Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the finest writing I've ever come across
This was my first exposure to Hitchens' writing and I was blown away. I have never come across another author whose skill with the English language left me shaking my head in wonder. His knowledge of literature is astounding and the ability to pull apart books and essays in reviews and then combine the contents with information from various sources and his personal...
Published on Nov. 8 2011 by Kris Head

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fan of Hitchens
It is an okay read, but to be honest it is not one of his finest works. I thought the essays would be more relevant to today's issues but most articles are book reviews. Not really interesting work.
Published on April 19 2012 by Patrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the finest writing I've ever come across, Nov. 8 2011
By 
Kris Head - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arguably: Essays by Christopher Hitchens (Hardcover)
This was my first exposure to Hitchens' writing and I was blown away. I have never come across another author whose skill with the English language left me shaking my head in wonder. His knowledge of literature is astounding and the ability to pull apart books and essays in reviews and then combine the contents with information from various sources and his personal experience is breathtaking.

Some of the content is heavy, reviewing authors from the 1920s and 30s while other essays focus on contemporary issues. You will likely need ready access to a dictionary and wikipedia to thoroughly understand some of the topics but several essays inspired me to go back and pick up some of the classic books of literature.

Some people may argue with his conclusions or disagree with his political views but I don't think anyone could argue with the incredible wordsmith power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inarguably Good, Sept. 25 2012
By 
Dave_42 "Dave_42" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Arguably (Paperback)
Christopher Hitchens had a mind which is sorely missed. Whether you agreed with what he was saying, or were on the other side of the issue, one had to respect and respond to what Hitchens had to say on the subject. "Arguably" is a collection of his essays (107 in all) put into six sections of the book, and which cover a wide variety of subjects. There are certainly a few here which are not going to be considered controversial, but the vast majority are Hitchens as he usually was, strongly opinionated on controversial subjects, and always with a significant stack of facts to back his positions; positions which he was not afraid to voice in the bluntest terms. In other words, this is Hitchens at his best (when you agree with him), and at his most difficult (when you don't).

This collection was published originally in September of 2011, with Hitchens writing a brief introduction in late June as he was suffering from oesophageal cancer from which he would pass away six months later at the all too young age of 62. The essays had been published over the course of years in a variety of publications. The subjects dealt with cover a wide range, from religion and politics, to why women aren't funny, and everything in between. The material ranges from columns, to book reviews, to book introductions.

Hitchens was one of the few members of the media who had actually visited the "axis of evil", along with many other places, and this most certainly contributed to his insights on many subjects. Hitchens was not the least bit tentative to express his opinion, but unlike other talking-heads, Hitchens was able to do it and still be credible on a subject. Though certainly liberal on a majority of subjects, Hitchens had no problem blasting Kissinger, then turning around and backing President George W. Bush in the "War on Terror", only to then proceed to ignore the administration's position on water-boarding and calling it what he considered it, "torture". The result is that the reader can trust that the opinion they are reading is sincere, and not simply a position taken to support an ideological ally.

I ended my first paragraph by saying that Hitchens was at his best when you agree with him, but the fact is that if you are open to views different than yours, then often Hitchens is at his best when you disagree with him. He certainly had the ability to infuriate and madden listeners and readers, but he also had the ability to make people understand a different point of view, even when he fails to convince them that he is correct. Christopher Hitchens is a voice which is missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably, Jan. 15 2012
By 
Peter Vincent - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Don't even contemplate buying this book as an audio text unless you are a member of the MENSA club. Hitchens' command of the english language and his skill at cobbling together sentences requires your full attention. Not to be listened to in rush hour traffic or on a long trip. You will find your eyes glazing over as you try to keep up with Mr Hitchens logic. Buy the e-edition if you don't relish the thought of lugging around an 800+ page book in your carry-on. The essays are brilliant. The shortcomings are ours alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Nov. 29 2011
By 
This review is from: Arguably: Essays by Christopher Hitchens (Hardcover)
Sadly, this will probably Christopher's last "prehumous" publication. His wit, tenacity and brutal honesty are all evident in these essays and it's a work he can and should be proud of.

If you have read Hitchens before you owe it to yourself to get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One superb book, June 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arguably: Essays by Christopher Hitchens (Hardcover)
Wonderful insights into history and literature. Cannot put it down. We have lost an amazing mind, and I am glad he left us such a fine legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably Good, June 14 2012
By 
Mark Nenadov "arm-chair reader" (Essex, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arguably: Essays by Christopher Hitchens (Hardcover)
A massive collection of essays on literature, foreign policy, and other topics. It's not at all dull, but you will find it a massive plow unless you have a great deal of stamina.

Being quite spunky and animated prose, as one has come to expect from Hitchens, you'll never end up thinking 'What does Hitchens really think?' There's a little something something in here to ruffle everyones feathers.

Every time I read something by Hitchens, I'm impressed but what a great author he was and how similar his prose is to Orwell and how I can't think of more than one or two people who touch him nowadays when it comes to the turning of words. Going through this book at this time was a sobering experience, seeing how Hitchens has gone on to meet his Maker. The world has lost a great essayist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fan of Hitchens, April 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arguably: Essays by Christopher Hitchens (Hardcover)
It is an okay read, but to be honest it is not one of his finest works. I thought the essays would be more relevant to today's issues but most articles are book reviews. Not really interesting work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Arguably - Essays by Christopher Hitchens, Oct. 30 2011
I haven't actually listened to this yet but when I opened this box of 24 CDs I found no index to tell me what is on which CD. Each CD has a plain black cover with no writing on it and blank space on the CD itself for description of what's on the CD - so I have ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA WHAT ESSAY IS ON WHICH OF 24 CDs WITHOUT PLAYING EACH ONE AND MAKING MY OWN LIST OF WHAT'S ON THEM, and with nothing stamped on the CDs themselves, who knows what is on each of the 24. Ridiculous and bad marketing. The outside box containing the 24 CDs refers to a few subjects in a general way. No doubt the producers of this product think the element of surprise is all ..... well, I've got news for them, it's extremely irritating after spending so much money and looking forward to the audio of one of my favourite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arguably: Essays by Christopher Hitchens
Arguably: Essays by Christopher Hitchens by Christopher Hitchens (Hardcover - Sept. 6 2011)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 23.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews