Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Parisian Adventure
Great read for Paris lovers. Written with a lot of humour and I am told by a Paris addict that it portrays life in Paris as it really is. Lots of great recipes as well that I can't wait to try. David Lebovitz is a witty and intelligent writer and has scored another hit.
Published on Aug. 3 2009 by Book Worm

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sweet Life in Paris
An enjoyable book but it is "very light". David has written the book with interest and humor. Inside are recipies which are always fun to try and make the book more interesting. Having encountered the AMAZING city of Paris many times,The Sweet Life in Paris is an enjoyable read, but not a very "exciting" one perhaps due to the writing style. It just doesnt give Paris...
Published on Nov. 21 2009 by Babs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Parisian Adventure, Aug. 3 2009
By 
Book Worm (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great read for Paris lovers. Written with a lot of humour and I am told by a Paris addict that it portrays life in Paris as it really is. Lots of great recipes as well that I can't wait to try. David Lebovitz is a witty and intelligent writer and has scored another hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really nice!, June 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious - and Perplexing - City (Paperback)
Funny stories (and so true) about parisians. The recipes are nice, easy and accessible for everyday cooks, not complicated. The author even searched for replacements ingredients when some special french ones are not available in North America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all foodies and lovers of Paris, Aug. 20 2009
By 
This book has very quickly become one of my favorites! If you love Paris and food this is the perfect book for you. David Lebovitz is hilarious and has a writing style that will make you laugh out loud. His accounts of the Parisian lifestyle will tickle the funny bone of anyone who has visited. The recipes are sprinkled throughout the book and are wonderful and very easy to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious - and Perplexing - City, Nov. 22 2009
The title says it all. The author regales us with his (sometimes hilarious) stories of the idiosyncrasies of an American living in Paris. The descriptions of the city are rich - they make you want to go and check out the venues described for yourself. The fabulous recipes at the end of each section are a wonderful bonus. You have to read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!!, Dec 30 2010
By 
pud (white rock, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
I love David L. and his wonderful blog ([...]). His books are funny, mouth watering and satisfying. This book contains so many hilarious stories about life amongst Parisians-all the frustrations and joys of living and cooking in Paris. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very important book on Paris, May 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very interesting for the ones interested in Paris, not just a kitchen book but one on the life in Paris, if you want to go to Paris you need to reed this book, I have loved it, I know Paris pretty well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, light read., March 24 2014
By 
Vanessa (Wasaga Beach, ON) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a thoroughly entertaining book. Much of it laugh-out-loud funny. The struggle of the author to acclimate to his new life in France is endearing, and you admire his resolve.
The recipes at the end of each chapter are a nice little treat and sound fantastic. I can't wait to try them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As a travellers to Paris, I always wondered about ..., Sept. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious - and Perplexing - City (Paperback)
As a travellers to Paris, I always wondered about a few things. David has made those Parisian idiocyncrasies very clear.
I laughed a lot and now have a greater understanding of parisians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sweet Life in Paris, Nov. 21 2009
By 
Babs (Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An enjoyable book but it is "very light". David has written the book with interest and humor. Inside are recipies which are always fun to try and make the book more interesting. Having encountered the AMAZING city of Paris many times,The Sweet Life in Paris is an enjoyable read, but not a very "exciting" one perhaps due to the writing style. It just doesnt give Paris the descriptive attention it deserves. Hence the three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the flashback., Jan. 10 2012
By 
Lorna Zelinsky "psychosmom" (Winnipeg, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious - and Perplexing - City (Paperback)
Having been to Paris a few years ago and also an adventurous cook/baker I really enjoyed this book and look forward to making more of the recipes it contains. The hilarious descriptions of the various people were what we also experienced in our short time there so it was easy to visualize the rest. Tried the chocolate cake first but overcooked it a bit. Will try it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious - and Perplexing - City
CDN$ 16.00 CDN$ 11.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews