Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Orwell, you were right.
Skill-testing question: what do you get when you blend an Alice-in-Wonderland fantasy with a Simpsons'' farce and an Orwellian dystopia. Why, the story of the Canadian Human Rights Commissions, of course. You didn''t know? Don''t feel too badly; for many years, none of us knew. The HRCs, established as institutions with the admirable tasks of attacking bigotry and...
Published on March 29 2009 by Gerry Wood

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Canada's very own nut.
Dissapointed in the amount of 4 and 5 stars for this book, but not surprised that the only people that would read it are like thinkers. Probably suscribers of the SUN newspaper.
If you are of the 'far right' then this book is for you.
Written by Ezra Levant, our very own version of Ann Coulter....with pants.
Published 7 months ago by Dogman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every Canadian should read, Sept. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
Canada needs help in understanding how important freedom of speech is, regardless if you believe in or what the other person says. We all must have the right to say what we believe or we have (Stalin, Moa, Pol Pot and Hitler) government deciding.
Read the book I am not giving book justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHRC bureaucracy run amok, May 22 2009
By 
KC McGill (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Mr. Levant exposes the CHRC as an incredibly outsized bureaucracy on a desperate "make-work" mission. Why not weed the CHRC out all-together to save some tax-payer dollars and put these cases back into the real courts with due process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1984 in 2009, May 11 2009
By 
D Glover (northern bc, canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ezra Levant has sounded the alarm on the most serious and potentially disastrous issue in Canadian politics today - the regression and repression of the basic and natural freedom to think and say what we jolly-well please. Ezra blows the whistle on the Canadian thought police, arguing the federal and provincial/territorial "human rights" commissions have grossly overstepped their well-intentioned original purpose.

Along with telling his own horror story of being dragged through Alberta's opinion-inquisition for 3+ years, Levant documents numerous cases where radical leftist or Islamic zealots as well as opportunists looking for an easy buck, have used these "kangaroo courts" to punish law-abiding Canadian citizens for their political or religious views and corporations for their business decisions. Levant makes a convincing and water-tight argument that these unelected, unaccountable, secretive, underhanded, unscrupulous, grossly-powerful, usually untrained, and tax-payer funded bureaucratic thought police have become the vehicle of choice of radical groups or individuals looking to advance their own pet agendas and take out anyone whose thoughts or opinions might stand against them. If we don't believe in the freedom of thought, speech and conviction for people that offend us or that we disagree with, then we don't really believe in those fundamental freedoms at all.

This book is the most important book Canadians can read right now about their government. If what Levant says about the "human rights commissions" in Canada doesn't make you mad enough to demand of your provincial and federal representatives that the HRCs be abolished or, at minimum, severely reformed, you're probably one of the few freedom-hating Canadians currently milking the system for personal fame and fortune. Canadians need to stand up with Ezra Levant and demand that we let people's opinions fend for themselves in the market place of ideas rather than let a small and sordid group of social engineers with a messiah complex try to save their fellow Canadians from themselves.

Well researched, lively and engaging, I'd buy the book for the introduction by Mark Steyn alone (and don't neglect reading the appendices). You may disagree with Levant's political opinions but if you don't agree with his defense of our freedom to think and opine as we please, there may come a day in the not-to-distant future when you no longer have the freedom to disagree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
This erudite and carefully written monograph should be required reading for every Canadian, particularly those who lean to the green left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding - a must read for all Canadians, June 7 2009
By 
David Hatherly (Victoria, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely one of the best books I have read. Profound, disturbing and humourous all at once. It should be mandatory reading in our high-school curriculum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read book for all Canadians, April 11 2009
By 
A. Cooney (Western Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As someone who deals with the HRCs on a continual basis and who followed Mark Steyn's case with more than a little interest, I thought after seeing a review in "MacLean's" that I'd pick up a copy of Ezra Levant's new book "Shakedown". Wow! This book is everything and more that the reviews promise.

"Shakedown" has me seriously questioning what the Canadian government is doing in the name of its people. All Canadians need to read this book and then write to their Member of Parliament urging them to read the book AND start working IMMEDIATELY on reform or dissolution of all the Human Right Commissions. You can easily find out who your Member of Parliament is by cutting and pasting this link: [...]

DEFINITELY FIVE STARS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the warning, Canada!, May 31 2009
By 
Sholto Douglas (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
I have been following the machinations of the Canadian HRC's from here in Australia. Why, you might ask?
There is a push here from the usual suspects for a Bill of Rights and beefed up commissions to enforce those 'rights'. Canada and Australia are pretty similar places, so it is handy to be able to point to Canada's experience and show otherwise apathetic Australians that we too could be staring down this barrel.
I agree with Ezra that the best option is to uproot these organisations altogether. They may start off modest and reasonable, but in the nature of things they will always be prone to mission creep. Worst of all they become stuffed with left wing activists. After all there is nowhere else for these people to go - they clearly couldn't survive in the private sector. These activists then use the unaccountable nature of the commissions to push their surreal agenda, an agenda that would never get through legislatures mindful of their electorates.
Those minimalists who suggest that removal of the Section 13 'hate crimes' provisions would be sufficient could perhaps explain how this would help the gym owner who wanted to keep a (pre-operation) transvestite out of the womens' showers, or the restaurateur who wanted to keep a persistent dope-smoker away from his paying customers.
No, I see the current state of the HRC's as the logical and inevitable endpoint of such structures. They are inherently broke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A principled defense of freedom, July 6 2009
By 
In Shakedown, Ezra Levant exposes the misdeeds of so-called Human Rights Commissions across Canada. Part of the book is devoted to procedure: how HRCs don't follow the usual safeguards found in real courts and trample on their targets' rights. More importantly, Levant describes the fundamentally illegitimate role that HRCs play and their corrosive effect on society. The focus is on censorship, but various other examples are discussed as well.

The main strength of the book is its firm grounding in clear and consistent principles. Far from being the author's personal vendetta or political screed, Shakedown argues against the HRCs by showing how they violate the Canadian constitution and the Charter of rights and freedoms, in letter and spirit. This rare combination of intellectual honesty, moral clarity, and fact-based research makes for a compelling case.

Stylistically, the text is clear, concise and very accessible to us non-lawyers: there are no judicial technicalities in here. Also, some of the wackier cases discussed add entertainment value. The exposition builds up to an exciting conclusion in the last chapter (really, I thought it was riveting).

All in all, Shakedown is an excellent, thought-provoking book that cannot leave its readers indifferent. It is highly recommended to anyone who values freedom and genuine human rights.

--------------------

Dans son livre Shakedown, Ezra Levant dénonce les méfaits des soi-disantes Commissions des Droits de la Personne au Canada. Une partie de l'ouvrage montre comment les CDP ne suivent pas les procédures normales du système judiciaire et bafouent les droits des accusés. La majeure partie est cependant consacrée au rôle fondamentalement illégitime des CDP et leur effet néfaste sur la société. Le thème de la censure est examiné en détail, mais d'autres exemples sont aussi inclus.

Le livre est remarquable par son fondement sur des principes clairs et cohérents. Loin d'être un règlement de comptes personnel ou un pamphlet politique de la part de l'auteur, Shakedown critique les CDP en montrant comment elles enfreignent la constitution canadienne et la charte des droits et libertés. Cette combinaison rare d'honnêteté intellectuelle, de clarté morale et de recherche minutieuse produisent une thèse des plus convaincantes.

En termes de style, le texte est clair, concis et très accessible pour nous qui ne sommes pas avocats: il n'y a pas de jargon légal ou de détails techniques. Par ailleurs, les exemples de dossiers les plus loufoques rendent la lecture amusante. La conclusion de l'ouvrage est particulièrement captivante.

En somme, Shakedown est un excellent livre qui fait réfléchir et ne peut pas laisser indifférent. Vivement recommandé pour tous ceux qui chérissent la liberté et les véritables droits humains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all Canadians, April 23 2009
By 
G. Giles (Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great overview of the real world Orwellian tactics used by today's government to silence opposing (or non-politically correct) views. While the book tends to repeat points over and over again, it is well worth the read.

These HRC's really need to be abolished. Write your MP today and demand this be done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakedown, April 19 2009
By 
Robert G. Carlson (Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is an excellent review of the shortcomings and absolute corruption in Canada's Human Rights Commissions and Tribunals. The book is a must-read for anyone that does not realize that these Organizations are the absolute antipodes of human rights. Ezra Levant writes from his own personal experiences as well as the experiences of other victims of actual human rights denormalization by the Provincial as well as Federal bodies of these non- judicial bureauocracies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews