serves up one round of groans after another. Some of the parts are downright confusing, and those scenes should be replaced with more fights. One's time and energy exhausted in trying to digest the story would be much better spent in focusing on the punches and kicks. If you decide to watch this, it's probably not a bad idea to just tone down the volume. After all, there's really not much must-know information one can learn from the dialogues, as everyone already understands that whoever Van Damme and Rodman are kicking are the baddies. -Xiao Zhu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Like Van Damme!, Oct. 10 2000
By 
JT "JT" (Alexandria, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Team (Bilingual) (DVD)
So there! My favorites are Time Cop and Sudden Death. It appears that the negative customer reviews are coming from people who viewed this one on VHS. If you don't like action films, so be it. I gave up on going to theaters with the prices they charge, the people who like to gab a lot and make candy and popcorn noises. Watching films like this on DVD, letterboxed, on a screen three feet wide, complete with digital surround can make a lot of difference. Granted, not everyone has room for or even wants a lot of audio/video equipment, but it's the closest you can get to the "director's product" without going to a theater. I've seen this film twice at home, and today I am ordering a copy for my collection. Movies like this come in handy when I'm in the mood for something loud, action-filled, mindless, and all those good things! I have found over the past few years that Wide Screen Review is an extremely trustworthy source for information about sound and picture of laser discs and DVDs, and they rate this a double 5! Thanks for reading --
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No brains, just muscles, Jan. 14 2000
This review is from: Double Team (VHS Tape)
Terrorist Rourke's family is killed in an attempt to "get" him; I still can't figure out if they were trying to arrest him or to kill him. The anti-terrorist team is led by Van Damme's character who's badly wounded in the operation. He's taken to a secret island-prison, called the Colony, for secret agents who've failed their mission. From there these double-O somethings can give the world their advice on terrorist attacks etc., but they cannot leave the island and everybody thinks they're dead. So everybody, even his wife, thinks Van Damme is dead - except Rourke (who seems to have got this top secret information from nowhere) who continues his personal vendetta against Van Damme by kidnapping his soon-to-give-birth wife. So, Van Damme escapes in one of the movie's best scenes and gets gunrunner Rodman to help him rescue his wife and baby.
After the escape from the Colony, the movie becomes far-fetched to the extreme. Van Damme can play this kind of role in his sleep by now - this doesn't mean he plays it well, but you weren't expecting any Gielgud style acting from him were you? Rodman's hair changes colour and design in every act; his acting capabilities are on par with Van Damme's. On the other hand, the scenery chewing Rourke (who seems to have been pumping iron for quite some time now) pulls quite a good job out of the material he has to work with. Tsui Hark, director of A Better Tomorrow 3 and the Once Upon a Time in China series, directs energetically enough but nothing can rescue this mess. Solar systems could pass through the holes in this script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars a slam banging Van Damme..no wait...this aint good at all, Oct. 27 2003
By 
Michael Bolts (superior, wiusa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Team (VHS Tape)
one of the worst Van Damme movies of all time, this one and Derailed and Replicant and Knock Off, come of Van Damme baby, make good ones and have good directors too. this one has Van Damme after Mickey Rourke who Rourke ends up killing him or he thinks he killed him, then Van Damme goes to an island of lost dead agents and villians(corny). he escapes retardedly and then goes back to save his wife and his up and coming child(who Van Damme and Rodman almost indanger the poor kid, bastards). Van Damme gets help from puke and choke Rodman and they have awesome adventures and eat lots of candy, no wait, thats what I was thinking and then, no. but there's some, I SAID SOME, good action, but then it dies and sits there. the end with an oiled up shirtless Rourke and the tiger lets the suspense and action down. strickly for fans of the movies Van Damme was crappy in. this is repuked up snot on a seseame seed bun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such Wit!, June 5 2002
By 
Timotee (Torrance, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Team (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is a witty team that should go in the record books: Van Damme (deity) and Dennis Rodman (no ability). You might think this movie is awful and hideous, but it's truly a comical look about an action star kicking major stern as usual and a basketball player trying to be an action star. No, basketball players should stick to playing basketball or in this case, cross-dressing. Van Damme carries the ball 'n chain in this movie and makes it work, as expected. He fought a buffed out Mickey Rourke, a man with a knife in his toes and a tiger! Heroism! He was an agent who started fresh with a new agency and had to look for Stavros (Rourke). Rodman got in the way too much and actually made an airball. Terrible. Van Damme made fun of him and his hair, 'who does it? Siegfried or Roy?' Pure hilarity. Go Van Damme, don't take any garbage from that creature. Yes! A rare comedic performance from a deity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Double the [fun], May 20 2003
By 
M.C (out there in la la land) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Team (Bilingual) (DVD)
Van Damme and Dennis Rodman in an action movie? Hell Yeah!! Van Damme palys Quinn, the top anti-terrorist of the U.S., who inadvertendly kills the son of super-terrorist Stavros(Mickey rourke), and is sent to an anti-terrorists retirement home as punishment by his superiors. He escapes to reunite with his wife and son, but soon discovers that Stavros has kidnapped them both in a bid for revenge against Quinn. Quinn joins forces with arms dealer Yaz (Dennis Rodman) to rescue his family and defeat the vengeful Stavros. Van Damme is just as quick and powerful as he ever was in this film,Rourke is a nasty bad guy, and Dennis Rodman balances between comic relief and noble hero. It's got all the kung fu action you'd ask out of an action thriller, and is just a fun time at the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Van Damme good,Rodman stop the torture..., May 19 2003
This review is from: Double Team (Bilingual) (DVD)
In 1997 Columbia Tristar released this highly anticipated action adventure thriller, starring action superstar Jean Claude Van Damme and his sidekick Dennis Rodman?Thats right Rodman was cast to support Van Damme.Excuse me did Rodman have any acting exposure before this tragedy,tragedy not on Van Dammes part but on Rodmans horrible acting skills.I actually enjoyed the action sequences that were in the film because they went on non stop and at full speed.Van Damme had showed better acting in some of his other films but this one wasn't horrible,it was good enough.
The supporting cast needed some help and I believe thats what made the film fail.The box-office hype eventually left theaters a little earlier than expected,but still the film was pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dont waste your money!, July 18 2000
By 
This review is from: Double Team (VHS Tape)
Jean Claude is certainly great in the fighting scenes as he is in most of his movies....Rodman is a joke....he has no acting ability whatsoever. This movie is thrown together with a lose story. The story seems to fill in the gaps inbetween the action scenes of which their are many. To me, this movie does not flow well, although the action scenes are good....it would have helped to have some strong supporting actors and a better story. Some of the scenes in this movie are totally ridiculous. Bottomline this movie is worse than most of Van Damme's other action movies....this one wasn't worth the film it was recorded on. I highly recommend skipping this one! You will be glad that you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rodman Freakshow meets Van Damme Muscle Hour, May 19 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Team (Bilingual) (DVD)
An interesting teaming of Rodman & Van Damme. Rodman being the casually dangerous Arms Dealer with an unseemly fetish for body piercing, tatoo and other forms of pain. Oh, not too mention his Hypercolor hair & synthetic (literally) dress sense. Van Damme, playing the Super 007, who fails to take out the mastermind bad-guy, but then comes back from the dead to save his family (Awww, how sweet, and yet so unpredictable.) If you like seeing bullets, bikes, bad haircuts and bombs, then this movie is for you. If you are looking for a serious Van Damme flick then steer clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst movies I have ever seen, April 1 2002
By 
"vfrederic" (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Team (Bilingual) (DVD)
I saw this one in the theatres and it's definitely on my worst movies list. Bad acting is given and the action just plain [stunk]. The scene that added this stinker to my list though was when our hereos, Rodman and Van Damme take cover from a bomb explosion behind a PEPSI machine placed conveiniently in the Collesium ruins?. They survive the blast with PEPSI cans flying all over the place. PEPSI must have bankrolled this movie to allow such a shameful PRODUCT PLACEMENT. Mental note to self, If a bomb is about to go off, dive behind a pop machine, IT WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE. Yeah right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Team (Bilingual)
Double Team (Bilingual) by Hark Tsui (DVD - 2000)
CDN$ 16.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews