Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly impressive, entertaining vampire flick
At first glance, Fright Night looks like another cheesy vampire film: a young man figures out that a vampire has moved next door, no one believes him, the vampire comes after him, his only hope is an old horror actor, etc. It's pretty predictable, right down to the whole thing about the boy's girlfriend bearing a striking resemblance to one of the vampire's old flames. So...
Published on July 4 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So 80s, So Good...and Chris Sarandon
Really good, campy, scary, funny vampire fun. I love vampire movies and this is one of my favorite of the genre. Pre-CGI effects are good, especially Evil Ed's death. But the real reason I come back to this movie year after year is Chris Sarandon's vampire: What. A. Sexpot. Even the gay 80s clothes and Cosby-esque sweaters could not take away from his deliciousness. He is...
Published on Oct. 29 2003 by C. P. Gibbs


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly impressive, entertaining vampire flick, July 4 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fright Night (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
At first glance, Fright Night looks like another cheesy vampire film: a young man figures out that a vampire has moved next door, no one believes him, the vampire comes after him, his only hope is an old horror actor, etc. It's pretty predictable, right down to the whole thing about the boy's girlfriend bearing a striking resemblance to one of the vampire's old flames. So yes, in its own way, Fright Night is cheesy. At the same time, though, it is oh so much more than you would expect - an entertaining, somewhat creepy vampire film that features some great acting and some really impressive special effects. You expect to see really bad, noticeably cheap special effects in a film like this, but Fright Night hits a home run in this department.

William Ragsdale plays Charley Brewster, a typical horror-loving kid who just so happens to find out that his new neighbor is a vampire - naturally, no one believes him, including his friend Evil Ed (Stephen Geoffreys in a truly annoying performance) and his girlfriend Amy (Amanda Bearse, who went on to play Marcie on Married With Children). For some reason, Charley decides to be open about his suspicions, thus letting the vampire know that he knows his little secret - not a smart move, as Charley soon learns courtesy of a little visit from the new guy in town. This vampire, I must say, looks nothing like your typical Count Dracula; he actually looks like a reject from Dance Fever, making it a little hard for me to take him seriously (although the threat of "Deney Terrio" busting out some disco moves in the film's one night club scene certainly had me feeling uneasy). In desperation, Charley goes to the only man he thinks can help him - Peter Vincent, Vampire Killer (Roddy McDowall). Vincent killed many a vampire - in the movies - and he is now the local host of Fright Night, a late-night horror show. As you might expect, Vincent doesn't really believe in vampires and, once he sees that Charley is telling him the truth, he isn't too anxious to fight them, either. McDowall is really great in this movie; he is the lynchpin upon which most of the movie's success depends.

I can't say enough about the special effects, especially those in the film's climactic moments. As a horror fan, I really appreciate the filmmakers spending the time and money to give me such an impressive show. The plot features a number of cliches as well as a couple of "oldest tricks in the book," but the inspired performance of Roddy McDowell combined with the fantastic special effects leads me to bump my rating up from four to five stars. This probably won't be the best vampire film you've ever seen, but I am sure that fans of the genre will not fail to get quick a kick out of Fright Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fright Night (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This film is a one of a kind classic. As cheezy and cliché it may seem, you have to keep in mind it was released in 1985. But the story is very good, the caracters are charismatic. This film is a "must".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Dec 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fright Night (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie is a true classic Chris Sarandon plays this charactor with ease. You find yourself rooting of him instead of the hero. loved every minute of it soo happy i bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet Jerry Dandridge..., Feb. 23 2004
This review is from: Fright Night (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
He's sweet, sexy, and he likes to sleep in late. You might think he's th eperfect neighboor. But before inviting Jerry in for a nightcap, there's just one thing you should know,. Jerry Prefers his drinks warm, red-abd straigt from the jugular! It's FRIGHT NIGHT, a horrific howl starring Chris Sarandon as the seductive vampire and William Ragsdale as the frantic teenager struggling to keep Jerry's deadly fangs out of his neck. Only 17-year-old Charley Brewster knows Jerry's bloodcurdling secret. When Charley can't get anybody to believe him, he turns to TV horror host Peter Vincent, who used to be the "Great Vampire Killer" of the movies. Can these mortals save Charley and his sweetheart Amy from the wrathful bloodsucker's toothy embrace? If you love being scared, FRIGHT NIGHT will give you the nightmare of your life!
Rated R For language, nudity, and violence.
Special Features Include:
Interactive Menus
Languages: English 2-channel (Dolby Surround), french, portugues
Subtitles: English, French, Spanish, Portugues, Chinese, Korean, Thai.
Theatrical Trailer
Scene Selection
Widescreen and Full Screen Formats.
This Movie Rocks! GET IT! Its both scary and cheesy! one of the better 80's horror movies!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and amusing, March 18 2008
This review is from: Fright Night (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
as vampire movies go,this one is quite fun and entertaining.it even has
some humor mixed in with everything else.sure,it is a bit hokey by
today's standards,but it's still a very good movie.there are a few
good,and gross transformations and there are some genuinely creepy
moments.Chris Sarandon,who plays Jerry Dandridge(the vampire),William
Ragsdale as Charley the next Door neighbor and Roddy McDowall,as Peter
Vincent,vampire killer and are all really good here.Amanda Bearse,as
Amy,Charlie's girlfriend is also good.but for me,it was Ed,Charlie's
friend,who i thought provided some great laughs,as did Dorothy
Fielding,as Charlie's mother who had a very small part but was
nonetheless funny.i also thought Jonathon Stark was very good,as Jerry
Dandridge's companion/man servant.i also thought the music for this
movie was terrific,adding some style to the proceedings.for me,Fright
Night is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best horror movie, July 19 2004
By 
Stephen (England, Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fright Night (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
this is no doubt the best horror during the eighties. i watch quite a lot of horror movies due to the fact that they are my favourite kind of movie. Although i watch horror movies they never seem to scare me but "fright night" has been the 1 and onli that has scared me. It is a brilliant film to watch. Hope u have the same pleasure as i did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked this movie a lot, March 12 2010
By 
Carol A. Jevrem (Columbus, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fright Night (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I liked this movie a lot. It has humor and suspense and some genuine horror. The acting is really good - especially Roddy McDowell as the TV vampire killer and Chris Sarandon as the good-looking vampire. It's also a time trip back to the 80s including the hair and the clothes from that time. I give this movie a solid A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sleeper cult classic, June 28 2004
By 
Rocco Dormarunno (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fright Night (VHS Tape)
As of this writing, there are over 105 reviews, and easily more than half of them have given this film five stars. That says a lot about this completely enjoyable, suspenseful nugget of mind candy. Roddy McDowell turns a splendid tongue-in-cheek performance as a horror movie t.v. emcee who is way beyond his prime, and is now enlisted by a couple of teens to fight real a vampire. Chris Sarandon as the vampire, Jerry, does a terrific job as a super-smug bloodsucker.
Much of the plot is nothing new: teens discover mayhem; adults don't believe teens; teens begin to endure in-fighting; the mayhem grows more menacing; teenage girl falls victim to mayhem; unlikely courage and heroes emerge to save the girl and the town. But that doesn't matter. The true strength of this film is its ability to draw from these conventions and make it turn and twist on themselves. And the humor that's drawn out keeps the pace lively while setting you up for more horror. This same formula worked for another relatively unknown film, "Return of the Living Dead."
FRIGHT NIGHT will guarantee you a fun night! Give it a view!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Popcorn never tasted so good, May 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fright Night (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Anyone settling in for the night with some snacks and a couple of friends would not fail to enjoy this movie. It is a gruesome, slightly campy horror romp that hardly gets anything wrong. It's a great deal of fun.
Charlie is a normal teen; all he wants out of life is to get some nooky from his girlfriend and maybe pass his trigonometry test, too. But Charlie has a new neighbor who likes to drain the blood out of prostitutes, and he can't just sit by without doing something about it. Yes, he discovers the guy next door is a vampire, and of course no one believes him.
The cast is perfect. The wonderful, underrated Chris Sarandon plays the dapper vampire, whose name (Jerry!) isn't all that scary, but he still manages to serve up plenty of menace. Charlie is capably played by William Ragsdale. Reluctantly assisting Charlie in his crusade are Amanda Bierce ("Married...with Children") as his whiny girlfriend, Stephen Geoffreys as his goofball buddy Ed, and Roddy McDowell as a has-been TV horror flick host who talks the talk but is too cowardly to walk the walk. Geoffreys in particular is priceless. He is easily the most entertaining character in the movie, especially after he encounters Jerry in an alley late one night (in a haunting, surprisingly sympathetic scene). When the "vampire hunters" finally make their stand at Jerry's house, all hell breaks loose.
Gore galore, laughs and scares... All I can say is, have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Horror Movie, March 19 2004
This review is from: Fright Night (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is a great film and wasn't over done. It is one of those teen 80's vampire flicks, and is very enjoyable no matter how old you are. Buy saying no matter how old you are I don't mean let your kids watch it cause it's not for your kids at all. Chris Sarandon (star of Child's PLay) is great as Charlie. He maked the movie very enjoyable. I was a bit younger when I watched this film. I don't mean like 9 or 10 I was about 23 when this came out and now I'm 42. The special affects are great and the camera tricks are dazzling and great. Lot's of nudity in this vampire flick and this one was way better than it's horrible and depressing sequel. So, just take my word for it, don't go near the sequel. Anyway, the acting in this gets a 5/5 and the plot gets a 5/5. Even by looking at the front cover of this movie you can tell that it is a cool and exicting film. This is the best vampire movie I've seen really, and trust me, I've seen a batch of vampire movies. Let's say this film hits number 1 because of these three reasons,
1. There is tons of gore
2. It isn't fake looking like alot of other vampire movies
3. It has a great and interesting plot
What more do you need to know that this movie is great and well worth your money no matter what the price is. SO go ahead and get this movie, take my word for it, you won't regret it. Not at all.
9/10
Rated R for graphic violence, nudity, coarse language, and some gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc193196c)

This product

Fright Night (Widescreen/Full Screen) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews