countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
24
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 3, 2012
This book is excellent - as it argues a rational case for what we Catholics believe in and debunks a lot of the nonsense that has been leveled against the Church.
I have had the privilege of meeting Mr. Coren at a Marian day last year and I can say he is every bit conceited as he comes across on the radio!! But seriously, he is a good man and my dad - the professor loves to read his column. He is not one of the 'politically' correct talk show people who just wags his tongue to please public opinion. For that - I know he's suffered much.
Anyway - this IS the BOOK for all of us who have had all this hatred spewed against us by the crowd - who know less about the Catholic religion than they do about Jesus Christ. It seems like the media at large, especially in Canada - has been trying to demonize all Catholics because we don't applaud abortion, sodomy, pornography and that that other stuff that gives them - God forbid - rather nasty consciences!
Anyway - this is good material. It's wonderfully logical and comes in rather handy when a relative at the Christmas dinner decides to tell everyone about what's wrong with the Catholic Church.
READ IT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2012
What I especially like about this book is its boldness. Should a priest or a bishop write a book with such a title, riots would follow: "How dare you, after all these scandals!". In our confused age, it takes a layman, a brave and superbly talented journalist, a disciple of the likes of Chesterton, Belloc and C.S. Lewis, to urge people to think again. So, if you 'have issues' with the Church or want to be good at defending truth, give it a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2012
If you are already a far right Christian fundamentalist, and want someone to reinforce currently held belief that Catholics can do no wrong, then this is the book for you.

Otherwise best to pick up a something a bit more serious.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2011
Michael Coren gives a good historical background of some things such as the Crusades. He appears knowledgeable and apparently did a lot of research in preparation for writing this book.
However, his strong pro-Catholic bias does not allow for any objectivity.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2011
Coren hits the nail right on the head. He destroys myth after myth promulgated by critics of Catholisism. His research is exhaustive. Must have taken hours & hours of work to point out the facts versus the fallacies. Who could possibly win a debate contrary to his finding? An amazing book indeed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2011
Brilliant and informative in depth presentation re the truth about the Catholic faith. Being so accustomed to the uninformed and skewed opinions expressed by the media , his response was inspiring .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
XXXXX

"This book is not supposed to be anything like a definitive guide to Roman Catholicism. It is a mere handbook dealing with some of the most common but by no means all of the attacks on the Church and should be useful to Catholics who want to defend their beliefs and need a little help, an intellectualizing of the instinctive or a mild fleshing out of what they already thought to be the case. It should also be of use to honestly curious non-Catholics who have heard the usual accusations and rumours and can't believe that this institution that has done so much good and contains so many good people can truly be so evil and wrong...

This is a small book about a huge subject, but that should not distract from its premise that Catholicism is right and this is why."

The above extract comes from the introduction of this book by Michael Coren. Coren is a practising Catholic, Canadian author, weekly newspaper columnist, and host of the Canadian "The Michael Coren Show."

I have watched Michael Coren's TV show and find him to be an extremely interesting character. In fact, I've analysed him and how he interacts with others. (One of my degrees is in psychology.) Thus, I feel like I know him despite never having actually met him.

In the above extract, he mentions that this book "should be useful to Catholics." I agree. At the end of the book he boldly states:

"[I]n a perfect world everybody would be Roman Catholic."

Thus, Catholics should be extremely proud after reading this book.

However, in the above extract, Coren also mentions that this book should "be of use to honestly curious non-Catholics." These people may have some problems with this book. I'll mention only three of these:

(1) Why hasn't this book an index? Many concepts are presented and yet there's no easy access to this information. The table of contents has chapter titles that are very general only.

(2) This concerns the book's references. It appears to be mainly Catholic literature written by Catholic authors. Why not use references from more neutral academic sources that are objective and that give a balanced & fair discussion?

(3) I also had difficulty in seeing how most chapters related back to the book's premise ("Why Catholics are Right").

For example, for the "Catholics and the Abuse Scandal" chapter, is Coren saying that Catholic priests are RIGHT in what they did? For the chapter entitled "Catholics and Theology," is he saying that Catholics have THE RIGHT theology and other religions do not? Or consider the chapter entitled "Catholics and History." Is he implying that Catholics have THE RIGHT history and other religions do not?

Finally, in order to get the true facts regarding the abuse scandal, I would recommend the following book that has over twenty authors:

"Sexual Abuse in the Catholic Church: A Decade of Crisis, 2002-2012."

In conclusion, Michael Coren's book should resonate well within the Catholic community!!

(first published 2011; introduction; 5 chapters; main narrative 215 pages; acknowledgements; notes; bibliography)

<<Stephen Pletko, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2011
Michael Coren has authored a work critically important to the Church today, for the gathered and the scattered alike. For the gathered, that is, serious Catholics, "Why Catholics are Right" will provide insight into the common arguments and attacks against our faith. This is not traditional apologetics. Coren uses his vast understanding of contemporary western culture and thought and skilfully demonstrates his award winning journalistic prowess as he covers the principal historical and current views which support the Truth of Catholicism, the same Truth today as yesterday. For the scattered, cultural, lukewarm and/or dissenting Catholics, Coren provides compelling, even encouraging reasons to exercise the God given freedom of choice to come back into the Church, or admit oneself outside of the Church, but by all means to stop using the same old tired and simply untrue arguments against the Holy Roman Catholic Church because the Church of Jesus Christ simply may not suit them. It is about being honest really, and "Why Catholics are Right" is the most honest book covering these topics in years.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Reason for Reading: I love Michael Coren's TV show, I am a Catholic and the provocative title did its trick and grabbed my interest. But I would read any book by Coren on religion or politics, though I don't always agree with him on the latter.

This book is unapologetically, in fact, is proudly, Catholic. Written by a Catholic to give a Catholic point of view on Catholic teachings and Catholic issues. Unfortunately, there remains one last prejudice in this world that is fine and dandy to behold and that is anti-Catholicism. Some Christians may feel that prejudice against any form of Christianity is rampant, and while that is true to a certain degree, even some non-Catholic Christians can be as vicious as anyone else in their anti-Catholic vitriol. Search the net; it won't take you long to find one of these "discussions", even in major newspaper comment sections.

Michael Coren's book hits on all the major topics, and even the minor topics, that non-Catholics and the media are so upset, uninformed and plain wrong about. This is a short book so doesn't go into theological academia to prove its points but does go plenty deep enough to get at the truth. Divided into 5 parts Coren deals with the abuse scandal, historical topics, theology, life and a final chapter on "other stuff". Within these 5 topics Coren manages to not only discuss his main topic but carry on from one topic to another related one until the subject has been more than covered, leaving no blank spaces behind. The book is very thorough.

This book is a must have for every practicing Catholic as it is a primer on how to defend our faith in a friendly, intelligent manner against all the uninformed and oftentimes ignorant comments made against Catholicism. The chapter on the abuse scandal which accepts the awful truth and tragedy of what actually happened and explains how it has been dealt with versus the media attacks and vendettas is worth the price of the book alone.

Persons who truly want to understand what Catholicism is about will enjoy this book which will give them bite-size yet meaty information on what we Catholics really believe and why, rather than what you've heard about or think you know about our beliefs.

If you are already anti-Catholic, this book will enrage you and you will hate it as it will prove all your prejudices to be wrong, thus having you believe that the book itself is at fault as you personally could, of course, never be.

My only complaint is that the book has no index. Something that doesn't seem to be a given anymore where non-fiction is concerned. I know this is going to be a book I will refer to time and time again and while the book is set up easily enough to find what you are looking for an index would have come in handy.

A brilliant book that no practicing Catholic should be without. Treat yourself to a copy and while your at it buy a gift copy for a friend, relative or priest. It's that good!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2011
This is a marvelous book. Witty and fun and informative. It is also one of the few places you will find an acurate discription of the abuse scandal. I hope they start using this in every catholic high school religion course.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse