Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars ... watch a soccer game again without wondering if a bad play was intentional or if a bad call was ...
WOW will never be able to watch a soccer game again without wondering if a bad play was intentional or if a bad call was intentional

amazing book would recommend that every soccer fan read, actually any sport fan
Published 1 month ago by irwin boock

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Badly needed editing
The information in the book was interesting, but it was presented in such a haphazard, anecdotal way that it was hard to follow. It might have been a bit better if someone who was actually an investigative journalist (I believe the author is a statistician) edited or collaborated with Hill and made the whole thing more systematic & readable.
Published 6 months ago by aethelberga


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars ... watch a soccer game again without wondering if a bad play was intentional or if a bad call was ..., July 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fix: Soccer and Organized Crime (Paperback)
WOW will never be able to watch a soccer game again without wondering if a bad play was intentional or if a bad call was intentional

amazing book would recommend that every soccer fan read, actually any sport fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Badly needed editing, Jan. 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The information in the book was interesting, but it was presented in such a haphazard, anecdotal way that it was hard to follow. It might have been a bit better if someone who was actually an investigative journalist (I believe the author is a statistician) edited or collaborated with Hill and made the whole thing more systematic & readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scary, Oct. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fix: Soccer and Organized Crime (Paperback)
Defintitely makes me think twice when I watch a soccer game. I always wondered why some things seemed to fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting !, Aug. 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great research, author is also a very good story teller. Disturbing facts for any sports fan. You will never watch a game with the same perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Fans of Professional Soccer, Nov. 29 2009
By 
I. Bell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Part travelogue, part journalism, all of it thoroughly absorbing. I read the book in one sitting, I could not bear to put it down unfinished. A cautionary tale of what happened in Asia and what could happen in Europe if FIFA does not wake up. If you care about soccer, you should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A groundbreaking, highly influential book., Nov. 28 2009
Declan Hill has blown open the door on a world of corruption that reaches the highest levels of world soccer. As a direct result of his investigation, European football associations are finally waking up to the real threat match fixing poses to the their game. Whether or not their efforts will go far enough remains to be seen. Regardless, the revelations Hill makes cannot be ignored. His book has already made an impact. This is essential reading for anyone who cares about soccer or sport in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars crap, May 8 2009
By 
G. Palandra - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
full of speculation and no hard facts. This was a money grab and an obvious twisting of facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fix: Soccer and Organized Crime
The Fix: Soccer and Organized Crime by Declan Hill (Paperback - April 13 2010)
CDN$ 21.00 CDN$ 15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews