march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars54
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 17, 2010
I am very concerned about the environment but I am also concerned about human rights. Until we find alternative energy solutions we have to be practical. The money from the oil that comes from foreign countries is being used to finance terrorism. This book will explain why we should extract as mush oil as possible from Canada's oil sands.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2012
This book should be mandatory reading for all high school students as well as all adults in North America! Based on proper research the Canadian oil sands is one of the cleanest oil sources in the world. Mr Levant certainly did extensive research before he presented his case. If the protesters and demonstrators are serious about stopping dirty oil getting to market, they should be focusing on the other countries of the world where oil is produced with basically no environmental or human rights concerns addressed at all. But of course they won't because if they tried they would probably never see the light of day again. If anyone is really serious about finding out about where the UNethical oil comes from "just follow the money"
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2014
Ezra Levant provides a perspective based on fact. His use of so many references to other published articles provides support to his support of the oil sands. I will never be at a loss as to the reasons why I feel the oil sands is a great asset to all Canadians and the world as a whole. It is clear that western democracies are held to the highest standard and are the targets of areas of the world who despise their loss of influence/power that they have maintained for generations because of oil. THis book was a great read that truly opened my eyes as to the positives about the oil sands and Canada!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2015
Everyone should read this book. Eye opener.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
the book is a critique of environmentalism based on argument for the oil sands. It is a narrative which differs from most anti-oil views of the oil sands because it considers the problem of ethics. The criticism of oil producing regimes for human rights issues differs from the human rights of Canada's oil sands.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2015
When the premise of your book is "ignore what we are doing because others are worse" is childish and immature, not to mention incorrect. This book is a lame attempt at deflection when real scientific criticisms are brought forward by using anecdotle evidence and conjecture. Not shocking because that is his MO and how he conducted himself on the now defunct Sun "news" organization
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2010
It is about time that someone started writing a more rational evaluation of the pros and cons of Canada's oil sands. Levant makes many good points about examining the oil sands in a wider context, something that most people -- and "environmentalists" -- often fail to do. For example, the tendency of Western environmental groups to focus on the oil sands instead of Chinese industrial pollution or, the real problem; consumer demand, because it is politically expedient to do so. And while I agree with many of Levants arguments his chapters often lose focus and his use of hyperbole often subtracts from the thrust of his argument.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
A very informative book on an important subject. I learned a great deal about various energy exporting sources and their treatment of their own citizens through reading this fine book. Ezra is a passionate man, and I love his passion. 5/5
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2014
FABULOUS BOOK BUT I LOVE EZRA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
A good read by Ezra Levant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse