Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This book is a must read for all Catholics If you are into apologetics this book gives smart intelligent support for the Catholic faith.
Published 13 months ago by Godsquad1

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catholics will LOVE this book!!
XXXXX

"This book is not supposed to be anything like a definitive guide to Roman Catholicism. It is a mere handbook dealing with some of the most common but by no means all of the attacks on the Church and should be useful to Catholics who want to defend their beliefs and need a little help, an intellectualizing of the instinctive or a mild fleshing out of...
Published on June 6 2011 by Stephen Pletko


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Arrogance rarely seen., Sept. 10 2013
By 
J. Fraser (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
This book was incredibly dissapointing, especially considering the author is an incredibly sharp and intelligent man.

Catholics, actually, are not right. Catholicism may very well be (and in all probability is) the Light of the World and the lasting presence of Jesus Christ, but the people who follow the religion (especially those who have lead it!) have been wrong throughout history and continue to do so on a regular basis. That 75% of this book involves making excuses for shameful acts of Catholics across history only proves this. Now, don't get me wrong, as someone who enjoys speaking English as opposed to Arabic, and as a fan of Western civilization, I fully acknowledge the neccessity for the Crusades in the Holy Land (especially the First Crusade). I also understand that the Inquisition and the Church's relationship with science are grossly misunderstood and buried in emotion mixed with historical ignorance and propaganda, I get it. But while the Catholic faith is beautiful we, and especially our leadership, fall well short of its standards and are far from "right".

The arrogance continues and while reading it, my jaw hit the floor. We as readers were told that if we don't believe that Mary was literally a virgin, then we are not Christians. Last I checked, Michael Coren does not set the criteria for being a Christian. A Christian is generally considered, at the most basic level, a follower of Christ who believes in His teachings and Resurrection. That's it. Anything more gets into denominational territory and that's when you start seeing a laundry list of criteria that must be met and so on.

There are several more examples of unashamed chest thumping in regards to obvious flaws with the religion (as opposed to the faith) of the Catholic Church and Mr. Coren even goes so far as to say in a perfect world everyone would be Catholic. Ironic, that, considering Jesus was a Jew and they are God's Chosen People. Furthermore, it was the high church Protestants (namely the Lutherans) who's justifiable criticims and rebellion helped the Catholic Church react and reign in its obscene levels of corruption and cut out the rot that had accumulated over the course of 1500 years of power. Protestants and especially Jews are part of the plan of God, that much is obvious.

As far as writing style, because of the long list of problems with Catholics and their leaders, Coren is forced to barely touch a whole series of topics and makes excuses for them at an extremely rushed pace.

He does get two stars for his defence of the Crusades, but all in all, readers would be best served by reading Dinesh D'Sousa's "What's So Great About Christianity". If one is interested in the truth of the Crusades and their neccessity for our survival as a civilization free of Islamic domination, read Stark's "God's Battalions".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! - A Sober look at Catholicism, May 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great summary and refutation of some of the common misconceptions and deceptions propagated against the Catholic Church. Easy to read and a great reference for anyone (Catholic or not) to get an accurate perspective of what Catholicism is and what it is not! Anyone interested in history, religion or just the plain truth should consider owning a copy.

Jack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New, Nov. 26 2012
This book contains absolutely nothing new to defend what Roman Catholicism was and is. Nor does it contain anything to convince me to return to Roman Catholicism. And it's a shame Mr. Coren - who I generally have a lot of respect for - would choose such a childish title for it. Had he not, I'm sure the book would have been taken much more seriously and sold many more copies outside of Roman Catholics. He might as well have called it: "Why Catholics are Right and why my dad can take your dad."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth re Catholism, June 24 2011
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
Brilliant and informative in depth presentation re the truth about the Catholic faith. Being so accustomed to the uninformed and skewed opinions expressed by the media , his response was inspiring .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unapologetic apologetics, March 28 2012
By 
Karl L. (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
What I especially like about this book is its boldness. Should a priest or a bishop write a book with such a title, riots would follow: "How dare you, after all these scandals!". In our confused age, it takes a layman, a brave and superbly talented journalist, a disciple of the likes of Chesterton, Belloc and C.S. Lewis, to urge people to think again. So, if you 'have issues' with the Church or want to be good at defending truth, give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helps to Understand, Sept. 1 2011
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
Michael Coren gives a good historical background of some things such as the Crusades. He appears knowledgeable and apparently did a lot of research in preparation for writing this book.
However, his strong pro-Catholic bias does not allow for any objectivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coren Got it RIGHT ON!, May 3 2012
By 
Hans G. Schulte-albert (Ajax, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
This book is excellent - as it argues a rational case for what we Catholics believe in and debunks a lot of the nonsense that has been leveled against the Church.
I have had the privilege of meeting Mr. Coren at a Marian day last year and I can say he is every bit conceited as he comes across on the radio!! But seriously, he is a good man and my dad - the professor loves to read his column. He is not one of the 'politically' correct talk show people who just wags his tongue to please public opinion. For that - I know he's suffered much.
Anyway - this IS the BOOK for all of us who have had all this hatred spewed against us by the crowd - who know less about the Catholic religion than they do about Jesus Christ. It seems like the media at large, especially in Canada - has been trying to demonize all Catholics because we don't applaud abortion, sodomy, pornography and that that other stuff that gives them - God forbid - rather nasty consciences!
Anyway - this is good material. It's wonderfully logical and comes in rather handy when a relative at the Christmas dinner decides to tell everyone about what's wrong with the Catholic Church.
READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 130 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terribly Biased, April 23 2011
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
Michael Coren's book is ridiculous and biased. For example:

He blames Homosexuals for the majority of the Churches sex scandals.
He defends the sexist views that women are inferior members of the church by arguing women can bear children while men cannot
He dismisses serious religious travesties like the Crusades and the Inquisition by changing the subject to the wrongs "Atheists" Stalin and Hitler (Hitler was a baptized Catholic) committed.
In fact the whole book he basically downplays the issues and diverts the attention by attacking something else to take the attention away from the issues.

His book is way too short (240 pages) to fairly examine all of the issues. Hundreds of books have been written about each individual issue alone and Coren somehow manages to breeze through each issue in a matter of a couple of pages and sometimes paragraphs.

Coren's overall point is the tired argument that every religious apologist uses. "Society would be immoral without the Catholic Church".
If you have read any book by a christian apologist then don't bother reading this one. In fact this is essentially a terrible summary of other redundant christian apologetic arguments.

It should also be noted that there are few sources cited, and the sources that he does site are ALL christian apologetics or very questionable media sources.

Coren is great at giving his "biased" opinion but if you are looking for more serious and credible work that really examines the issues I would look for different works. The only people who will like this book are MINDLESS extreme right-wing christian fundamentalists...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Biased view from far right fundamentalist, March 25 2012
By 
This review is from: WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT (Hardcover)
If you are already a far right Christian fundamentalist, and want someone to reinforce currently held belief that Catholics can do no wrong, then this is the book for you.

Otherwise best to pick up a something a bit more serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9fc2fb4c)

This product

WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT
WHY CATHOLICS ARE RIGHT by Michael Coren (Hardcover - April 12 2011)
Used & New from: CDN$ 12.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews