Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1984 in 2009
Ezra Levant has sounded the alarm on the most serious and potentially disastrous issue in Canadian politics today - the regression and repression of the basic and natural freedom to think and say what we jolly-well please. Ezra blows the whistle on the Canadian thought police, arguing the federal and provincial/territorial "human rights" commissions have grossly...
Published on May 11 2009 by D Glover

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge surprise!
The most surprising thing about the reviews here are that the people giving it 5 stars have managed to read an entire book as well as write a review... This is drivel filled with sensationalism and a dash of straw men thrown in for good measure. You don't support hate speech - OH THEN YOU MUST SUPPORT MONITORING ALL MY THOUGHTS ALL THE TIME YOU COMMUNIST.

How...
Published 2 months ago by Matthew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHRC bureaucracy run amok, May 22 2009
By 
KC McGill (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Mr. Levant exposes the CHRC as an incredibly outsized bureaucracy on a desperate "make-work" mission. Why not weed the CHRC out all-together to save some tax-payer dollars and put these cases back into the real courts with due process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read from the other side, Sept. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
Great read. Nice to read another view of the Kangaroo Courts that are the provincial Human rights courts. A view of what happens when someone is given license to prosecute who ever they want, for anything they want without repercussion. There have been some recent cases that would be great additions to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
This erudite and carefully written monograph should be required reading for every Canadian, particularly those who lean to the green left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We don't need the HRC's, July 26 2010
By 
Brian Blick (Calgary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
If you're offended, take 'em to court on your dime, not mine. And what leftist, agenda driven troll wrote the Quill & Quire product review? The Human Rights Commissioner?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Expose, April 2 2009
By 
Gordon Macdonald (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Shakedown is a brilliant "take no prisoners" expose of the insanity which reigns supreme at the Canadian Human Rights Commission and its provincial counterparts. A shocking yet deeply compelling read. Buy it, Read it, Pass it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most important book published in Canada this year, April 15 2009
By 
Dave (planet reason) - See all my reviews
one man can make a difference, though it takes labour and sacrifice.
Way to go Ezra!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Free speech, but how far would Ezra go to defend others?, May 31 2010
It's interesting how Ezra was caught up in this fight for free speech. I was wondering if this didn't happen to Ezra how he would feel about people like Ernst Zundel and other so called "holocaust deniers" and their plight fighting for their own free speech issues? Is all of this about free speech or is certain free speech not tolerated when the topic attacks the Jews and their view of historical events such as the holocaust?

I sense you can bet If Ezra had his way, he'd give no columns in his newspaper to the likes of Ernst Zundel, David Irving, Sylvia Stolz, Germar Rudolf and a host of others whose only crime is thought crimes for their views of history according to their research. Yes, I did enjoy this book. It was very troubling to read about how insanity is now ruling the world and how one Jew out of thousands got caught up in the frenzy, and wrongly so. You can bet it won't be happening much any time soon to other Jews because usually, they, like the ADL, the SPLC and other Zionist run organizations are the ones doing the censoring. Ezra mistake was he took on Islam, which I am glad he did, believe it or not.

My only concern would be, how far would Ezra go to defend the people I mentioned above in their free speech?

Joe
[...].
[...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Canada's very own nut., Nov. 25 2013
By 
Dogman (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
Dissapointed in the amount of 4 and 5 stars for this book, but not surprised that the only people that would read it are like thinkers. Probably suscribers of the SUN newspaper.
If you are of the 'far right' then this book is for you.
Written by Ezra Levant, our very own version of Ann Coulter....with pants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost writers, Aug. 13 2009
By 
Scollen Michael (Paris France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Reads like an article by Christopher Hitchens. It had me rolling in the aisles. A sort of voyage round Ubu land. The author has great potential as a comic writer-the material is delicious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars shakedown:how our govenment is undermining democracy in the name of human rights, Sept. 11 2010
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
Before you even buy his book, please look up a Ezra levant's video. Watch 1min of it and then you will know what kind of rubbish comes out of his mouth or should I also add " his pen" . Plain awful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.86
Usually ships in 1 to 3 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews