Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Orwell, you were right.
Skill-testing question: what do you get when you blend an Alice-in-Wonderland fantasy with a Simpsons'' farce and an Orwellian dystopia. Why, the story of the Canadian Human Rights Commissions, of course. You didn''t know? Don''t feel too badly; for many years, none of us knew. The HRCs, established as institutions with the admirable tasks of attacking bigotry and...
Published on March 29 2009 by Gerry Wood

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Canada's very own nut.
Dissapointed in the amount of 4 and 5 stars for this book, but not surprised that the only people that would read it are like thinkers. Probably suscribers of the SUN newspaper.
If you are of the 'far right' then this book is for you.
Written by Ezra Levant, our very own version of Ann Coulter....with pants.
Published 4 months ago by Dogman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding - a must read for all Canadians, June 7 2009
By 
David Hatherly (Victoria, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely one of the best books I have read. Profound, disturbing and humourous all at once. It should be mandatory reading in our high-school curriculum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read book for all Canadians, April 11 2009
By 
A. Cooney (Western Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As someone who deals with the HRCs on a continual basis and who followed Mark Steyn's case with more than a little interest, I thought after seeing a review in "MacLean's" that I'd pick up a copy of Ezra Levant's new book "Shakedown". Wow! This book is everything and more that the reviews promise.

"Shakedown" has me seriously questioning what the Canadian government is doing in the name of its people. All Canadians need to read this book and then write to their Member of Parliament urging them to read the book AND start working IMMEDIATELY on reform or dissolution of all the Human Right Commissions. You can easily find out who your Member of Parliament is by cutting and pasting this link: [...]

DEFINITELY FIVE STARS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the warning, Canada!, May 31 2009
By 
Sholto Douglas (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
I have been following the machinations of the Canadian HRC's from here in Australia. Why, you might ask?
There is a push here from the usual suspects for a Bill of Rights and beefed up commissions to enforce those 'rights'. Canada and Australia are pretty similar places, so it is handy to be able to point to Canada's experience and show otherwise apathetic Australians that we too could be staring down this barrel.
I agree with Ezra that the best option is to uproot these organisations altogether. They may start off modest and reasonable, but in the nature of things they will always be prone to mission creep. Worst of all they become stuffed with left wing activists. After all there is nowhere else for these people to go - they clearly couldn't survive in the private sector. These activists then use the unaccountable nature of the commissions to push their surreal agenda, an agenda that would never get through legislatures mindful of their electorates.
Those minimalists who suggest that removal of the Section 13 'hate crimes' provisions would be sufficient could perhaps explain how this would help the gym owner who wanted to keep a (pre-operation) transvestite out of the womens' showers, or the restaurateur who wanted to keep a persistent dope-smoker away from his paying customers.
No, I see the current state of the HRC's as the logical and inevitable endpoint of such structures. They are inherently broke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A principled defense of freedom, July 6 2009
By 
In Shakedown, Ezra Levant exposes the misdeeds of so-called Human Rights Commissions across Canada. Part of the book is devoted to procedure: how HRCs don't follow the usual safeguards found in real courts and trample on their targets' rights. More importantly, Levant describes the fundamentally illegitimate role that HRCs play and their corrosive effect on society. The focus is on censorship, but various other examples are discussed as well.

The main strength of the book is its firm grounding in clear and consistent principles. Far from being the author's personal vendetta or political screed, Shakedown argues against the HRCs by showing how they violate the Canadian constitution and the Charter of rights and freedoms, in letter and spirit. This rare combination of intellectual honesty, moral clarity, and fact-based research makes for a compelling case.

Stylistically, the text is clear, concise and very accessible to us non-lawyers: there are no judicial technicalities in here. Also, some of the wackier cases discussed add entertainment value. The exposition builds up to an exciting conclusion in the last chapter (really, I thought it was riveting).

All in all, Shakedown is an excellent, thought-provoking book that cannot leave its readers indifferent. It is highly recommended to anyone who values freedom and genuine human rights.

--------------------

Dans son livre Shakedown, Ezra Levant dénonce les méfaits des soi-disantes Commissions des Droits de la Personne au Canada. Une partie de l'ouvrage montre comment les CDP ne suivent pas les procédures normales du système judiciaire et bafouent les droits des accusés. La majeure partie est cependant consacrée au rôle fondamentalement illégitime des CDP et leur effet néfaste sur la société. Le thème de la censure est examiné en détail, mais d'autres exemples sont aussi inclus.

Le livre est remarquable par son fondement sur des principes clairs et cohérents. Loin d'être un règlement de comptes personnel ou un pamphlet politique de la part de l'auteur, Shakedown critique les CDP en montrant comment elles enfreignent la constitution canadienne et la charte des droits et libertés. Cette combinaison rare d'honnêteté intellectuelle, de clarté morale et de recherche minutieuse produisent une thèse des plus convaincantes.

En termes de style, le texte est clair, concis et très accessible pour nous qui ne sommes pas avocats: il n'y a pas de jargon légal ou de détails techniques. Par ailleurs, les exemples de dossiers les plus loufoques rendent la lecture amusante. La conclusion de l'ouvrage est particulièrement captivante.

En somme, Shakedown est un excellent livre qui fait réfléchir et ne peut pas laisser indifférent. Vivement recommandé pour tous ceux qui chérissent la liberté et les véritables droits humains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all Canadians, April 23 2009
By 
G. Giles (Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great overview of the real world Orwellian tactics used by today's government to silence opposing (or non-politically correct) views. While the book tends to repeat points over and over again, it is well worth the read.

These HRC's really need to be abolished. Write your MP today and demand this be done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakedown, April 19 2009
By 
Robert G. Carlson (Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is an excellent review of the shortcomings and absolute corruption in Canada's Human Rights Commissions and Tribunals. The book is a must-read for anyone that does not realize that these Organizations are the absolute antipodes of human rights. Ezra Levant writes from his own personal experiences as well as the experiences of other victims of actual human rights denormalization by the Provincial as well as Federal bodies of these non- judicial bureauocracies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakedown, Nov. 17 2009
By 
C. Burke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great book from a Canadian hero. All Canadians should thank Mr. Levant for his tireless work (and personal expense) in exposing this corrupt and useless bunch of bullies at the Human Rights Commission.
The book is well written and a huge eye opener. My wish is that Canadians support Ezra Levant in his fight to put this Commission to sleep forever. It's nothing more than a cruel joke and an affront to freedom of speech in this country..Buy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad, May 13 2009
By 
A. C. Seeley (Halifax, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I could only read this book once. It's like a horror story. I'm truly ashamed to be Canadian. Good luck Ezra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1984 has finally arrived, April 24 2009
By 
Malcolm T. De Winter "mayerlebel" (Guelph ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Never in my wildest dreams did I ever consider that Canada would disallow freedom of speech. I knew all about sedition but find that Canada has followed the UK in allowing immigrant minorities to dictate to the native people. Levant has has had the guts and fortunately the wherewithall to show us just how our government has permitted freedom of speech to wither and die. These quasi courts Levant mentioned should either be run by lawyers not jumped up do gooders or preferably closed altogether and allow the normal courts of law to do the job properly.
Levi has shown us that errosions of civil libertis can so easily and rapidly vanish even in Canada in not much longer than it took in Nazi Germany.
It is unfortunate that Anglo Saxons are so esily browbeaten and do not seem to enjoy the ability rise up and defend their freedoms as would the French; before it is too late.
He has made an excellent case for one or more of our MP's in Ottawa to do their duty and defend civil liberty.
An excellent book that deserves to be more widely read and discussed and acted upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, May 25 2009
By 
Bobcat "Toby" (Vancouver Island) - See all my reviews
This book should be required reading for all Canadians.
We thought this miscarriage of justice only happened in third world countries.
What an eye-opener to learn it's happening right in our own country.
It's shocking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1de4114)

This product

Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews