Customer Reviews


859 Reviews
5 star:
 (724)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Filled Adventure in 17th Century Scotland
When I first heard of this book and all the positive hype, I was skeptical. It's a book that is hard to classify as just one genre. It's part historical novel, romance, suspense, action, and science fiction. I right away wonder how much romance was in it, you see, I don't mind some, but I don't like true chick lit or Harlequin romance. However, the more I heard about...
Published on Dec 2 2007 by Teddy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Outlander Never Really Grabbed Me
Read this book on the recommendation of friends who are huge Diana Gabaldon fans and have devoured the entire series of Outlander books. Sorry, I dont share their slavish praise.

While I enjoyed the book and the time travel story of a woman going back to Jacobite Scotland in 1744 by passing through some ancient highland stones. I found it soooo long, thought it...
Published 11 months ago by James A. Anderson


‹ Previous | 183 84 85 86 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and meandering, Oct. 2 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Outlander (Mass Market Paperback)
I was very intrigued by the basic premise of this book, and for the first couple of chaptures, I enjoyed the writing style and the characters. However, it just seemed to fall flat after that. The time travel theme seemed to be just an initial hook, and it wasn't followed through.
If I were sucked through a time vortex, I don't think I could easily forget my husband, the conveniences of this century, and the advances that women have made. There were no contrasts made between this time and then--the time travel aspect was merely a contrivance to give a new twist to an poorly-contrived, long-winded, and ultimately tedious novel about two people who spent most of their time boinking.
There was little continuity in this book--it consisted of violence, forced closeness, lust, conflict, violence, lust, fixation on sodomy, violence, more gratuitous violence, lust, and a very weird resolution of the resultant psychic scars.
I wouldn't waste my money on this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, July 2 1998
By A Customer
I found this book to be boring and predicable. 600 pages of 2 characters running around in a little circle. First, let's devise a little adventure. Let's jump into bed and have great sex. Let's do it again. Let's do it again and again and again. Boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Interesting in spots, but with some serious problems, Oct. 25 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Outlander (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book on a recommendation from a friend who told me that it was not a romance novel. I quickly found that statement to be inaccurate, but continued to read because I was intrigued by some aspects of the book and Jamie was a very appealing hero. Ultimately I found myself wishing that I had spent the time reading something else.
I had two main problems with the book. First, I would have preferred less violence, especially violence associated with sex. I don't find rape or spousal abuse romantic. The second problem was that there were only 2 homosexual characters and they are both evil rapists. In one case it was stated straight out that the man was evil because he was gay. I found this unnecessary and really distasteful.
I ceratinly won't be spending any of my limited free time reading the sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely dreadful., March 28 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Outlander (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is nothing but soft-core pornography and endless scenes of rape and torture. The premise was interesting: the heroine, nurse Claire, is sent back in time to Scotland. Even though Claire is happily married in her own time, she meets and marries a young Scotsman, Jamie. I had trouble believing that the two characters could possibly be attracted to each other. Claire just seems cold and uninteresting. Jamie is much too immature for an older, married woman. I saw nothing about them that made me believe that there was anything "timeless" about their relationship. They seemed to have nothing in common outside of the bedroom. At one point Jamie asks Claire "Is this normal? This wanting you all the time?" The reader is supposed to believe that the relationship is somehow different from the norm, but there is absolutely nothing out of the ordinary about it. Claire and Jamie are simply going through that "I've got to have you now" phase that we all experience at the beginning of a romance.
I was particularly shocked during one scene in the book, where Jamie beats Claire so hard that she is in pain for days afterward. This is all treated with a wink and smile, instead of as the wife abuse that it is. We could try to argue that Jamie was simply a victim of his time, and that that is way things were done "back then." But to what purpose? It would have made the hero seem much more mature and compassionate if he'd thrown his upbringing out the door and told Claire "This is the way it's usually done, but I love you too much to ever cause you harm."
Part of the problem is that this book could have been so much more, but wasn't. I expected to see Claire, with her knowledge of future medicine, crying, wishing for antibiotics and desperately trying to save the life of some Scottish child with smallpox or some other illness. Instead, the only person she ever tries to heal is Jamie, after his neverending role as the professional victim. She seems not to care at all about the people surrounding her. Her only interest is in bedding Jamie as quickly and often as possible. I found Claire to be a selfish, cold, silly heroine. I couldn't identify with her at all.
This was a first for me. I actually threw this book in the trash after I read it. I was afraid that someone with a little intelligence might stop by my house and see that I'd actually paid for and read a book that is so abysmally awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring! Couldn't get past the first chapter, May 22 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Outlander (Mass Market Paperback)
Usually a good author tries to grip you with the first few pages. I gave this book a whole chapter, and couldn't feel anything for any of the main characters. A whiney husband, and his ditsy wife go visiting vicars and tea-leaf readers. No thanks. I had just gotten done with Memoirs of a Geisha, and I'm sorry, but reading this book after Memoirs is like eating a Big Mac after having filet mignion the night before. I don't recommend this book unless you are a very forgiving reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, July 13 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Outlander (Mass Market Paperback)
I love romance, adventure and/or time travel books. But I was very disapointed in this book. The violence was just too much for me to take. There should have been a warning about the graphic descriptions of rape and torture. I found it not only unnecessary, but very distracting to what could have been a really good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blah, May 6 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Outlander (Mass Market Paperback)
One of the most boring books I have ever tried to read. I love reading, I love romances, but I simply could not spend any more of my time on this book. Needless to say, I dont think I will ever try to read this author's work again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn, March 24 2002
By 
S. HADAVI "sinead" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outlander (Mass Market Paperback)
...I thought this book was worth reading;not so. Thankfully I obtained this from the library. The characters did not envoke sympathy,neither were they cerdible. Claire the heroine is not convincing her character does not react credibly when she is propelled back in time.Jamie the hero is nasty piece of work and a weakling.He beat Claire because she had disobeyed him, and Gabaldon strives to portray him as decent. As for the character Black Jack Randall where did Gabaldon get him from, he was utterly unbelievable.The scene where he abuses Jamie was banal, burlesque.
Which woman(especially one has lived through WW2) would be intimate of her own free will with someone who had violently beaten her black and blue.As for the Gaeilge, please spare me, as a fluent gaeilge speaker, Ms Gababaldon should have researched this properly; mo dhuine does not mean my brown one, Laoghaire is not a girls name. Also the child birth scene is ridiculous, it read as though it was in this century not the eighteenth. Reading this was tedious, I only finished it because I had paid to borrow it; and it help me fall asleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars True to Life Scottish Novel - Ha!, Aug. 24 2000
By 
Marion Collins (Glen Allen, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outlander (Mass Market Paperback)
Well - I've read half of Outlander and I'm sorry Diana Gabaldon, but I won't be finishing it.
I wondered when it was first recommended to me by an American friend, whether the author had actually spent any time in Scotland. A few pages into the book and I knew the answer - a resounding "No"! There are many differences between the US and the UK, one of them being their different electrical switch orientation - i.e. when Claire switches the light switch down, she would have, in fact, made sure that they were in bright light and not the ambient candlelight she wished. Secondly, no Scot in their right mind would put cream in their tea!
I rest my case.
This is a fine book for you silly Americans but not for the Scots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of the worst books I've read., Sept. 25 2011
By 
CanadianMother (Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I hesitate to review this book, since my opinion on it is obviously vastly different from the large number of rabid fans it has. Perhaps I was expecting too much from a romance novel. This is a genre I stay away from, as a rule, but as several people had enthusiastically recommended Outlander to me I thought it wouldn't hurt to give it a try.

Thank goodness I only took it out from the library and didn't waste my money on it. This book was painful to read. I managed to slog through the first 50 pages and then brought it back to the library in disgust.

What was so bad about it? For starters, the writing is terrible. Terrible! Gabaldon routinely uses overwrought, flowery prose that borders on the ridiculous. She is trying very hard to sound like a much better writer than she really is. Secondly, the heroine, Claire, is highly unlikeable. She pouts and rolls her eyes, swears like a sailor and yells at every man she meets. She is downright rude to her husband, and in her heart disdains everything that is important to him. Yet of course, her husband, and later Jamie, is passionately in love with her. Why? I'm not sure. Perhaps because she doesn't wear underwear?

I flipped briefly through the book before I returned it and was appalled to see how quickly Claire completely forgets her husband. From what I can tell, the last part of the book is repeated gratuitous sex scenes. How boring, and in my mind repellent considering Claire is still married to Frank, who loves her, back in 1945.

Lastly, I thought that the author completely ignored an aspect of the story which may have actually been interesting: What would a woman from 1945 think and feel if she was suddenly dropped into the year 1743? Apparently Claire gets used to the different world pretty darn quick, and spends more time thinking about having sex with Jamie than about her unusual surroundings. I suppose though, it IS a romance novel, so I might have expected that sex would be the center of the story.

Well, what more can I say? I'm sorry I wasted a few hours of my life reading this trashy and poorly written excuse for a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 183 84 85 86 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7c2412c)

This product

Outlander
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 9 2001)
CDN$ 12.99 CDN$ 11.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews