Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellnt film!
This is bye far, the best remake of Frankenstein ever. This is better than the Frankenstein sequel's to, well MOST of the Frankenstein sequel's at lest. Comes very close to the perfect book written by Mary Shelley. Some people said this was bad because there was to much drama. Will people stop being Nerd's!
Published on May 11 2004 by Lauren B. Floss

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mary SHelley's Frankenstein
ok, im a student in high school, and i can tell the differences in the book and the movie easliy. the movie is nothing like the book, in the first 5 mintutes there are almost 10 thing different from the book, 1. it looks like the monster is chasing victor, 2. the monster doesn't attack the dogs, 3. they don't see the monster off in the distance sledding away 4. no letters...
Published on May 7 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellnt film!, May 11 2004
By 
Lauren B. Floss "flossfg2" (Buffalo NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is bye far, the best remake of Frankenstein ever. This is better than the Frankenstein sequel's to, well MOST of the Frankenstein sequel's at lest. Comes very close to the perfect book written by Mary Shelley. Some people said this was bad because there was to much drama. Will people stop being Nerd's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an authentic adaptation of the book, but still fun., May 19 2004
By 
Melissa Niksic (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Mary Shelley's Frankenstein" is an incredibly melodramatic adaptation of the book that takes huge liberties with the plot, but I still find it thoroughly entertaining. The movie is perfectly cast, and I think that the embellishments that Kenneth Branagh takes with the story only make the film more enjoyable. Even though I doubt that Dr. Frankenstein ran around without a shirt on as much as Branagh does in the film, most women will probably find it quite enjoyable. Robert DeNiro is amaing in his role of "the creature," and Helena Bonham Carter gives a great performance as Elizabeth. If you're the type of person who detests it when filmmakers stray too far from the text of the book they're adapting, then this film probably isn't for you. If you're a bit more open-minded and are just looking for an entertaining movie to watch, this is a perfect film to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars De Niro is Frankenstein, Dec 12 2011
I had seen this movie when it was released but only remembered bits and pieces. Kenneth Branagh and Robert De Niro are wonderful as the mad scientist and the creature he brings to life. Very powerful and emotional version of the famous classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Version of Mary Shelley's novel Ever!, Nov. 23 2007
By 
Frances L. Arsenault "lover of literature" (Nanaimo, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I get a nack for literary movies (as I said many, many times); even from the classic horror novels, with literature's famous monsters : Count Dracula, Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde, The Phantom of The Opera, The Headless Horseman, The Hunchback of Notre Dame, and...The Frankenstien Monster. The original Frankenstein novel was written by a women named Mary Shelly in 1818 (she knows how to scare people with her masterpiece), and many versions had been made for the silver screen; but to me, this version with actor/director Kenneth Branagh (Hamlet in 1996) is the best and the scariest version ever!

Kenneth Branagh plays Victor Frankenstein, a scientist who is obsessed with conquering death, after his "Mommy Dearst" died due to complications giving birth to his little brother William (I mean HEL-LO! I'm SOR-RY you can't get ever over losing your mom, on the account of your little brother,but it dosen't mean you go all CRA-ZY! I was surprise Vic didn't blame Willy for their mother's death). In medical school, Victor makes friends with a fellow student, Henry Clerval, clashes with the hidebound Professor Krempe (Robert Hardy), and finds himself fascinated by the secretive Professor Waldman who, he learns, once fell foul of the authorities for conducting illegal experiments. Setting up a laboratory in a hired attic, Victor sets about achieving the ultimate aim of his research: cheating death'. After another public argument with Krempe, Victor is almost kidnapped by Waldman, who shows the student his rooms ' and his secret laboratory. Waldman explains to Victor the Chinese practice of acupuncture, and how it might affect the electrical energy of the body. Victor expounds his own theories on the overcoming of death. His words have a dramatic effect on Waldman, who reveals that he once came close ' too close ' to the artificial creation of life... During an enforced vaccination of the people of Ingolstadt, carried out by the staff and students of the university, a man objects hysterically to the treatment, and in his panic stabs Waldman to death. He is hanged for his pains. The devastated Victor breaks into Waldman's laboratory, securing the scientist's notebooks before anyone else can see them. Upon reading them, he discovers just how close Waldman did come to creating life' Inspired, and in defiance of Henry's warnings, Victor prepares to go one step further than his mentor. By rough and ready means, he acquires his "materials", including the body of Waldman's murderer and Waldman's own brain, and sets about creating an artificial man. Applying his knowledge of electricity, Victor sends a massive charge through the inanimate body that he has put together. Climbing up onto the metal tank in which his creation is housed, Victor cries out for it to live; and for a brief moment its eyes flicker open ' only to close again. Victor turns away in despair ' until a knocking sound comes from within the tank (this might sound disturbing,but that tank look like a giant womb/pressure cooker as they trying to go with in the film)...that's all I'm tellin' you, you will have to see the WHOLE film.

I was shocked and surprised by the negative reviews, this an awesome version of Mary Shelley's novel, with a great cast like Tom Hulce, the scene where he fainted was funny); Ian Holm as Victor's dad, John Cleese as Professor Waldman, though many disagree, he did play a good role; Robert De Niro as the Monster; and Helena Bonham Carter as Victor's love interest Elizabeth, I think she was great for the role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ingolstadt,?, May 18 2004
By 
The scene with the crowd was gathered during the lynching,
did'nt the caption say Ingolstadt and is'nt Ingolstadt in
Germany?
I am wondering why De Niro was talking like an englishman
and the crowd sounded like english too?
Maybe I missing something; should'nt the people so german?
I remember like thirty years ago about you should be true
to your heritage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beauty In Frankenstein, May 8 2004
By 
Mahea (Aiea, Hawaii United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
As most people have noted "Mary Shelleys Frankenstein" did stray far from the book. That does not, however, disclude the brilliance of imagry throughout the film. As a child I grew up believing that Frankenstein was some monster with bolts in his neck created by a mad scientist and a hunch back. It wasn't until jr. yr in British Literature that I was cleansed of these misconceptions. And yes, while it does tend to stray from its originial intent - how much pain staking attention to detail could any viewer handle? The movie is long as it is and if the main plot of the story is there why such a descrepency? Infact I think all lovers of Mary Shelleys Frankenstein should welcome the only real close depiction of such a timeless classic. Not to mention Robert De Niro's performance was amazing and utterly captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mary SHelley's Frankenstein, May 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
ok, im a student in high school, and i can tell the differences in the book and the movie easliy. the movie is nothing like the book, in the first 5 mintutes there are almost 10 thing different from the book, 1. it looks like the monster is chasing victor, 2. the monster doesn't attack the dogs, 3. they don't see the monster off in the distance sledding away 4. no letters to robert walton's sister, 5. Robert walton seems power hungry, 6. the threat of mutiny doesn't happen until the end of the book,
7. victor never brings elizabeth back to life
8. the monster does not kill victors dad
9. the monster all together, hes 8 foot 3, long black hair, yellow skin, black lips, hes not supposed to be white, w/ pink lips and bald, if Mary Shelley was here today i don't think she'd be proud of this movie, its nothing like her book
i have not completly seen all of this movie, but i don't tihnk it should be called Mary Shelley's version, b/c of the obvious differences in which i stated above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very disapointed, April 20 2004
By 
Cybele A. Baker (Berkeley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Being a fan of Branagh and the original book I looked forward with great excitment to this film.
Sadly I was very much let down..not so much because he deviated from the text but the way he deviated. If it had been creative and well thought out I would have been fine with it but what Branagh makes of this amazing story is sadly an arrogant muddle.
De Niro shines in this film as does Tom Hulce..but frankly Helena and Kennth were far too over the top and so iratatingly soap opera like that I was disgusted and tempted to walk out.
As for the multiple cameos that another reviwer complained about, I found nothing wrong with them that is what cameos are small portions of a film.
The grandiose scope of the film worked on occasion but then there was the laughable scene of Branagh slipping and sliding in the goo of his creation, the horror film-like graphic deaths, the ridiculous scene of him in that impossibly long red cape/robe gliding up a staircase with Helena in his arms. Instead of the effect Mr. Branagh probably wished from the audience for these scenes they all just brought out laughter and disgust at his blatant misuse of his skills as a director.
How sad...this and his Loves Labours Lost are definitly his worst films to date...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding interpretation, April 12 2004
By 
wiredweird "wiredweird" (Earth, or somewhere nearby) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
It's too easy to think of "Frankenstein" as a monster movie, or maybe a Victorian period piece. It is not. It is about people with skill beyond the wisdom to use that skill. It is about manipulating life, without regard to what happens when the experiment is done. To anyone in twenty-first century biotech, it is a prediction and a warning.
It's also a very good movie. Branagh and DeNiro carry the two lead roles as if they were born (or built) into them. The lab scenes were exceptional, including one of the movie's strongest moments. That was when Frankenstein's creation was dumped, in an amniotic flood, onto Branagh and the lab floor. The doctor catching that wet and feeble adult form, ejected from a metal womb, conveyed just how horribly he had perverted the normal process of birth. The scene is raw and physical. I wish I had words to describe it.
Branagh made no effort to modernize the story or its technology. Any modernization would have looked dated in just a few years, and would have lost its transitory meaning. By keeping the Victorian look and speech, he cut the story loose from any one time. Any future movie of Shelley's prescient work will be judged by this standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Watch it if you want........, April 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Kenneth Branagh seems to think he is the main charcter not the poor monster who is the victim of great prejudice, the monster is not evil his made evil by society. Branagh is a heartless monster whom abandons his baby at birth. But he likes to overact someone should tel him its a horror not baywatch as he like to take his top and show his unintresting torso. watch it if you want run of the mill predictable horror. But be warned ther is much better films out there.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (Full Screen) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 35.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews