Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Price!
This is a great deal if you are a Godzilla fan; two movies for the price of one. I would recommend it.
Published 10 months ago by Liz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah/Godzilla vs. Mothra - Double Pack
VIDEO QUALITY:
The release contains 2 films on one disc - on Side A 1991's "Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah", and on Side B 1992's "Godzilla vs. Mothra" (stupidly re-titled "Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth"). Side A looks very good, with a very sharp image, nice vivid colours and not much print damage, and the same goes for Side B...
Published on May 2 2004 by James Ballard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Price!, Sept. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth (DVD)
This is a great deal if you are a Godzilla fan; two movies for the price of one. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Run! It's Godzilla!, Aug. 17 2004
By 
J. Pinkerton Snoopington (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth (DVD)
This double sided DVD collects two 1990s Godzilla films, "Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah" and "Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth."
"Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah" has been praised as one of the best of the unofficial 'Heisi' era of Godzilla movies. Watching it again, it's actually pretty bad. The space alien plot is goofy at best, the dialogue is ridiculous, and the characters are uninteresting. Still, there's plenty of rubber suited monster action in the last third to keep fans interested. (Some fans, by the way, are bothered by the scene where a Godzilla prototype attacks American troupes in the second world war).
"Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth" is also a pretty stupid movie (with unineteresting characters, unrealistic sets, and goofy dialogue), but I found it to be the more fun of the two. There are some pretty good monster fights between Mothra, Godzilla, and 'Battra' near the end, and the Mothra lullaby song sung by the two 'cosmos' (from the original 1960s "Godzilla vs. Mothra") has still not come out of my head.
The DVD is unfortunately, not in widescreen (unlike the companian double feature, "Godzilla vs. Spacegodzilla"/"Godzilla vs. Destroyah"). The 1.33:1 image looks similar to a video tape (especially in the opening shots of "King Ghidorah"), but it's acceptable enough. The only audio is the english dub (apparently at the request of Toho studios), but it really doesn't matter in movies like these. Happily (and unlike most Japanese monster DVDs), the original Japanese theatrical trailers are included. I liked watching them, if only for the shameless toy ads that are tacked on the end. Some servicable liner notes round out the package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah/Godzilla vs. Mothra - Double Pack, May 2 2004
By 
This review is from: Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth (DVD)
VIDEO QUALITY:
The release contains 2 films on one disc - on Side A 1991's "Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah", and on Side B 1992's "Godzilla vs. Mothra" (stupidly re-titled "Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth"). Side A looks very good, with a very sharp image, nice vivid colours and not much print damage, and the same goes for Side B. In some of the darker scenes there can be a bit of grain, but it's generally very high quality, with no noticeable artifacting, rainbows or other transfer issues Of course you're probably thinking this is too good to be true - two films on one disc is superb condition, and of course you're right; the films were modified from widescreen to pan and scan, with is a real blow to the otherwise lovely print.
AUDIO QUALITY:
Both sides only have one option, and in both cases they are Toho's international English dubs presented in Dolby Surround 2.0. The actual quality is good, with no distortion or fuzzing (granted they're reasonably new tracks in any case), however they both sound quite weak, especially for those with home sound systems.
EXTRA FEATURES:
Side A and Side B both contain the same - theatrical trailers for the two feature films. They are presented in widescreen and are subtitled in English; it's pretty depressing when a trailer is in better condition than the film itself.
OVERALL:
Pretty much a barebones release overall. Sony claim to have modified the films ratios especially for the DVD release. Why they would purposely change existing widescreen prints into full screen is beyond me. It's truly a shame, because the actual image quality is better than Toho's very own domestic Region-2 releases of these films. The standard 2.0 audio only featuring Toho's poorly acted international dub doesn't help much either, and the only features on the disc are two (good condition) trailers. It's a good release if you simply "want them on DVD", but if you want more you should probably look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Go, go Godzilla., April 1 2004
By 
Chadwick H. Saxelid "Bookworm" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth (DVD)
After Godzilla 1984 (aka The Return of Godzilla) and Godzilla Vs Biollante, Toho resurrected two of its mightiest Godzilla series co-stars.
Godzilla Vs King Ghidorah was the first out at bat and quite 'controversial' for its supposed Anti-American stance (i.e. the bad boys from the future are predominantly western in appearance). The story is a time travel paradox laden hoot (Godzilla's existence is erased, yet everybody still knows about him?) and the final smackdown between the all new MECHA-King Ghidorah is a series classic. It's silly fun for fans.
Godzilla Versus Queen Mothra: Battle for the Earth was the biggest smash for the new series, and it is easy to see why. The fourth updated Godzilla movie is a colorful affair filled with something for every fantasy movie buff. The opening nod to the classic beginning of Raiders of the Lost Ark, not to mention the bridge gag clearly meant as a homage to Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom's bridge scene, will either have you grinning or sneering. Godzilla's stomping out of the molten lava pouring from an erupting Mt. Fuji is a classic Godzilla moment.
Fans of "The Big G" need no urging to put this in their collections. Too bad they aren't widescreen transfers, though. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cool special effects, but....., March 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth (DVD)
I just am not impressed with the 90's Godzilla movies. They look good of course, but with none of the charm or spirit of the 60's films. On this disc, GODZILLA VS KING GHIDORAH drastically changes the origin of the characters, and Godzilla just has no personality. The second film on the disc is a very inferior remake of GODZILLA VS THE THING(1964). There are a few very impressive scenes in these movies, but overall, I would suggest picking up GODZILLA VS MONSTER ZERO, and GODZILLA VS THE THING (GODZILLA VS MOTHRA) instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars G&M: Great Chapter in the Heisei Series. GVsKG: Not., March 12 2004
By 
Erik Morton "Erik Morton" (Carmel, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth (DVD)
GODZILLA VS KING GHIDORA: I remember loving this film, and thinking it was one of the best Godzilla movies I'd ever seen. So, I saw the VHS for ten bucks at Suncoast, and decided to pick it up and see if I still liked it as much. I didn't. Not by a long shot. Oh, where to begin . . . . . the battles: lackluster all the way. All Godzilla and King Ghidora do is stand in the same spot and shoot their energy beam fire breaths at eachother. This is a flaw that existed in all the Heisei series films following this one (i.e. the lack of actual physical fighting). Furthermore, the human story is pretty lame, too. I mainly mean the time travel part, which just doesn't make any sense. Okay, Godzilla was supposed to be erased from history, right? Well, everybody . . . . not just the people who went back in time, but EVERYBODY . . . . . talks about the Big G like he still existed the whole forty years that passed. It seems like no thought was put into it at all. Yeah, I know, this is a Kaiju-eiga, and the only real point (except for a select few) is seeing the giant monsters duke it out. Well, there are hardly any to be seen in this movie, and like I said, what is there is isn't very good at all. Heck, even the music by master Akira Ifukube was disappointing! And that says a lot, right there. In addition, I didn't like how they went back and saw Godzilla's origins. It was much, much better left unseen, as a mystery. Aside from the actual film, I just have to comment on the quality of the VHS. It was absolutely horrendous. I have VHS that're at least ten years old, and are of much better than this tape. Picture is blurry beyond belief, as is the sound. It resembles a taped-off-TV version. Maybe if I see it in a much better condition (like a remastered DVD edition or something), and in the original Japanese audio ('cause the dubbing sucks, by the way), I'd like it more. But not for now.
GODZILLA & MOTHRA: THE BATTLE FOR EARTH: This is the Heisei series film I grew up with. The plot is great, creating a new backstory for Mothra, and even adding in another great monster to boot: Battra, a.k.a. the Black Mothra. The special effects are also great, as is the Ifukube music. The presence of Mothra and the Cosmos allows Ifukube to explore certain territories yet uncharted in Godzilla films. His haunting rendition of the Mothra song, as well as the music playing when Mothra both forms and breaks out of her cocoon, are perfect examples. And of course, I have to mention the battle scenes: awesome. Godzilla's first clash with the Mothra and Battra larvae, is both exciting and humorous. In short, this is a great Godzilla flick, and one of my personal favorites. If I have one complaint to make, it's about the dubbing (of course). Now, this is obviously a major viewing problem for all American releases of Godzilla movies, but this one is made all the worse by two things: 1) The dubbing for the Cosmos, which does not work at all, and 2) The dubbing of the little girl. I don't know why, but whenever they try to dub children in these movies it always comes out really weird, sounding as if it's just some adult straining his/her voice really hard. But that aside, GODZILLA & MOTHRA is definitely one to see.
Obviously, I'm writing reviews for the VHS editions, and have not tried out this DVD. But I hear that it's not really a big improvement over the VHS. This is my great dream: that with the 50th Anniversary theatrical release of the original GODZILLA, uncut, undubbed & restored/remastered, they will continue to re-release all the Godzilla movies on DVD with the same clean-up jobs. Now, THAT would be heaven . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great films, but hold out for better editions!, Feb. 13 2004
This review is from: Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth (DVD)
Sony/TriStar needs to revist the two Godzilla films in this package and re-do them correctly. They are both worthwhile films in the long-running giant monster series, and they deserve better treatment than the shabby presentation they receive here.
The company has just made available three of the recent Godzilla films in widescreen editions with 5.1 sound and a choice of English dub or Japanese with subtitles: "Godzilla vs. Megaguirus," "Godzilla, Mothra, and King Ghidorah: Giant Monsters All-Out Attack," and "Godzilla Against MechaGodzilla." Unfortunately, everything right about those discs is wrong about this one. The films are pan-and-scan (ugh!), dubbed only (ick!), and in mono (ack!). And each one of these is done badly! The transfers are ugly, the dubbing is the usual poor job that Toho commissions on their own from Hong Kong (basically, whatever English-speakers they could nab, regardless of acting ability), and the mono wrecks the awesome Akria Ifukube score. On top of all this, the DVD producers also hack off the end credits, cutting off the brilliant end-title music before it gets going!
Both films are pretty much wrecked by their DVD presentations, and considering Sony's sudden new approach to Godzilla DVDs, I would bet they are planning to eventually release "Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah" and "Godzilla and Mothra: Battle for Earth" in single disc packages with Japanese language options, widescreen transfers, and stereo soundtracks. I recommend skipping this lesser package and waiting for Sony to get out better editions.
Both films, when seen properly, are awesome examples of the 1990s "Heisei" Godzilla series (the name for the second series of G-films). "Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah" is one of the best, involving the Big-G in a scheme by evil time-travelers to destroy Japan. It's an interesting approach to a Godzilla film, mixing in elements of "The Terminator" and "Jurassic Park" (the scenes in WWII are a unique departure from the typical giant monster formula, with an "average sized dinosaur" monster instead). The titanic battle between Godzilla and the three-headed golden dragon (with robotic implements) King Ghidorah in downtown Japan for the finale is among the four or five best monster battles in history. The whole film is a heck of a ride.
"Godzilla and Mothra: Battle for Earth" is a gentler film meant to appeal to a wider audience (which it did; it was a huge hit in Japan). Godzilla ravages the country once again, while the appointed Guardians of Life and Earth, Mothra and his dark twin Battra, battle it out between each other. The story is simple and metaphysical, and Godzilla is really the supporting character here, but the film is still a lot of fun. The final fight is a tussle between Godzilla and the two flying foes in an amusement park in Yokohama, and it's another show-stopper.
Good as the films are, I can't recommend this DVD set. Chances are, you'll soon have the opportunity to nab both in better packages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Godzilla, Oct. 6 2002
By 
Dr. Freeman (Perry, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth (DVD)
This are two of the best Godzilla movies ive seen. Much better than the Godzilla of old. Having grown up on 1950's and 60's sci-fi i have to say i wasnt impressed with Godzilla until this fairly recent make over. Excellant special effects and a great story lines. Battle for Earth was very well done but its King Ghidora that really got me going. The story line was excellent with time travel, a flying saucer and of course the King. If you havnt seen Godzilla for awhile, take a look at this great double feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Double Baddie, April 30 2002
By 
Nicole Morrissette (Londonderry, NH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth (DVD)
Hold onto your hats! In this double feature DVD, Godzilla is the bad guy in both movies. Being a huge Godzilla fan since birth, I've found Godzilla DVDs much more fun than videos. Since this is probably the only double DVD out there (time could change this) where Godzilla is the enemy both times, it only makes this one that much more entertaining. Let's be honest; everyone who is a true Godzilla fan knows the big guy is at his best when he's crushing Tokyo for no reason other than he can. So, G fans, what are you waiting for? Let the Stomp-a-thon begin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Coolest Godzilla Movies!, April 5 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth (DVD)
These movies are packed with action and adventure and have never ending turns and twists!
Godzilla vs. Mothra,Battle For Earth is about three explorers travel to an island,near with a meator landed.They then discover a giant egg and two girls smaller then a flower!But the egg hatches and forms the worm Mothra,while the metor hatches into the worm Batra!But when then two worms turn into giant flying super insects,there is a fight for surival ...P>Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah is about three time travelers from the 23rd century who come to warn that Godzilla will destroy Japan. The timetravelers take a writer and a team of scientists to the time of the dinosaur,Godzilla before it was exposed to nuecelar energy.But when the beast,King Ghidorah takes Godzilla`s place,the scientist`s only choice is to reive Godzilla!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla and Mothra: The Battle for Earth
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 10.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews