Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my life ... ...
This book literally changed my life.
I was so relieved to find within it all the intelligently constructed arguments that rang so true with me that I no longer felt any pangs of guilt for not believing in "the Faith of my Fathers". I loved this book. Now I feel I must read all the rest of Hitchen's books. It's all there. The total proof of evolution lies just down...
Published on May 14 2010 by Jean Stephanson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A book so anti-religious it can only be called bigotry
Christopher Hitchens was a great political writer but his writing on religion was pure garbage. He did what every demagogue has done: take the most extreme excesses and then call that "religion." I not only read this book but I had the sad misfortune to cover him giving a speech on his ideas. He found a few contradictions in the Bible and therefore it's all rot...
Published 13 days ago by Charles Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my life ... ..., May 14 2010
By 
Jean Stephanson (Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Paperback)
This book literally changed my life.
I was so relieved to find within it all the intelligently constructed arguments that rang so true with me that I no longer felt any pangs of guilt for not believing in "the Faith of my Fathers". I loved this book. Now I feel I must read all the rest of Hitchen's books. It's all there. The total proof of evolution lies just down the road in the Burgess Shale. Now I have no doubts. There is no god. Man invented him in his own image. I don't need it.
Thank you Christopher Hitchens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Nov. 21 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Paperback)
What appears to be a polemic attack by Hitchens, is really nothing more than the robust confrontation that religion's baseless assertions need and deserve. This book, and others like it, are way overdue.

Buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judgment Day for Religion, Dec 16 2009
By 
Deep Singh (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Paperback)
As someone who has grown up in an environment where religion has played a major and often devastating role in family affairs, this book is catharsis in print form. It is everything that I ever wanted to say about religion and then some embodied in this eye-catching yellow book. Hitchens' masterful polemical abilities are the real stars of the show. If anybody has watched with glee a Hitchens vs [insert religious person] debate on television or YouTube, you will love this book. Whilst Hitchens can only express so much in a 1 hour debate format, this book is the real meat of his whole argument against god(s). He spares no punches going after Gandhi, Mother Teresa, the Dalai Lama, Christ, Mohammed,... You name a holier-than-thou person and Hitchens has destroyed (or at least implicated) them in this book. Thoroughly entertaining read. I particularly enjoyed the sections on the history of the Bible (Old and New T) and the Qur'an. 5 more stars. 10 stars for Hitchens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchens Is Very Well Researched, Dec 9 2008
By 
Patrick Sullivan (Kingston, Ont. Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Paperback)
The subtitle, How Religion Poisons Everything, pretty well sums up the entire book. Hitchens sets out to destroy every aspect of the worlds religions.
And I think he accomplishes his goal. Hitchens is an atheist, but has done so much research into the topic of religion. His arguments against religion are very well made.
I heard Hitchens commenting about his book. He mentioned this was a personal issue for him. In the seventh grade he started to question religious beliefs. It was the first thing that he really thought about. I also had the same feelings in the seventh grade about religious beliefs.
In summary, I would say that this book basically says everything about religion, that most people are afraid to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


134 of 150 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review by someone who actually read the book, May 22 2007
This is by no means a hateful book. In fact, those who have become used to Hitchens' sometimes cut-throat prose will be surprised at how restrained he is, and how quick he is to acknowledge, say, the equally-ghastly crimes of the secular dictatorships of Hitler and Stalin. Then he points out how both regimes were abetted by the church.

The contention by "J" that Hitchens argues that "religions are closed-minded and have only brought about the oppression of women and children without any knowledge of the social and intellectual advances that many religions have afforded us" is proof positive "J" has indeed not read this book. Hitchens simply balances the claims of religion versus the results and argues that overall, religious dogma is merely a holdover from the time when humans had little to no information about how the world is actually constituted. While he does skirt around the shortcomings of scientific reason, Hitchens rightly reminds us that science has actually enhanced the mystery of "creation" rather than spoiling the fun.

Hitchens may be a lot of things: a misanthrope, a contrarian, and sometimes a bit of an arrogant jerk, but to say he is a "closed-minded journalist" without having read this work (which is shot through with references to the Classics, religious scholarship, science, history and literature) is an insult to Hitchens and the book-buying public. Hitchens can look after himself; the book-buying public is so advised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Command of the english language, June 22 2009
By 
Kyle (Kingston Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Paperback)
Extrordinary book, very comprehensive review of the damage relegion has done to our world, very challenging to read, this author has an exceptional command of the english language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitchens is Pepsi to Nietzsche's Coca-Cola, Sept. 5 2009
By 
sean s. (montreal) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Paperback)
God is not Great is one of a number of "new atheist" books that were published over the past few years: Breaking the Spell by Dr. Daniel Dennett; The God Delusion by Dr. Richard Dawkins; In Defence of Atheism by Michel Onfray; and Hitchens' book, to name the best known. However there are significant differences among these books, so if you're thinking of picking one up, you should be aware of their different styles and subject matter.

Hitchens' one-liners in God is not Great will delight atheists who cannot imagine why anyone would take this nonsense seriously, let alone use it as a foundation for their values. Perhaps the freshest contribution Hitchens makes is introducing the general public to the fine points of Mormonism, surely one of the most infantile and ridiculous collection of claims to ever grace the face of the earth. Mormons' clean living habits, which are highly commendable, serve to mask a total detachment from both current and historical reality when it comes to their deranged belief system.

But for the most part, there are no new arguments or information in this book, and Hitchens is preaching to an already convinced irreligious choir. In the same way that he challenges believers to give an example of a moral act that could not have been performed by a non-believer, I would challenge Hitchens to present even one person whose belief in the existence of God has been shaken by this book: sadly I don't think this person exists.

Regardless of how idiotic religious beliefs may seem to non-believers, the fact is that they have persisted among the majority of people, in a majority of cultures, for thousands of years, so they obviously have something going for them. What that something is may not be truth, but religions undeniably appeal to very fundamental psychological needs of human beings for a sense of meaning, direction and purpose in life, that only a minority of people have the time, desire and educational background to fully think through and analyze for themselves. Religion is a often a short-cut to meaning.

For anyone who wants a deeper understanding of the psychological and sociological "hot buttons" that religions use (whether or not they are aware they are doing this), Dr. Daniel Dennett's book Breaking the Spell would be a much better place to start than Hitchens' book.

For those who are looking for a deeper understanding of the "debate" between creationists and evolutionists, Dr. Richard Dawkins' The God Delusion (or indeed any of Dawkins' books) would be a better place to start.

But if what you are looking for is not understanding, but rather an entertaining polemic, Hitchens' is certainly a great read. That having been said, Friedrich Nietzsche made almost all of Hitchens' points, just as entertainingly and much more deeply, more than 100 years ago. Hitchens is Pepsi to Nietzsche's Coca-Cola.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God may not be great, but this book is., Sept. 22 2007
It doesn't matter if you are religious or not to thuroughly enjoy this book. Hitchins is artful writer and essayist who knows how to leverage substantiation techniques to craft very clear and accessible arguments. However, it is important to remember that this is exclusively a critique of religion and how it can (as the subtitle explicitly states) poison everything. It is not, and nor should it be, a cross-comparison with all the arguable good, religion has contributed to society; for which I'm sure there are plenty of other texts already available. As a critique, you will perhaps not find a better stated case against religious institutions and the dangerously unreasonable and fanatical belief they inspire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I'd been giving it credit..., Dec 31 2008
By 
Ronald W. Peters "Ron Peters" (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Paperback)
I'd been disinterested in Hitchens' book for some while. God has seemed mainly irrelevant to me of late, so the recent spate of God-bashing books didn't really register. Then a friend gave me a copy, and I realized that it's more important than I had been giving it credit. It reminded me that it's not adequate to ignore members of organized religions and hope they'll return the favour - because that is not and will never be good enough for them. We need to remind ourselves of the aspects of institutional religion that continue to be morally harmful, and plan how we can counter their debilitating effects. So, I'm grateful to Hitchens for nudging me back to a more active stance with respect to the positive evils associated with organized religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitch at his best, Sept. 8 2011
This review is from: God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Paperback)
The chapter "Religion Kills", should by itself carry enough weight to at least make someone ponder the terrible,stupid and dangerous things that are born from religious ideals. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys new age philosophy, and is interested in the very important topic of religion within our societies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything
God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything by Christopher Hitchens (Paperback - Sept. 2 2008)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews