Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and Concise
This is a thought-provoking analysis of the current world political situation in which the US has decided to go their own way and claim that the UN is slipping into "irrelevance". Even if you don't believe or agree with all the ideas in this book, it is very effective at opening one's mind to the possibilities.
Unfortunately, the conclusions are rather...
Published on June 25 2005 by Nicholas Roeder

versus
4 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Intra-continental Inferiority Pains...
If God made Australians to show the world what a Canadian with balls might look like, he must then have made Gynn Dyer to help assuage Canadians their growing and justified sense of irrelevence in the world. And this book does that just fine. Unfortunately, like all of Dyer's writing, it is trash.
Published on March 23 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and Concise, June 25 2005
By 
This review is from: Future: Tense: The Coming World Order? (Paperback)
This is a thought-provoking analysis of the current world political situation in which the US has decided to go their own way and claim that the UN is slipping into "irrelevance". Even if you don't believe or agree with all the ideas in this book, it is very effective at opening one's mind to the possibilities.
Unfortunately, the conclusions are rather frightening and depressing and I don't see much hope coming from the present US government or popular opinion. But this book helps explain what is happening now with historical context that you simply won't find in the mass media.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great eye opener, Dec 26 2004
By 
Jimmy Mack (Saint John, NB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Future: Tense: The Coming World Order? (Paperback)
Taking the time to base his arguments in historical context, laying out his logic carefully, Dyer outlines the threat of a new world order that closely resemble Orwell's "1984". He offers a simple prescription to avoid an escalation of unilateralism and the demise of the UN: the USA must leave Iraq now. I have often defended the actions of the Bush administration to my Canadian friends but this book has convinced me that I have to reconsider my position. Those wishing to have an informed opinion on US foreign policy will find this book useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtfully laid out..., Dec 8 2004
By 
James Meredith (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Future: Tense: The Coming World Order? (Paperback)
Dr. Dyer's book is thoughtful and well argued. I found it to be a plausible predictor of the future. I have not always agreed with Dr. Dyer's arguments but, with regards to this book, I found myself falling in line with his conclusions more often than disagreeing with them. It is worth a read and anyone interested in international history or international relations would find it enjoyable and at times, alarming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Idealogy Free!, March 18 2007
This review is from: Future: Tense: The Coming World Order? (Paperback)
Thank god for Gwynne Dyer. He has created one of the best political books I've read in a while.

In 'Future: Tense' he argues that the invasion of Iraq was not only about the oil, democracy, or terrorism but more about re-establishing the long lost Pax Americana. He suggests that since the fall of the USSR, when America lost it's place as the main leader of the free world against the forces of darkness, the neo-conservatives in Washington have been biding their time; waiting for a chance to bring back unquestioned American rule on the international scale.

Bush was their moment and with the illegal and unjustified invasion of Iraq their wildest dreams have come true. They have defied the UN, showed the other nations who's boss, and all with the American public more or less on their side. This defiance of the UN, says Dyer, is the most dangerous because it encourages other nations to follow suit. With no international community to effectively hold the new rising powers (see China) in check continental alliances will be formed (like those before the two World Wars) and the world will be once again be plunged into a Cold War, this time with numerous superpowers.

Some will scoff at these ideas but Dyer argues them with a well written book that lays out facts, not just ideas. He is not some ideologue trying to shove his own agenda down his reader's throats; he steps on both the left and the right's ideas. Of course his book will probably anger conservatives more with his call for a complete withdrawal of troops from Iraq and the claim that the threat of terrorism is minimal and Al Quadea no more than a paper tiger.

I don't agree with all his ideas but he has some excellent points. His lack of bias, and coherent ideas make this a must read book for all you wanna be pundits and politicians out there. I plan to read more of Dyer's books as soon as I can get my hands on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, June 10 2005
By 
This review is from: Future: Tense: The Coming World Order? (Paperback)
Accuracy, cogent analysis, informed historical perspective...in other words, what you won't get from any mainstream American news media. Not for the faint of heart or those who agree with mainstream American political opinion. Gwynne Dyer presents ideas that American media is too scared or too ignorant to report.
You may not agree with every conclusion, but brilliant nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Jan. 5 2005
By 
This review is from: Future: Tense: The Coming World Order? (Paperback)
The alliance analysis provided by Mr. Dyer is really eye-opening and a useful tool to understanding what kind of a world lies ahead. I look forward to his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Intra-continental Inferiority Pains..., March 23 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Future: Tense: The Coming World Order? (Paperback)
If God made Australians to show the world what a Canadian with balls might look like, he must then have made Gynn Dyer to help assuage Canadians their growing and justified sense of irrelevence in the world. And this book does that just fine. Unfortunately, like all of Dyer's writing, it is trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Future: Tense: The Coming World Order?
Future: Tense: The Coming World Order? by Gwynne Dyer (Paperback - Nov. 2 2004)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews