Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1984 in 2009
Ezra Levant has sounded the alarm on the most serious and potentially disastrous issue in Canadian politics today - the regression and repression of the basic and natural freedom to think and say what we jolly-well please. Ezra blows the whistle on the Canadian thought police, arguing the federal and provincial/territorial "human rights" commissions have grossly...
Published on May 11 2009 by D Glover

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not enough bad reviews
I have started judging a book about the lowest garbage religion in the world , and we all know which one we are talking about, by how many of the religion of peace have given it a poor review . Ezra , only one bad review? Im saddened by this fact. Im sure its fantastic though , but given how much illiteracy there is in the "religion of peace' part of the world , I...
Published 5 months ago by shmujew


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Levant skewers human rights commissions, April 21 2009
By 
James G. Porter "Gerry Porter" (Ottawa, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mr. Levant's adventure with the AHRCC provided him with a unique platform from which to skewer the entire Canadian human rights industry.

Until he published Shakedown, Canadians had no idea what was happening in the inner sancta of these kangaroo courts. His diligent research demonstrated that these once-benign organizations have evolved into marauding groups of unaccountable amateurs guided only by their own stunted ideas of how Canadians should behave.

Any Canadian concerned with the very real erosion of our constitutionally guaranteed freedom of speech, should read this book.

Gerry Porter
Ottawa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read from the other side, Sept. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
Great read. Nice to read another view of the Kangaroo Courts that are the provincial Human rights courts. A view of what happens when someone is given license to prosecute who ever they want, for anything they want without repercussion. There have been some recent cases that would be great additions to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
This erudite and carefully written monograph should be required reading for every Canadian, particularly those who lean to the green left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHRC bureaucracy run amok, May 22 2009
By 
KC McGill (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Mr. Levant exposes the CHRC as an incredibly outsized bureaucracy on a desperate "make-work" mission. Why not weed the CHRC out all-together to save some tax-payer dollars and put these cases back into the real courts with due process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Human Rights Commissions: Creeping Totalitarianism, July 3 2015
By 
Second Look (Behchoko, Northwest Territories, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
A readable treatment of an unpleasant reality in Canadian life and law.
A stray vine of totalitarianism creeps up the wall of English Common Law through the so called Human Rights Commissions.
The writer exposes the vulnerability of free speech to this threat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We don't need the HRC's, July 26 2010
By 
Brian Blick (Calgary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
If you're offended, take 'em to court on your dime, not mine. And what leftist, agenda driven troll wrote the Quill & Quire product review? The Human Rights Commissioner?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Expose, April 2 2009
By 
Gordon Macdonald (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Shakedown is a brilliant "take no prisoners" expose of the insanity which reigns supreme at the Canadian Human Rights Commission and its provincial counterparts. A shocking yet deeply compelling read. Buy it, Read it, Pass it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most important book published in Canada this year, April 15 2009
By 
T.O.canuk (planet reason) - See all my reviews
one man can make a difference, though it takes labour and sacrifice.
Way to go Ezra!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this book shows us how bad they've gotten, May 10 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights (Paperback)
Clearly the Gov't is too involved in our lives; this book shows us how bad they've gotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Free speech, but how far would Ezra go to defend others?, May 31 2010
It's interesting how Ezra was caught up in this fight for free speech. I was wondering if this didn't happen to Ezra how he would feel about people like Ernst Zundel and other so called "holocaust deniers" and their plight fighting for their own free speech issues? Is all of this about free speech or is certain free speech not tolerated when the topic attacks the Jews and their view of historical events such as the holocaust?

I sense you can bet If Ezra had his way, he'd give no columns in his newspaper to the likes of Ernst Zundel, David Irving, Sylvia Stolz, Germar Rudolf and a host of others whose only crime is thought crimes for their views of history according to their research. Yes, I did enjoy this book. It was very troubling to read about how insanity is now ruling the world and how one Jew out of thousands got caught up in the frenzy, and wrongly so. You can bet it won't be happening much any time soon to other Jews because usually, they, like the ADL, the SPLC and other Zionist run organizations are the ones doing the censoring. Ezra mistake was he took on Islam, which I am glad he did, believe it or not.

My only concern would be, how far would Ezra go to defend the people I mentioned above in their free speech?

Joe
[...].
[...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights
Used & New from: CDN$ 23.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews