Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Frozen Thames
This was a lovely little book, full of touching, interesting, startling stories. Although I never considered myself a history buff, this book made me think otherwise. I loved it so much I bought three more copies to give as gifts. It is a book I will re-read time and again.
Published on March 14 2009 by Mary Larose

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Frozen Thames
A small sized book that is more prose/poetry if there is such a thing. I was looking for a more historical and enlarged story. But alas I had only 40 brief vignettes to read. Interesting but not compelling!
A good history book without the historical depth?
Published on April 1 2009 by B. Childs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Frozen Thames, April 1 2009
By 
B. Childs "best of times" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Frozen Thames (Paperback)
A small sized book that is more prose/poetry if there is such a thing. I was looking for a more historical and enlarged story. But alas I had only 40 brief vignettes to read. Interesting but not compelling!
A good history book without the historical depth?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Frozen Thames, March 14 2009
By 
Mary Larose (Gatineau, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Frozen Thames (Paperback)
This was a lovely little book, full of touching, interesting, startling stories. Although I never considered myself a history buff, this book made me think otherwise. I loved it so much I bought three more copies to give as gifts. It is a book I will re-read time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Frozen Thames, Jan. 18 2010
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Frozen Thames (Paperback)
I bought this as a gift, after reading my copy bought a few months ago. It's a lovely book design, with thoughtfully written pieces concerning each of the times the Thames froze over. Humphries is able to evoke the detail of the era, and puts a voice to the people that doesn't seem possible in the short few pages that each story takes. I will order again as a gift, and re-read my copy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Frozen Thames, Feb. 10 2010
By 
Susan Abbott "book lover" (Saanichton, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Frozen Thames (Paperback)
The most beautiful and simply written book. I loved it. If you enjoy history this is for you, Very short stories (2-4 short pages) with a common thread running between each story. I have read other Humphries books and they are just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is something about this little book, May 24 2012
By 
C. Brown (Peace Country, Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Frozen Thames (Hardcover)
I discovered immediately that this is a book that must be savoured. I read only one vignette a night, one profound moment in time that left me thinking for much longer than it took to read. I love the small format and the carefully chosen pictures (did the painting illustrate the story, or the story illustrate the painting?). A truly delightful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 11 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Frozen Thames (Paperback)
all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Frozen Thames
The Frozen Thames by Helen Humphreys (Paperback - Oct. 7 2008)
CDN$ 17.99 CDN$ 13.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews