Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1984 in 2009
Ezra Levant has sounded the alarm on the most serious and potentially disastrous issue in Canadian politics today - the regression and repression of the basic and natural freedom to think and say what we jolly-well please. Ezra blows the whistle on the Canadian thought police, arguing the federal and provincial/territorial "human rights" commissions have grossly...
Published on May 11 2009 by D Glover

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge surprise!
The most surprising thing about the reviews here are that the people giving it 5 stars have managed to read an entire book as well as write a review... This is drivel filled with sensationalism and a dash of straw men thrown in for good measure. You don't support hate speech - OH THEN YOU MUST SUPPORT MONITORING ALL MY THOUGHTS ALL THE TIME YOU COMMUNIST.

How...
Published 1 month ago by Matthew


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the warning, Canada!, May 31 2009
By 
Sholto Douglas (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
I have been following the machinations of the Canadian HRC's from here in Australia. Why, you might ask?
There is a push here from the usual suspects for a Bill of Rights and beefed up commissions to enforce those 'rights'. Canada and Australia are pretty similar places, so it is handy to be able to point to Canada's experience and show otherwise apathetic Australians that we too could be staring down this barrel.
I agree with Ezra that the best option is to uproot these organisations altogether. They may start off modest and reasonable, but in the nature of things they will always be prone to mission creep. Worst of all they become stuffed with left wing activists. After all there is nowhere else for these people to go - they clearly couldn't survive in the private sector. These activists then use the unaccountable nature of the commissions to push their surreal agenda, an agenda that would never get through legislatures mindful of their electorates.
Those minimalists who suggest that removal of the Section 13 'hate crimes' provisions would be sufficient could perhaps explain how this would help the gym owner who wanted to keep a (pre-operation) transvestite out of the womens' showers, or the restaurateur who wanted to keep a persistent dope-smoker away from his paying customers.
No, I see the current state of the HRC's as the logical and inevitable endpoint of such structures. They are inherently broke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad, May 13 2009
By 
A. C. Seeley (Halifax, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I could only read this book once. It's like a horror story. I'm truly ashamed to be Canadian. Good luck Ezra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, May 25 2009
By 
Bobcat "Toby" (Vancouver Island) - See all my reviews
This book should be required reading for all Canadians.
We thought this miscarriage of justice only happened in third world countries.
What an eye-opener to learn it's happening right in our own country.
It's shocking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakedown, April 19 2009
By 
Robert G. Carlson (Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is an excellent review of the shortcomings and absolute corruption in Canada's Human Rights Commissions and Tribunals. The book is a must-read for anyone that does not realize that these Organizations are the absolute antipodes of human rights. Ezra Levant writes from his own personal experiences as well as the experiences of other victims of actual human rights denormalization by the Provincial as well as Federal bodies of these non- judicial bureauocracies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canadian, timely, and outrageous, June 21 2009
Incompetent and corrupt kangaroo courts in Canada are egregiously violating civil rights in the name of "human rights".

I read this book straight through in one very long evening, and I very rarely do that with a book over 200 pages long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human Rights dishonesly, June 24 2009
By 
Virginia Dean "ginreader" (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a real eye opener on control by a government.
It seems to me a person should have a "right" to their opinion, as long as it is not a personal attack. Where are all our so called "rights" disappearing to?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, June 26 2011
By 
William Tell (Vancouver, British Columbia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
A frightening and entertaining review of a little know collection of autocratic tribunals that contravenes every noble tenant of western civilization. George Orwell comes to life in Canada and Ezra Levant tells us how. A must read for every citizen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A startlingly important book, Dec 31 2009
By 
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
What can I add that hasn't been mentioned in the reviews so far? And yet I feel the need to briefly share my experience with Mr Levant's book - simply put, this book reads like a thriller and addresses issues that are fundamentally important to all Canadians. Secret trials, censorship, and thought control - all in a work of non-fiction about modern-day Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading, March 24 2010
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
Every Canadian should have and read this book. If you care about free speech; about your way of life; about the abuse of Human Right's processes; or about the abuse of government power and your tax dollars - read this book and be very, very concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read book for all Canadians, April 11 2009
By 
E. Andres (Western Canada) - See all my reviews
As someone who deals with the HRCs on a continual basis and who followed Mark Steyn's case with more than a little interest, I thought after seeing a review in "MacLean's" that I'd pick up a copy of Ezra Levant's new book "Shakedown". Wow! This book is everything and more that the reviews promise.

"Shakedown" has me seriously questioning what the Canadian government is doing in the name of its people. All Canadians need to read this book and then write to their Member of Parliament urging them to read the book AND start working IMMEDIATELY on reform or dissolution of all the Human Right Commissions. You can easily find out who your Member of Parliament is by cutting and pasting this link: [...]

DEFINITELY FIVE STARS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews