Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy of an aging rock star attempting a come back!
Great cast! Bill Nighy is fantastic in this! You should catch him in The Girl In The Cafe as well.
Published 10 months ago by DavewhammybarMac

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why is amazon.CA selling stuff from Italy???
I live in Canada, that's why I use Amazon.ca, never expected my movie would come from Italy!!
Dvd case is all Italian
Won't play in my player of course, because it is from Italy.
Not happy
Published 6 months ago by Wayne Thiessen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy of an aging rock star attempting a come back!, Sept. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Still Crazy (DVD)
Great cast! Bill Nighy is fantastic in this! You should catch him in The Girl In The Cafe as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really underrated movie, Aug. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Still Crazy (DVD)
If you're a Billy Connolly fan you'll love this movie. Well written. The only problem which was my fault is it is in the European format. I had to download a converter & change it over to NTSF from Pal format & burn it onto a DVD again, it was easy enough to do..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, April 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Still Crazy (DVD)
Funny flick, couple of decent songs. Have watched it two or three time over the years, will watch it again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great characters, fun times, Feb. 21 2013
By 
LPierce (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Still Crazy (DVD)
Been wanting to have this in our collection for a while.
Excellent spoof of the vintage rock world.
Worth it to see Jimmy Nails perform and check out Bill Nighy's infinite minute facial expressions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Has Never Been So Humourous!, Jan. 5 2004
By 
TemporaryOne (Orlando, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Still Crazy (DVD)
This movie is tremendous for uplifting the Spirits.
To begin, the soundtrack is unbelievable. Mick Jones (Foreigner) and Chris Difford (Squeeze) penned the songs, making Strange Fruit the best thing that ever hit today's music scene.
Unfortunately, Strange Fruit are a strictly fictitional band of the late 1960's to early 1970's. To complicate matters, they were never a hit to begin with, due to drug use and inner fighting. One wonders what might have been, while listening to their fanatastic music play throughout.
The Fruit draw inspiration from The Rolling Stones, Deep Purple, David Bowie, and The Who.
Each member of Fruit are quite memorable.
Stephen Rea stars as down-and-dead-broke Tony Costello, who is asked by a festival promoter to reunite his band for a reunion tour, with hopes of reaping monetary benefits. Costello haply approaches ex-roadie Karen Knowles, played by Juliet Aubrey, to help him rekindle the flame of a dream long past.
Juliet gathers up the bitter rhythm guitarist Jimmy Nail (Les Wickes), blundering Timothy Spall (David 'Beano' Baggot), and the extravagantly glamouresque lead singer Ray Simms (Bill Nighy). Tumbling in is another ex-roadie, the hippy-toker-jokester Hughie (Billy Connolly), who never let the flame burn out.
As Juliet searches for the last member of their motley band, the elusive lead guitarist-songwriter Brian Lovell (played by the brooding Bruce Robinson), the reunited members squabble, just like old times, fighting over long lost memories.
The band is then given the chance to do a small Dutch tour, to prepare for their promised festival. With young Hendrix-like Luke Shand (Hans Matheson) taking the place of Lovell, the crew hits the road. The sparks fly as their memories flame forward, threatening to burn their unfinished goals...
Be prepared to laugh, sing, cheer, and cry, as these memorable characters etch themselves into your hearts...
"And the flame still burns
It's there in my soul for that unfinished goal
And the flame still burns
From a glimmer and then, it lights up again
In my life"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why is amazon.CA selling stuff from Italy???, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Still Crazy (DVD)
I live in Canada, that's why I use Amazon.ca, never expected my movie would come from Italy!!
Dvd case is all Italian
Won't play in my player of course, because it is from Italy.
Not happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, April 15 2010
By 
This review is from: Still Crazy (DVD)
Do you like films about bands playing rock or pop music - for example, "Standing in the Shadow of Motown" and "Almost Famous"? If you do, chances are you'll like this film. It's a good story about a bunch of aging rockers getting their band back together. The script is well-written and the cast is excellent. The result is an entertaining and relaxed romp, filled with humour and witty insights, and tinged with the melancholy of missed opportunities and the toll of aging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good film, Feb. 23 2004
By 
C. A. Marasco "cab91" (Alexandria, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Crazy (DVD)
We rented this on impulse because it had Billy Connolly. The description reminded us of This Is Spinal Tap (which we love) and we greatly enjoyed the movie. Bill Nighy's clueless Ray was really wonderful and Stephen Rea as keyboardist Tony Costello was enjoyable to watch but the scene-stealer was Timothy Spall's Bilbo Baggot, the drummer. I just about fell off my seat when he finds out that his most vivid memory of touring is when the Fruit played the Hollywood Bowl--only to hear they never played there. And Billy Connolly is always a treat to watch, whatever he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I`m Not Too Crazy About It, Feb. 4 2004
By 
This review is from: Still Crazy (VHS Tape)
This british movie about a 70`s rock band named "Strange Fruit" that makes a comeback isn`t funny enough to be a sucessful comedy neither deep enough to qualify as a drama. It`s a competent, at times moving picture, not too memorable but mildly enjoyable. The acting is fine, but the plot, that focuses the band members effort to became famous again, isn`t very absorbing or grabbing.
What we end up having here is a little movie about the music business, showing how those who had sucess in their youth react when they aren`t so stellar today and have to deal with their aging process. Mildly interesting, even if it`s another movie to watch once and be done with it. I`m not sorry I watched it, but I don`t feel the need to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Crazy, Dec 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Still Crazy (VHS Tape)
wow! much too short, quite inspiring, and altogether wonderful! don't miss it, and stick with it to the very end of the titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Still Crazy
Still Crazy by Brian Gibson (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 24.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews