summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 16, 2016
Brought as a gift for a person who loves his music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2014
The best of Leonard Cohen selected from his vast volume of work - an excellent sampler for the uninitiated. Brought back many memories of the Susannes of yesteryear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
How can you not like Leonard Cohen ? I have been listening to his music for many years and he is also a great Canadian. Now, I'll be able to enjoy his words more and at my leisure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2012
In 1996, I received this book as a present from my (then) best friend. I remember being initially skeptical of "Stranger Music: Selected Poems and Songs", and wondering, 'What can this old man tell me about life?' Leonard Cohen could tell me plenty, apparently: life, love, beauty, sex, passion, death, religion. His words spoke to me and now they continue to resonate with me.

The friendship with my friend has since ended; however, this book has now become one of my most favourite and prized possessions. It's the perfect starting place for anyone who is curious about Leonard Cohen's work or is looking for poetry that is beautiful (and accessible), It is truly a wonderful anthology.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2004
I've been reading Leonard Cohen since I was 13 and in love with the words "freakish nipples". In Stranger Music, I find myself presented with a feast of words by the man I crushed on from the first moment I heard his voice.
My copy is dog-eared and coffee stained after years of returning to it again and again. Covering everything he's ever written in as lush a way as a volume this tightly edited will allow, everyone will find something to fall in love with in this book.
Highly recommended and I'd say that even if I wasn't crazy in love with him. ;)
Feith
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2002
As a man once said, "James Joyce is not dead. He's living in Montreal under the name of Leonard Cohen."
Stranger Music is an amazing book. I can't stress this enough, it's poetry in action and Cohen's words sing themselves off of the page and into your mind. This is the type of stuff that stays with you. This is the type of stuff that people can live their whole lives and only hope to write.
Stranger Music is an excellent book, even for people whom might otherwise be down on poetry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2002
I usually hate "mushy" stuff. "Sense and Sensibility" makes me nauseous, poetic descriptions of nature bore me to tears. Early exposure to "romantic" poetry convinced me that it's not my cup of tea. However, I must admit that I misjudged the genre. L.Cohen writes beautiful and touching material. It was absolutely wonderful. Even if you (like me previously) admire only Dr.Seuss, give it a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2001
Leonard Cohen is one of the best rock poets going. He has received less aclaim than some of the other rock poets like Jim Morrison, Lou Reed and Bob Dylan. That is really a shame because Cohen has produced a pretty extraordinary body of work.
He published his first volume of poetry in 1956. His first album of music came out in 1967. Stranger Music is a selection of poems and lyrics from his entire career. It provides 400 pages of material. One will quickly realize that Cohen has had an amazing career. I especially like the lyrics. "The Future" is a CD that seems to find its way into my player a lot. Even though, the lyrics are on the CD sleeve, it is nice to see them in a book. One will gain an appreciation for how poetic Cohen's lyrics are. (The same is true for Dylan. There is something special about great poetic lyrics getting placed in book form.)
This book also contains generous samplings of his early books like "Beautiful Losers" and "Flowers For Hitler". Cohen manages to straddle the line between emotional intensity and sheer intellectualism. This collection will allow one to examine a great, often time underlooked career. It is some of the best English language poetry of the 20th Century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2001
Leonard Cohen is... I cannot find a single word to describe him. He is enigmatic. He is eclectic. He is iconoclastic. He is all of these things, and many, many more. Read this book and you will understand. This book includes a wide variety of his poems throughout the years, including selections from all 8 of his original volumes of poetry (The Energy of Slaves and Death of A Lady's Man are particularly well represented), as well as poems from his first anthology, selections from his novel Beautiful Losers, and 11 previously unpublished poems. Also included are lyrics to songs from all of his wonderful albums, many of them nicely represented, including The Future, his most recent album, which has all of it's Cohen-penned lyrics included here. These are particularly convenient as Cohen's albums, sadly, have been virtually ignored by record companies and during their re-packaging onto CD most of them do not include lyrics. This is a monumental collection, over 400 pages and including several hundred poems, some of which are not available elsewhere, and almost all of which are very hard to find at any rate. This is an absolute must for a Leonard Cohen fan. He is perhaps my favorite poet, his words tug at your heartstrings like so many other poets are claimed to be able to do, but which few can. His writing has always been honest, he's not fooling anybody, and these poems and lyrics touch you deep in your soul. Cohen strikes a chord. This is masterly, masterly writing. If you are a fan of Leonard Cohen's music, then you owe it to yourself to further your experience by buying this book. I cannot give it a higher reccommendation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2001
I read this book and it convinced me that Cohen is the best poet in North America. And as a Canadian, I'm proud he's my countryman. This book reveals me how deep, thoughful and lucid Cohen is about human kind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items