Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's All In The Name
Let us remember, the book is named "The HUNT for Zero Point". It's not "The Case for..." or "The Physics of..." I think the author cleverly hides a double-entendre in plain sight within the title. Has anti-gravity has been sought after? Does the author track down a possible history of this search? The book presents exactly what its title implies.
It's a...
Published on Feb. 23 2004 by T150

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A content-free conspiracy thriller
This book is terrible. Though Cook's style keeps you turning the pages, after reading 270 pages slackjawed and credulous adulation of every snake-oil salesman to cross his path you'll find that you have no better understanding of the physics of gravity than when you started. This is a work utterly devoid of scientific rigor.
Published on Jan. 13 2004 by Kyle Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's All In The Name, Feb. 23 2004
By 
T150 (Irvine, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hunt for Zero Point: Inside the Classified World of Antigravity Technology (Paperback)
Let us remember, the book is named "The HUNT for Zero Point". It's not "The Case for..." or "The Physics of..." I think the author cleverly hides a double-entendre in plain sight within the title. Has anti-gravity has been sought after? Does the author track down a possible history of this search? The book presents exactly what its title implies.
It's a sufficiently presented trail of evidence, considering how elusive the subject is to begin with. There IS a Sam Spade tone, but it doesn't get in the way; your brain can filter it. The author doesn't plead a case for anti-gravity; he merely studies the possibility that development has taken place and ultimately, where that development might be today. By the end, you can easily follow his reasoning. Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, June 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hunt for Zero Point: Inside the Classified World of Antigravity Technology (Paperback)
This book is great example of someone writing with a passion for searching for the truth. Well documented, the author takes us back to the early days of rocket development to search out if indeed we truly have man-made UFOs and the secret of anti-gravity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOW TO LEARN TO LOVE THE BOMB, PART II, June 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hunt for Zero Point: Inside the Classified World of Antigravity Technology (Paperback)
How does one develop and exploit technology that can provide tunable "death rays," great anti-missile, anti-arty, anti-meteor defense, unlimited cheap energy, "flying saucer" spacetime travel, unlimited supplies of potable water, remediate nuclear pollution, enrich nuclear material, alter atomic structure, manipulate massenergy (i.e. increase or reduce gravitational/inertial mass, alter the weather, create seismic disturbances, "tractor beams," etc.), see through walls, and offer instantaneous, secure communications, among other things, but also provide a weapon that can sufficiently disrupt spacetime to destroy an entire planet? One needs a secret international, if not intra-galactic, extra-governmental military-industrial complex control group of some really stand-up guys. Or, let's at least hope they're "stand-up" since we don't exactly elect them. Let's also hope that all that power does not go to their heads! This book will help you understand a very small part of this story, namely what some of the sons of Adam figured out and built in massive underground complexes in Nazi-occupied Central Europe some six decades ago and how, with the help of the OSS at the fall of the Third Reich, a certain thoroughly evil genius for organization and intrigue named Hans Kammler, came west with the fruits of this technology after killing as many people who worked on it as possible. Think he might have taught us anything? If I have any fault with this book, it is that I could not help but suspect that the author, Nick Cook, editor of Janes Defence - Aviation, is not entirely the uninformed, naive, outside investigator that he protrays himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In and Out of the Shadows, March 14 2004
By 
Codes04 (Fort Collins, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hunt for Zero Point: Inside the Classified World of Antigravity Technology (Paperback)
In this shadowy world of antigravity, there is deliberate deception and false stories pointing to UFO's, and then ridiculing that possibility by others. People are whipped around by propaganda worthy of "1984". Nick Cook writes an excellent undercover book in The Hunt for Zero Point, but I am left wondering if he is participating in truth-telling, or deception, or both? It's well written, intriguing, and I cannot see any reason why anyone wouldn't like this book. But....at the end, is it true? My opinion is that antigravity is a deep black program and a lot of UFO sightings are sightings of already flying disc craft of human origin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing Past The Edge, Sept. 23 2003
By 
David G. Yurth "Dr Innovator" (Holladay, Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hunt for Zero Point: Inside the Classified World of Antigravity Technology (Paperback)
The Hunt For Zero Point demonstrates that the science we practice today is not representative of the way Nature works. While attempting to unravel the troubling clues associated with anti-gravity research, as part of his official work as Aerospace Consultant for Jane's Defence Weekly, Cook discovers a much more important, immensely disturbing secret. Science fiction writers have long incorporated casual references to technologies which harness the power of gravitational and electro-magnetic forces, send messages across the vast expanses of space without time lag, produce energy without consuming combustibles, drive vehicles at velocities in excess of the speed of light, move backwards and forwards in time, as if such things are possible simply because they are within the conceptual grasp of human consciousness. What Cook discovered, and what his book describes, is that much of the revolutionary technology attributed to science fiction already exists. By itself, this discovery is worthy of his efforts.
What is most disturbing about his book is the realization, after ten years of tracking the clues around the globe and verifying that many of the technologies already exist, that the people who made the first critical breakthroughs were the same people who perpetrated the Holocaust. Worse yet is his discovery that many of the people who engineered the machinations of the Third Reich were subsequently hired by the United States Government, given blanket immunity and protected from prosecution in exchange for their support of the development of these revolutionary technologies. Even more disturbing is the discovery that the technologies themselves are being successfully developed in secret and deliberately withheld from public access to protect powerful private sector interests.
The technological breakthroughs described in Cook's wonderful book are all the technologies which are needed to heal the planet, feed the hungry, preserve the environment, and enable sustainable economic and commercial development. Who would resist the introduction of technologies which rise to these challenges? What if we could tap the zero point energy field and deliver electrical power so cheaply and globally as to make it unnecessary to meter it? What if we could drive all our transportation needs without reliance on combustible fuels? What if we could journey to the stars without worrying about the exigencies of time? What if we could purify water, remediate radioactive emissions from nuclear waste and restore ecological balance to the planet in a way that works for everyone? Who would stand in the way of such progress?
In our work as scientists and researchers, we have accumulated a body of knowledge which explains the workings of Nature in a way that accommodates the phenomena Cook describes. By amending the Standard Model of modern physics to comply with current knowledge, we are able to validate the conclusions presented in his impeccably documented work and explain how such things operate in a way that is understandable by any reasonably educated person. The most significant contribution made by Cook's work is the presentation of the concepts related to Zero Point research in such a way as to make them both understandable and palatable. That his explanations are validated by hard evidence is the essential point.
His work is well conceived, compellingly written and fundamentally correct in both its science and its conclusions. It's a genuinely enlightening read. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nazis in the Sky with Diamonds, Feb. 24 2004
By 
Kevin Seeger "DudeSeeg" (Woodland Hills, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an interesting book. The author is a British aerospace journalist, who is up on his cutting edge technology. The subject is his personal quest to uncover, between assignments, the covert science of our government which operates in the "black" beyond public scrutiny. The style is a first person action narrative in which most of the action is a guy researching on the internet and making important phone calls while his plane is boarding. This is where I knock off the 5th star, as a journalist adventure story written by a technician is sometimes not such a page turner.
The titular zero point is the inexhaustable energy that exists in the quantum foam of our universe, which thus far has been proven to be there, but has not yet been harnessed. Obviously, the government who gets at it first will rule the planet for some time.
Cook does some stellar research to make real world sense out of the legends and myths that have arisen from the ashes of WWII. He discovers the truth behind the rumors that the Nazis were building flying saucers towards the end of the war. He also reveals the great genius of the American conquistadors was in their highly efficient absorbtion of German secret technology and scientists at the close of the war.
We all know that the Germans invented (discovered?) quantum mechanics in the early part of the century, and the Nazis had workable technology far in advance of the Allies during the war. We also know that the greatest of the German scientists did work for America upon conclusion of the war, and were the engineers that put us on the moon a couple of decades later. What we don't know is what else they were working on.
The best part of this book for me was the introduction to the little remembered Nazi, Hans Kammler, who was literally the architect of the concentration camps. By the end of the war, Kammler had usurped all of the power that Himmler's SS had usurped from Hitler. Kammler pioneered the state-within-a-state concept with his unregulated think tank in Prague conducting experiments at the very fringe of conventional science. There is compelling evidence that Kammler would have been among the war criminals repatriated to America, and with him came his technology, and frighteningly, his state-within-a-state design, which came to be the modern structure of our military-industrial complex. The good news is that he was by all rights belonging to the Soviets, as they were promised the Czech Republic, but in a good showing of bad faith, Patton went in and got the goods before the Reds arrived.
The final analysis seems to be that anti-gravity is a workable technology, but not one that we yet fully understand. Mass reduction can be achieved in the laboratory, as can levitation and transmutation of metals, but it is unpredictable and more akin to poltergeist activity than science. The science will not go mainstream until there is an easily digestable formula which underpins and predicts consistent results.
Meanwhile, the ongoing experimentation of anti-gravity propulsion takes place at such black locations as Area 51, and most probably accounts for the majority of UFO sightings around the globe. The day does not seem far off when some scientist will successfully sap into the zero point energy, which was predicted by Nikola Tesla a century ago. Let's hope it's the good guys (private sector Americans) that get there first. Unlimited energy = good thing. Controlled by Naziesque government rogues = bad thing.
Another interesting aspect of this cutting edge technology is the odd effect on space-time that can be achieved with high-RPM superconductive magnetrons. Is it possible that in attempting to build a viable flying saucer, the Nazis were actually attempting to build a time machine? It is notable that many alien abduction experiences claim to have seen soldiers in uniform aboard the offending ship. Betty Hill's 1961 account being the first and most famous. Strange days indeed. Mengele escaped to Argentina and Kammler escaped to the 5th dimension, only to torment us with continued genetic experimentation. Most peculiar, Momma. I'd like to presume the Nazis were defeated and not that they now control space-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great scientific detective story, Feb. 8 2004
By 
A Customer (Minnetonka, mn United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hunt for Zero Point: Inside the Classified World of Antigravity Technology (Paperback)
Anti-gravity, Zero Point Energy, Torsion Fields and time warps are the stuff of science fiction - right?
Well maybe not quite. Nick Cook delivers a book that deserves careful consideration. He follows the data and comes to incredible revelations. Perhaps, there is a way to either shield gravity or to produce an anti-gravity effect. Maybe there is more energy resting in a show box than all the oil fields and nuclear power plants dotting the globe. And what if the speed of light is not the boundary we have come to believe it is?
Before you discard the notion, I dare you to read the book and then go to your browser and start looking up names or places or ideas. There is a wealth of knowledge out there that is way outside the box.
Coupled with a tremendous scientific story are the efforts by the American government to keep much of this technology under wraps and behind closed doors. The black world (as Cook calls it) rarely meets the white world.
For anyone remotely interested in cutting edge technology, this is a must must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating..., Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I certainly found this a page turner with its semi-detective story style. I admit it wasn't what I had initially expected, but what it is is right in the title: The HUNT For Zero Point, and not the CASE or PROOF of it.

The simple truth is much of what we take for granted today was once the realm of science fiction and fantasy to prior generations. And for quite some time now scientists have been telling us that reality and how the universe really works is much stranger than what our everyday experience otherwise suggests. At the quantum level (as I understand it) things don't behave according to Newtonian or perhaps even Einsteinian rules.

There is a compelling notion behind this narrative---that revolutionary ideas are often hidden away until certain powers decide when it's most advantageous for them to allow those ideas to see the light of day. And it's only today, in the past decade or so, that some of these ideas are beginning to surface in broader public forums. And much of it is in the realm of what many of us relegated to science fiction. But put in context, if zero point energy and antigravity, along with everything that goes with them, had actually been introduced in the 1950s-60s it conceivably could have completely undermined vast tracts of technological, military and economic infrastructure. Jet and rocket technology, electric and nuclear power as well as the oil industry could have been brought to their knees. Perhaps one could even make a case that society and the world wasn't yet ready for this science to go mainstream.

It's pretty much a given that many things are done away from plain view and such work creeps into the sunlight in a piecemeal fashion. This book illustrates that it's certainly not a new practice of the powerful and influential and never has been. The book doesn't make a case that zero point and antigravity are in fact for real, but that research for it has been going on for several decades and strongly suggests real fruit from that research. I found it particularly compelling when the author cites examples of possible actual antigravity techonolgy existing unrecognized right before our eyes.

Given enough years you come to realize that truth can often be much stranger than fiction. Things you can't possible imagine happening can often actually happen given the right circumstances. The book certainly does leave you with some question marks, but if nothing else at least it makes you think perhaps a little more critically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A content-free conspiracy thriller, Jan. 13 2004
By 
Kyle Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hunt for Zero Point: Inside the Classified World of Antigravity Technology (Paperback)
This book is terrible. Though Cook's style keeps you turning the pages, after reading 270 pages slackjawed and credulous adulation of every snake-oil salesman to cross his path you'll find that you have no better understanding of the physics of gravity than when you started. This is a work utterly devoid of scientific rigor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunt for Zero Point: Inside the Classified World of Antigravity Technology
CDN$ 18.00 CDN$ 13.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews