Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars destined to become a cult classic
I just watched this foolish film on TV with the sound turned off and it's gorgeous! The beautiful colors and so-called "chaotic" camera work deserve better reviews. Who cares about the plot? I usually hate this kind of movie, but it's visually stunning, and deserves five stars for that alone. I just ordered a copy so I can watch it again. I wonder if I'll...
Published on May 8 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Van Damme action...
Jean-Claude Van Damme is one of those actors you either are a fan of or you despise. Me? I'm a big fan, so that makes me a little less qualified to rate this film, but I'll review it nonetheless. It takes place in Hong Kong, where the market for "knock offs," or imitations of an original product, is blossoming. Van Damme and Rob Schneider play two business...
Published on Oct. 2 2002 by L. Varnau


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars destined to become a cult classic, May 8 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Knock Off (DVD)
I just watched this foolish film on TV with the sound turned off and it's gorgeous! The beautiful colors and so-called "chaotic" camera work deserve better reviews. Who cares about the plot? I usually hate this kind of movie, but it's visually stunning, and deserves five stars for that alone. I just ordered a copy so I can watch it again. I wonder if I'll ever bother to turn the sound on?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, March 2 2014
By 
David (255 Dunlop Street West) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knock Off (DVD)
fun fun fun. Van Damme has never disappointing me. his movies are fun and exciting. Great movie, Great action a Great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 -4 stars for this above average Van Damme Entry!, Oct. 5 2011
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knock Off (DVD)
Knock Off(Sept/98)is an above average Van Damme flick co starring SNL alumni Rob Schneider and Paul Sorvino.The action and laughs are plentiful in this romp in Van Damme's old stomping grounds of Hong Kong.
The plot involves one Marcus Ray(Van Damme)who manufactures and sells V-6 jeans along with partner Tommy Hendricks(Schneider);set behind the take over of Hong Kong by China from Britain(about 2 years ahead of the actual event).The two have gotten themselves involved along the way in selling knock offs,clothes and items like the real thing,but not.One of Marcus' closest friends gets kidnapped during a rickshaw race in the streets.To add to this chaos,the Russians come into the picture and are into the miniaturization of bombs made to look like buttons or watch batteries.They are planting these items in various knock offs leaving Hong Kong and Marcus and Tommy are the front dupes for it,but do not know it.It seems Marcus's close friend twigged onto what was happening and that is why he was taken away.
However the Police become VERY interested in the knock off trade and the two are hauled in for questioning.They haven't even got off the floor yet when they are stopped and interrogated by V-6 jeans American contact in Hong Kong,Karen Lee(Lela Rochon).She is onto the knock off scheme and warns about the trouble they are in and face.Both set about to clear themselves,and eventually they come across Marcus' kidnapped friend in a squalid section of town.When he opens the safe to give Marcus the proof of what the Russian' are up to an explosive rocket hurtles out and kills him.The locals think the two have just killed him and Tommy and Marcus flee for their lives. They get separated and Marcus comes upon Tommy talking to someone about their operation and thinks Tommy is part of the set up.After a few tense moments where Marcus has the two hanging precariously over the edge top of a building,the truth is revealed to him.It seems Tommy,his partner for four years now,is a CIA operative and is working with his cohorts Marcus has come upon,to crack the knock off/Russian connection.They are taken to the Tian Tan or Big Buddha,that sits overlooking Hong Kong(then only about 4 years old) where the CIA base of operation,led by Harry Johanssan(Sorvino),is.When the two leave there is a huge explosion and the CIA operatives are seemingly no more.
However not all is as it seems.As the movie progresses we find not only is Johanssan very much alive and working WITH the Russians,but V-6 jeans rep Karen Lee is ALSO a CIA agent.She has been working undercover,farther obviously than Tommy,in trying to crack the ring and now all three are working together.After alot of chases the final showdown comes at the Hong Kong docks where a large shipment of bomb laden material is heading out to the U.S.Tommy,Lela and Marcus battle the bad guys to the bitter end to finally foil all concerned.
This is a typical Van Damme movie full of great fight scenes and lots of action.Schneider comes off quite well as a kind of foil and sidekick for Van Damme,never getting too silly.Van Damme surrounds himself with some solid acting and stunt talent to enhance the proceedings.There are also quite a few humorous moments.A good example would be the scene during the rickshaw race where Van Damme pulls Schneider vicariously through the streets of Hong Kong.Of course there are alot of mishaps,drivers colliding and general chicanery in order for some to win the race.During the race through a narrow street Van Damme/Schneider knock a fish vendor into his trough but Schneider ends up with a large eel in his hand.There is a shot of Van Damme's butt and you know what Schneider is thinking.Van Damme gets his butt slapped a few times,like a horse from a rider,and his reactions are priceless.The film was directed by Tsui Hark and like many Hong Kong directors they are not one for explanatory pauses.That is,take a scene where Van Damme is chased through the streets after his friend is killed.At one point he comes upon a moped.There is a shot of Van Damme looking down at it.Next shot has the motor revving and he is whisking his way down the street on it.Not that this is a bad thing,in fact it moves the film along.I'm just saying,it,and other such moments,can be a bit disconcerting or confusing to those not used to these types of films.The continuity is another issue that didn't get the attention it needed sometimes.For example,watch for the final fight at the docks.In one shot it is dull but dry,in the next there is a downpour,in the next it is wet but not raining.To add to this is actor Paul Sorvino(playing Johanssan)and his apparent nine lives,as in a cat.We see the Buddha get blown up that he was inside of which,somehow he miraculously survived.But most notably at the end of the film during the dock fights we see agent Karen Lee throw some button bombs near Sorvino,just as he presses a detonator and the ship he's on blow up in a green fireball.We see the green on his face as the flames surround it.Note that detonator because at the end of the film Van Damme has the charred relic in his hand and for fun presses it.And who is a street away putting mini bombs into a toy dinosaur....Sorvino!!!??? That's a head scratcher for sure,don't you think?
Technically,and NOTE,this DVd is in a FULL SCREEN a/r,and NOT the w/s a/r that is promoted on Amazon's web page.I don't know why that is.Nor in the w/s ratio it was originally SHOT in!Extras include the trailer and it is in Dolby 5.1 sound if wanted.The film is grainy at times,other imes pretty good but could use a good remastering when all is said and done.
All in all a half decent Van Damme entry sure to please his fans out there.Don't look too closely at the continuity but concentrate on the action and the fun Van Damme and company bring to the table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How did this movie flop?, April 15 2004
By 
Carlos Haran (Fairfax, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knock Off (DVD)
This was a really cool movie with great stunts, great comedy, and great camera views. This was plain and simply one of the best JCVD movies ever. I find amazing how this film, Leigonaire, and Universal Soldier:The Return all did not revive his career. It is a total mind F*** to figure this out. The plot was a little confusing at first but if you really pay attention you will get the idea of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Performance by Van Damne, Dec 14 2003
This review is from: Knock Off (DVD)
I rented this movie on video like 4 years ago,my whole family watched it and we were all pleased.And like a year ago i saw it on DVD and i loved watching it again.I think this movie will go in the top 10 of Van Damnes best movie but not the top 5. Im gonna name the top 5 Van Damnes best movies. Kickboxer, Bloodsport,Lionheart,Desert Heat,Hard Target.Im like the biggest Van Damne fan,and this one is worth watching.It deserves****A very good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars his funniest of roles!, Dec 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Knock Off (DVD)
this is one of my favourite van-damme movies and its definatly his funniest!, his opening scene was classic!. This movie is pure fan martial arts action with plenty of comedy along the way. Van-damme should do more comedy, it suits him excellently.
still awaiting his return to theaters, go van-damme!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Van Damme action..., Oct. 2 2002
By 
L. Varnau "nerff20" (Indy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knock Off [Import] (VHS Tape)
Jean-Claude Van Damme is one of those actors you either are a fan of or you despise. Me? I'm a big fan, so that makes me a little less qualified to rate this film, but I'll review it nonetheless. It takes place in Hong Kong, where the market for "knock offs," or imitations of an original product, is blossoming. Van Damme and Rob Schneider play two business partners who are caught up in a nasty circle with the Chinese mafia, renegade CIA agents, and big bad guys. The action and direction from Tsui Hark is awesome, especially a scene where Van Damme slides around on a boat while beating up bad guys. Rob Schneider is not too annoying in this film, which is a good thing. The bad guy, however, was a bit underwhelming, but his demise works. Van Damme films are never any cinematic accomplishment by any means, but they can be, and usually are, plenty of fun. This is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Green Equals Money!, June 6 2002
By 
Timotee (Torrance, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knock Off (DVD)
Green infernos wage when you mess with knock off artists. Van Damme plays the 'Most Legitimate Businessman' in this comical farce. His partner is played by Rob Schneider and they sell cheap jeans. After another businessman is killed, Van Damme must find out what the problem is. Of course he solves everything by kicking people left and right and proclaiming, 'we're not criminals, we're innocent!' Van Damme delivers another side-splitting performance that was overlooked by many mortals. But, not this one. Me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hamanee? Lots of Money!, May 23 2002
By 
jason (Moreno Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knock Off (DVD)
This movie is pure money. You have Jean-Claude Van Damme (genius), Rob Schneider (crazy fool), Paul Sorvino (Lips Manlis) and green fire! Knock off artists are in a struggle to make V-6 jeans and counterfeit toys. YES! Green fire, I've never seen before, pure amazing! Van Damme fights a black woman, guys on a boat and Paul Sorvino. I don't know how many times Sorvino came back to life after exploding in a Buddha temple, on a boat and in an office building. Long-lasting! Van Damme is ultra cool and forever will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Action, May 19 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Knock Off (DVD)
Since the latest Van Damme movie releases have barely contained any action scenes, it's refreshing to find that Knockoff is full of fighting and martial arts sequences.
Unfortunately, Van Damme tries hard to appear somewhat [slow] at the beginning of the movie, and then suddenly becomes serious and then [slow] again. While I can't explain the need to change personalities, these transitions do reduce the plot to nothing more than an unorganized mess with kicking and punching tossed in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb7c5dabc)

This product

Knock Off
Knock Off by Hark Tsui (DVD - 1998)
CDN$ 15.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews