Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moody's Fagin steals classic OLIVER!
Until CHICAGO reenergized the movie musical genre, this musical version of Charles Dickens' immortal "Oliver Twist" was widely regarded as one of the last of the great movie musicals. Indeed, with its high-energy performances, infectious music, steady direction by Sir Carol Reed and glorious sets, this movie won the 1968 Best Picture Oscar over such formidable...
Published on April 20 2004 by Hazen B Markoe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It simply took too long
It is a wonderful product! However, for something that was shipped the next day (which I was quite impressed with), having to wait nearly three weeks for it to arrive was a bit disappointing.

All in all it was alright, but simply not what I had in mind for a company which was able to be so officiant with the product's send off.
Published 5 months ago by Jacqueline Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I expected problems but there were none at all as this blu ray was superb!!! Exceeded my expectations from the word go!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a wonderfully lavish musical production!, Dec 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first and only other time I saw this wonderfully lavish musical masterpiece was when I was in my early teens - along with a then good friend of mine at a nearby Odeon theatre, located within a shopping mall.
Watching the movie for a second time (after recently receiving it through Amazon.ca), served as such a delightful experience in that I was watching a film (as I first watched it when in my teens), where an obvious emphasis is placed on "storytelling" and "on-screen talent" - this, as opposed to a barrage of in-your-face CGI special effects.
As for the blu-ray version of the movie, it is indeed a joy to both watch and listen to. A whole-hearted "Thank you!", to everyone involved in the making of this splendid film, as well as it's high definition transfer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful movie, Sept. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oliver! (Widescreen) (DVD)
IWe were a bit confused initially as it seemed it was only half the movie BUT then I realized that the DVD was double sized! Silly Me!!!! Excellent movie, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CONSIDER THIS ONE A WINNER - OSCAR WINNER, THAT IS!, June 9 2004
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oliver! (Widescreen) (DVD)
Carol Reed's "Oliver!" is the musical version of Dicken's Oliver Twist. It stars Mark Lester as the irrepressible street urchin, suckered into the lair of a vagabond by The Artful Dodger (Jack Wild) and forced into a life of crime by Fagin (Ron Moody). But when Oliver is salvaged from the slums by a benevolent philanthropist, Bill Sikes (Oliver Reed) decides to make a quick buck off of the trade. Shani Willis costars as Sikes' girlfriend, Nancy, who thwarts the kidnapping plot and pays for her betrayal with her life. This is a very stoic, stagy and rather dry musical that may capture the essence of Dickens in its settings characters and plot but seems totally out of touch with the effervescence of the traditional Hollywood musical. Even with such main staple songs as "Consider Yourself", "Boy For Sale" and "Food, Glorious Food", truly, the spoon full of sugar remains a bitter pill to swallow on this occasion.
Columbia Tri-Star has made "Oliver" available in a startlingly good looking transfer. Colors are solid, rich, vibrant and bold. Contrast levels are exactly where they should be. Blacks are incredibly deep. Fine detail is fully realized. Only occasionally do age related artifacts betray the vintage of the film. The audio is 5.1 and wonderfully spread across all five channels of the sound field. There are no extras. This film is spread across two sides of a single disc. The break comes at the point of intermission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding musical, March 26 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oliver! (Widescreen) (DVD)
Oliver is possibly the most entertaining musical I have ever viewed. Many of the songs in this movie became huge hits and continued to be part of major performers repertoire during the latter part of the 20th century. The movie sets are authentic, the casting is perfection....the song productions are unforgettable. Add to this a classic story line embellished with both drama and humor and you have a masterpiece that will be enjoyed by the entire family. The DVD transfer is pristine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely family classic!, March 22 2010
By 
4-eyes (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oliver! (Widescreen) (DVD)
Big production. Beautiful sets, catchy songs, great actors - many of them also singers/dancers.
A sweeted Dickens tale on human nature and hope.
Beware, might pull on your heart strings, if you're so inclined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enduring and powerful story, Feb. 20 2004
By 
K. Henricks "Lighting guy" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oliver! (Widescreen) (DVD)
Like so many other reviewers, this film holds a special place in my life. Dickens' story is masterfully translated to film and the score adds a whole other level to the charm and power of this story. It is hard to imagine this story without the musical numbers. A great addition to any DVD library and sure to entertain generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is there a Soundtrack?, Feb. 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Oliver! (Widescreen) (DVD)
Great movie, but is there a soundtrack? I can not find one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two of the great scenes in film, Dec 5 2003
By 
John C. Adams "Christian Adams" (Alexandria Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oliver! (Widescreen) (DVD)
Many of the reviewers here have wonderfully described the movie. But it is worth nothing that two scenes in this movie may be some of the greatest ever. When Oliver awakes and asks "who will buy this beautiful morning?" a stunning 10 minitues of motion picture genius errupts. The scenes of 19th century industry come alive with milkmaids, teachers, nannies and even a marching band. Fantastic wonderment. The other great scene is when Oliver is introduced into London life - Consider Yourself - part of the family, part of the scenery - the scenery of butchers and chimney sweeps, of bobbies and fish mongers. Amazing amazing amazing.
The film captures a subtle and enjoyable smattering of history -- the industry of the 19th century. Whether it is the butchers processing meat, the brewers and their barrells or the undertaker of the day advertising "cheap funerals," the film has a hustle bustle of 19th century capitalism, where the city is producing wealth, where people are pursuing their trades, even if some of them happen to be pickpockets. Marvelous movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching musical, Dec 5 2003
By 
Elizabeth (Metairie, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oliver! (Widescreen) (DVD)
This musical has wonderful music and lyrics to it. It is also pretty much well acted out. The visuals can be stunning at times. It's inspirational. The musical shows the plight of the poorer orphan boys who must work at a factory in order to have board and be fed gruel every day. The governors and Mr. Bumble are hypocrites because they eat three feasts a day while the orphans get gruel. They dream of eating the delicious food that they have never tasted. Oliver gets the wrong straw and must ask for another serving of gruel. He is called greedy and is sold to an undertaker. A man in the shop insults his mother, and he is sent to the cellar. The window is loose and he escapes, getting on a vegetable truck and ends up in London. He meets the Artful Dodger, whose "art" is to pick pockets. He introduces him to a "respectable gentleman" named Fagin, and this man houses orphans in exchange that they pick pockets for him. An enjoyable musical!
Warning: This may not be appropriate for young children because of the violence in the killing of Nancy. I remember being scared and horrified as a child when I saw that scene, but now I take it better. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oliver! (Widescreen)
Oliver! (Widescreen) by Ronald Saland (DVD - 1998)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 7.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews