Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the British wit
I've been a fan of Michael's Coren's for a while because of his quick wit. He's just so sensible. I liken this author to one of the characters in Downton Abbey in that he seems to have something poignant and clever to say without batting an eye (he has a tv show as well). The title certainly got my attention, but he leaves little confusion and gathered a lot of...
Published 7 months ago by CatholicSzn

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catholics will LOVE this book!!
XXXXX

"This book is not supposed to be anything like a definitive guide to Roman Catholicism. It is a mere handbook dealing with some of the most common but by no means all of the attacks on the Church and should be useful to Catholics who want to defend their beliefs and need a little help, an intellectualizing of the instinctive or a mild fleshing out of...
Published on June 6 2011 by Stephen Pletko


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Catholics are Right, April 27 2011
This review is from: Why Catholics Are Right (Hardcover)
This is a marvelous book. Witty and fun and informative. It is also one of the few places you will find an acurate discription of the abuse scandal. I hope they start using this in every catholic high school religion course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catholics will LOVE this book!!, June 6 2011
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Why Catholics Are Right (Hardcover)
XXXXX

"This book is not supposed to be anything like a definitive guide to Roman Catholicism. It is a mere handbook dealing with some of the most common but by no means all of the attacks on the Church and should be useful to Catholics who want to defend their beliefs and need a little help, an intellectualizing of the instinctive or a mild fleshing out of what they already thought to be the case. It should also be of use to honestly curious non-Catholics who have heard the usual accusations and rumours and can't believe that this institution that has done so much good and contains so many good people can truly be so evil and wrong...

This is a small book about a huge subject, but that should not distract from its premise that Catholicism is right and this is why."

The above extract comes from the introduction of this book by Michael Coren. Coren is a practising Catholic, Canadian author, weekly newspaper columnist, and host of the Canadian "The Michael Coren Show."

I have watched Michael Coren's TV show and find him to be an extremely interesting character. In fact, I've analysed him and how he interacts with others. (One of my degrees is in psychology.) Thus, I feel like I know him despite never having actually met him.

In the above extract, he mentions that this book "should be useful to Catholics." I agree. At the end of the book he boldly states:

"[I]n a perfect world everybody would be Roman Catholic."

Thus, Catholics should be extremely proud after reading this book.

However, in the above extract, Coren also mentions that this book should "be of use to honestly curious non-Catholics." These people may have some problems with this book. I'll mention only three of these:

(1) Why hasn't this book an index? Many concepts are presented and yet there's no easy access to this information. The table of contents has chapter titles that are very general only.

(2) This concerns the book's references. It appears to be mainly Catholic literature written by Catholic authors. Why not use references from more neutral academic sources that are objective and that give a balanced & fair discussion?

(3) I also had difficulty in seeing how most chapters related back to the book's premise ("Why Catholics are Right").

For example, for the "Catholics and the Abuse Scandal" chapter, is Coren saying that Catholic priests are RIGHT in what they did? For the chapter entitled "Catholics and Theology," is he saying that Catholics have THE RIGHT theology and other religions do not? Or consider the chapter entitled "Catholics and History." Is he implying that Catholics have THE RIGHT history and other religions do not?

Finally, in order to get the true facts regarding the abuse scandal, I would recommend the following book that has over twenty authors:

"Sexual Abuse in the Catholic Church: A Decade of Crisis, 2002-2012."

In conclusion, Michael Coren's book should resonate well within the Catholic community!!

(first published 2011; introduction; 5 chapters; main narrative 215 pages; acknowledgements; notes; bibliography)

<<Stephen Pletko, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Catholics are Right., July 14 2011
By 
Charles H. Houston (Winnipeg MB CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Catholics Are Right (Hardcover)
Coren hits the nail right on the head. He destroys myth after myth promulgated by critics of Catholisism. His research is exhaustive. Must have taken hours & hours of work to point out the facts versus the fallacies. Who could possibly win a debate contrary to his finding? An amazing book indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Arrogance rarely seen., Sept. 10 2013
By 
J. Fraser (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Catholics Are Right (Hardcover)
This book was incredibly dissapointing, especially considering the author is an incredibly sharp and intelligent man.

Catholics, actually, are not right. Catholicism may very well be (and in all probability is) the Light of the World and the lasting presence of Jesus Christ, but the people who follow the religion (especially those who have lead it!) have been wrong throughout history and continue to do so on a regular basis. That 75% of this book involves making excuses for shameful acts of Catholics across history only proves this. Now, don't get me wrong, as someone who enjoys speaking English as opposed to Arabic, and as a fan of Western civilization, I fully acknowledge the neccessity for the Crusades in the Holy Land (especially the First Crusade). I also understand that the Inquisition and the Church's relationship with science are grossly misunderstood and buried in emotion mixed with historical ignorance and propaganda, I get it. But while the Catholic faith is beautiful we, and especially our leadership, fall well short of its standards and are far from "right".

The arrogance continues and while reading it, my jaw hit the floor. We as readers were told that if we don't believe that Mary was literally a virgin, then we are not Christians. Last I checked, Michael Coren does not set the criteria for being a Christian. A Christian is generally considered, at the most basic level, a follower of Christ who believes in His teachings and Resurrection. That's it. Anything more gets into denominational territory and that's when you start seeing a laundry list of criteria that must be met and so on.

There are several more examples of unashamed chest thumping in regards to obvious flaws with the religion (as opposed to the faith) of the Catholic Church and Mr. Coren even goes so far as to say in a perfect world everyone would be Catholic. Ironic, that, considering Jesus was a Jew and they are God's Chosen People. Furthermore, it was the high church Protestants (namely the Lutherans) who's justifiable criticims and rebellion helped the Catholic Church react and reign in its obscene levels of corruption and cut out the rot that had accumulated over the course of 1500 years of power. Protestants and especially Jews are part of the plan of God, that much is obvious.

As far as writing style, because of the long list of problems with Catholics and their leaders, Coren is forced to barely touch a whole series of topics and makes excuses for them at an extremely rushed pace.

He does get two stars for his defence of the Crusades, but all in all, readers would be best served by reading Dinesh D'Sousa's "What's So Great About Christianity". If one is interested in the truth of the Crusades and their neccessity for our survival as a civilization free of Islamic domination, read Stark's "God's Battalions".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! - A Sober look at Catholicism, May 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great summary and refutation of some of the common misconceptions and deceptions propagated against the Catholic Church. Easy to read and a great reference for anyone (Catholic or not) to get an accurate perspective of what Catholicism is and what it is not! Anyone interested in history, religion or just the plain truth should consider owning a copy.

Jack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New, Nov. 26 2012
This book contains absolutely nothing new to defend what Roman Catholicism was and is. Nor does it contain anything to convince me to return to Roman Catholicism. And it's a shame Mr. Coren - who I generally have a lot of respect for - would choose such a childish title for it. Had he not, I'm sure the book would have been taken much more seriously and sold many more copies outside of Roman Catholics. He might as well have called it: "Why Catholics are Right and why my dad can take your dad."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth re Catholism, June 24 2011
This review is from: Why Catholics Are Right (Hardcover)
Brilliant and informative in depth presentation re the truth about the Catholic faith. Being so accustomed to the uninformed and skewed opinions expressed by the media , his response was inspiring .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unapologetic apologetics, March 28 2012
By 
Revaliensis (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Why Catholics Are Right (Hardcover)
What I especially like about this book is its boldness. Should a priest or a bishop write a book with such a title, riots would follow: "How dare you, after all these scandals!". In our confused age, it takes a layman, a brave and superbly talented journalist, a disciple of the likes of Chesterton, Belloc and C.S. Lewis, to urge people to think again. So, if you 'have issues' with the Church or want to be good at defending truth, give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helps to Understand, Sept. 1 2011
This review is from: Why Catholics Are Right (Hardcover)
Michael Coren gives a good historical background of some things such as the Crusades. He appears knowledgeable and apparently did a lot of research in preparation for writing this book.
However, his strong pro-Catholic bias does not allow for any objectivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coren Got it RIGHT ON!, May 3 2012
By 
Hans G. Schulte-albert (Ajax, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Catholics Are Right (Hardcover)
This book is excellent - as it argues a rational case for what we Catholics believe in and debunks a lot of the nonsense that has been leveled against the Church.
I have had the privilege of meeting Mr. Coren at a Marian day last year and I can say he is every bit conceited as he comes across on the radio!! But seriously, he is a good man and my dad - the professor loves to read his column. He is not one of the 'politically' correct talk show people who just wags his tongue to please public opinion. For that - I know he's suffered much.
Anyway - this IS the BOOK for all of us who have had all this hatred spewed against us by the crowd - who know less about the Catholic religion than they do about Jesus Christ. It seems like the media at large, especially in Canada - has been trying to demonize all Catholics because we don't applaud abortion, sodomy, pornography and that that other stuff that gives them - God forbid - rather nasty consciences!
Anyway - this is good material. It's wonderfully logical and comes in rather handy when a relative at the Christmas dinner decides to tell everyone about what's wrong with the Catholic Church.
READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why Catholics Are Right
Why Catholics Are Right by Michael Coren (Hardcover - April 12 2011)
Used & New from: CDN$ 25.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews