Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This book is a must read for all Catholics If you are into apologetics this book gives smart intelligent support for the Catholic faith.
Published 19 months ago by Godsquad1

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catholics will LOVE this book!!
XXXXX

"This book is not supposed to be anything like a definitive guide to Roman Catholicism. It is a mere handbook dealing with some of the most common but by no means all of the attacks on the Church and should be useful to Catholics who want to defend their beliefs and need a little help, an intellectualizing of the instinctive or a mild fleshing out of...
Published on June 6 2011 by Stephen Pletko


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Feb. 25 2013
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
This book is a must read for all Catholics If you are into apologetics this book gives smart intelligent support for the Catholic faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the British wit, May 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
I've been a fan of Michael's Coren's for a while because of his quick wit. He's just so sensible. I liken this author to one of the characters in Downton Abbey in that he seems to have something poignant and clever to say without batting an eye (he has a tv show as well). The title certainly got my attention, but he leaves little confusion and gathered a lot of information and history. I appreciate that he uses many non-Catholic sources a resources. I find him to be credible as well as down to earth. I would recommend this book to intellectuals and Catholics and intend to use it for information if I find myself in another discussion about the Crusades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Your Facts Right, May 17 2011
By 
Nicola Mansfield (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
Reason for Reading: I love Michael Coren's TV show, I am a Catholic and the provocative title did its trick and grabbed my interest. But I would read any book by Coren on religion or politics, though I don't always agree with him on the latter.

This book is unapologetically, in fact, is proudly, Catholic. Written by a Catholic to give a Catholic point of view on Catholic teachings and Catholic issues. Unfortunately, there remains one last prejudice in this world that is fine and dandy to behold and that is anti-Catholicism. Some Christians may feel that prejudice against any form of Christianity is rampant, and while that is true to a certain degree, even some non-Catholic Christians can be as vicious as anyone else in their anti-Catholic vitriol. Search the net; it won't take you long to find one of these "discussions", even in major newspaper comment sections.

Michael Coren's book hits on all the major topics, and even the minor topics, that non-Catholics and the media are so upset, uninformed and plain wrong about. This is a short book so doesn't go into theological academia to prove its points but does go plenty deep enough to get at the truth. Divided into 5 parts Coren deals with the abuse scandal, historical topics, theology, life and a final chapter on "other stuff". Within these 5 topics Coren manages to not only discuss his main topic but carry on from one topic to another related one until the subject has been more than covered, leaving no blank spaces behind. The book is very thorough.

This book is a must have for every practicing Catholic as it is a primer on how to defend our faith in a friendly, intelligent manner against all the uninformed and oftentimes ignorant comments made against Catholicism. The chapter on the abuse scandal which accepts the awful truth and tragedy of what actually happened and explains how it has been dealt with versus the media attacks and vendettas is worth the price of the book alone.

Persons who truly want to understand what Catholicism is about will enjoy this book which will give them bite-size yet meaty information on what we Catholics really believe and why, rather than what you've heard about or think you know about our beliefs.

If you are already anti-Catholic, this book will enrage you and you will hate it as it will prove all your prejudices to be wrong, thus having you believe that the book itself is at fault as you personally could, of course, never be.

My only complaint is that the book has no index. Something that doesn't seem to be a given anymore where non-fiction is concerned. I know this is going to be a book I will refer to time and time again and while the book is set up easily enough to find what you are looking for an index would have come in handy.

A brilliant book that no practicing Catholic should be without. Treat yourself to a copy and while your at it buy a gift copy for a friend, relative or priest. It's that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the "New Evangelization of our Faith", Feb. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Michael Coren is a well spoken and articulate author. He provides arguments that shatter the common misconceptions of the Catholic faith. He arms the reader with no nonsense rebuttal to many attempts to tear down the church as we know it. You won't want to put it down, it renews committment to the faith and spurs determination to evangelize and defend the faith. I read it cover to cover in practically one sitting and then passed it on to other Catholics. I highly recommend this book to faithful Catholics who are seeking to deepen their faith as well as those who have fallen away or are exploring Christianity. It will surely be the reason you find your way back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is awesome, April 17 2011
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
Michael Coren has a keen insightful and witty way to defend the Catholic Church. If you have ever seen him on TV, heard him on the radio or read his columns, Coren has a way with language that most will find challenging and enjoyable. A book like this has been needed for a long time. I will be buying a copy for each of my 9 kids, my family priest, our friends and many others.

Interesting sidenote: Despite the fact that this book has been listed as high as no. 6 in Canada on the Best Seller's list, our locak Chapters has interestingly declined to put any copies out on its shelves. Apparently, when I went to buy two copies, they had eight copies altogether, all of which were "in the back" as opposed to being on the shelf LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical for our times, May 27 2011
By 
Christian D. Elia (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
Michael Coren has authored a work critically important to the Church today, for the gathered and the scattered alike. For the gathered, that is, serious Catholics, "Why Catholics are Right" will provide insight into the common arguments and attacks against our faith. This is not traditional apologetics. Coren uses his vast understanding of contemporary western culture and thought and skilfully demonstrates his award winning journalistic prowess as he covers the principal historical and current views which support the Truth of Catholicism, the same Truth today as yesterday. For the scattered, cultural, lukewarm and/or dissenting Catholics, Coren provides compelling, even encouraging reasons to exercise the God given freedom of choice to come back into the Church, or admit oneself outside of the Church, but by all means to stop using the same old tired and simply untrue arguments against the Holy Roman Catholic Church because the Church of Jesus Christ simply may not suit them. It is about being honest really, and "Why Catholics are Right" is the most honest book covering these topics in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archbishop Chaput of Denver, April 15 2011
By 
Michael Coren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
"Michael Coren has written a case for the Catholic faith that is the rarest kind of book: wonderfully readable, intellectually vigorous and stylish in its force. His chapter on Church history is worth the price alone; but the whole text is alive with fidelity, penetrating intelligence and the irony of our times, expressed with consummate skill. Highly recommended."

Charles Chaput,
Archbishop of Denver
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of its Kind!, April 15 2011
By 
David G. (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
This is a great book for anyone who feels that their Catholic faith is constantly under attack but doesn't know how to respond. It has just about everything you need to know in a concise and easy to understand way. I suppose it takes a person in the media to defend the faith against the caricatures and fabrications that are often found in the media. This book is also useful for non-Catholic Christians who would like to grow in their understanding of the Catholic faith.

If you would like to deepen your prayer life, then read The Story of the Soul or The Imitation of Christ or one of the other spiritual classics. But if you would like to respond to criticisms of the faith in a respectful and informed way, then read Why Catholics are Right by Michael Coren. This is the best of its kind and much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Catholics are Right, April 27 2011
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
This is a marvelous book. Witty and fun and informative. It is also one of the few places you will find an acurate discription of the abuse scandal. I hope they start using this in every catholic high school religion course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catholics will LOVE this book!!, June 6 2011
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
XXXXX

"This book is not supposed to be anything like a definitive guide to Roman Catholicism. It is a mere handbook dealing with some of the most common but by no means all of the attacks on the Church and should be useful to Catholics who want to defend their beliefs and need a little help, an intellectualizing of the instinctive or a mild fleshing out of what they already thought to be the case. It should also be of use to honestly curious non-Catholics who have heard the usual accusations and rumours and can't believe that this institution that has done so much good and contains so many good people can truly be so evil and wrong...

This is a small book about a huge subject, but that should not distract from its premise that Catholicism is right and this is why."

The above extract comes from the introduction of this book by Michael Coren. Coren is a practising Catholic, Canadian author, weekly newspaper columnist, and host of the Canadian "The Michael Coren Show."

I have watched Michael Coren's TV show and find him to be an extremely interesting character. In fact, I've analysed him and how he interacts with others. (One of my degrees is in psychology.) Thus, I feel like I know him despite never having actually met him.

In the above extract, he mentions that this book "should be useful to Catholics." I agree. At the end of the book he boldly states:

"[I]n a perfect world everybody would be Roman Catholic."

Thus, Catholics should be extremely proud after reading this book.

However, in the above extract, Coren also mentions that this book should "be of use to honestly curious non-Catholics." These people may have some problems with this book. I'll mention only three of these:

(1) Why hasn't this book an index? Many concepts are presented and yet there's no easy access to this information. The table of contents has chapter titles that are very general only.

(2) This concerns the book's references. It appears to be mainly Catholic literature written by Catholic authors. Why not use references from more neutral academic sources that are objective and that give a balanced & fair discussion?

(3) I also had difficulty in seeing how most chapters related back to the book's premise ("Why Catholics are Right").

For example, for the "Catholics and the Abuse Scandal" chapter, is Coren saying that Catholic priests are RIGHT in what they did? For the chapter entitled "Catholics and Theology," is he saying that Catholics have THE RIGHT theology and other religions do not? Or consider the chapter entitled "Catholics and History." Is he implying that Catholics have THE RIGHT history and other religions do not?

Finally, in order to get the true facts regarding the abuse scandal, I would recommend the following book that has over twenty authors:

"Sexual Abuse in the Catholic Church: A Decade of Crisis, 2002-2012."

In conclusion, Michael Coren's book should resonate well within the Catholic community!!

(first published 2011; introduction; 5 chapters; main narrative 215 pages; acknowledgements; notes; bibliography)

<<Stephen Pletko, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT
WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT by Michael Coren (Hardcover - April 12 2011)
Used & New from: CDN$ 43.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews